We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,032)
Filter reviews
1,032 results
Traveller rating
816
153
48
14
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
816
153
48
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colonial style vintage mercedes nakara jardin royal grand deluxe local snacks night market beautiful hotel complimentary mini bar replenished daily small hotel small buffet turn down service our honeymoon tuk tuk old city common areas tour desk
Filter
Updating list...
604 - 609 of 1,032 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very beautiful hotel, love the decor and the pool. Location is good, with a lovely temple next door. A little outside of the city, but easily accessible with the various transportation choices. Chiangmai is a lovely place, but very hot during the day even in Jan and a little dirty which is disappointing. PN served like a cool oasis for us to retreat from the heat. Breakfast is good including small but nice buffet and hot dishes from menu, which can be improved. Very happy with the experience, would be happy to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a wonderful boutique hotel and well deserving of its trip advisor ratings. The front desk staff were great and the rooms lovely. The only minor blemish is the less than stellar service at the bar and, to a lesser extent, the restaurant. The bar attendant should be seeking out guests and asking them what they want, rather than the guests having to look for him, even at happy hour. Similarly the restaurant, which was better than the bar service, but could still use improvement with respect to service. Other than that, the experience was great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your comments. Your thoughts about our restaurant service were timely, and we would like you to know we are acting on them. We are retraining our team leader and staff to provide prompt service, yet not intrusive. And, we are now establishing our former level of good service.
Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Wonderful stay over the Christmas period (Dec 22-26). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this unique Hotel, to escape from the madness of the City Centre. The staff, food, spa, rooms and accommodation were excellent! We all hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swynllew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Ping Nakara is a very classy hotel with an ambience from a bygone era. It is small and the advantages of this are; they known your room number when you approach the reception for your key, they remember your coffee order at breakfast, and the delicious hot breakfasts are cooked to order. The pool and its surrounds are quiet and relaxing and there is no competition for the day beds. The hotel is a short walk to the Night Bazaar and a 5 minute tuk tuk to the town centre. The hotel is also well known and so the taxi, red taxi and tuk tuk drivers get you back to the hotel with no problems.
I had read some comments about the noise from the road, and this is true but only on a weekday and for a short period in the morning for those rooms that back onto the road. Our stay was for almost a week and by the end we didn't really notice it. The weekends were much quieter. For the lighter sleepers or those who like to sleep in, I had members of my family stay in the rooms at the back of the hotel, facing towards the river (no river view). So if this concerns you ask for the following rooms and you will not hear the traffic; Rms 201, 202, 209, 210 or on the third floor, 301, 302, 309, 310. Please note these rooms will not have balconies overlooking the pool.
We also had a room with the entry into the bathroom. Once you get over the design shock, it works ok, but we did use the 'do not disturb' sign when using the bathroom in case housekeeping turned up. What it means though is that the balcony is the full length of the room (Royal Grande Deluxe). Loved the free mini bar, just a little touch but makes a big difference.
Overall a beautiful hotel with great service for a luxurious stay in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: For a balcony with view of the pool and courtyard ask for rooms 204-208 or 304-308. For quieter rooms ask for 201-2 or 209-210 or 301-2 or 309-310. Note that 209, 210, 309, 310 are the most quiet as they face towards the river (no view) and are away from lift and main stairwell.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptk_from_dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for such a detailed and positive review of our hotel. We want each guest to have a wonderful memory of our place and of Chiang Mai, and your comments confirm that we are on the right path. A small thing, but for additional privacy and security, in addition to the ‘’Do Not Disturb’’ sign, guests can chain the room door so no one can enter. And for peace of mind, all of our Housekeeping staff is well trained to not enter a room without knocking and calling out ‘’housekeeping’’. We hope you will come back to stay with us sometime in the future, and wish you happy travels.
Kind regards,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were exteremely impressed by this gorgeous hotel. We had the road facing- room, but found that the noise was not an issue. Briefly, this is what we loved - :

- In the lead- up to our arrival, we had to make many changes to our reservation (in terms of the number of people in our party, beds required, timing, transfers etc). All emails were answered promptly and efficiently, and our arrival was smooth.

- We also had to be up very early during our trip such that we missed breakfast - the staff prepared breakfast boxes for us at no extra cost, and helped us to arrange for reliable taxis. We paid a little more for the cars/cabs but it was safe, the drivers non-threatening, and as a pair of women travellers, we really appreciated this.

- Free stuff in the minibar! This was very pleasant, and left us feeling like we hadn't been ripped off (the way most hotels overcharge for these things)

- Really nice rainshower in the bathrooms

-The spa is extremely reasonably priced and at a standard equal to a number of high end spas I've been to around the world. The receptionist even did a free ayurvedic consult for us, even though this wasn't part of our massage.

If I had to be negative, the food in the hotel restaurant isn't amazing, but the city is full of great food, so that's not a problem at all. All in all, the property is mind blowingly beautiful, and the service top notch. I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Usha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews