We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,043)
Filter reviews
1,043 results
Traveller rating
827
153
48
14
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
827
153
48
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colonial style vintage mercedes nakara jardin royal grand deluxe local snacks night market beautiful hotel complimentary mini bar replenished daily small hotel thai options small buffet turn down service tuk tuk our honeymoon old city common areas
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 1,043 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2015 via mobile

I Had a treatment of 2 hours in the spa. Good environment, the service is very good. You can sense a lot of attention to details. The building in itself is very nice with the pool at the Center. Will probably stay there next time I am in town. Lots of charm.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank dolphin2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2015

Ping Nakara sits adjacent to the Ping River along Charoenprathet Road which is parallel to the Night Bazaar road Chang Klan. Which makes it relatively convenient to do the night market. It was purpose-built to look like a turn-of-the-century British colonial structure done all in white, but with three floors and an elevator. The lobby is decently sized for a small hotel with a very high ceiling. To the left side was a whole row of meeting-reading-tea-drawing rooms that led from one to the other in the traditional British manor house style.

As it claims, it’s a boutique hotel, with less than 20 large rooms, each with its own balcony overlooking the pool area. The rooms are nicely furnished, with cast iron frame beds, painted recessed headwall, finely carved mirror frames, themed furniture, an elegant couch at the footboard, a 5 x 8 Persian carpet, lots of louvered doors and windows – to separate the Jacuzzi from the bedroom, to separate the T&B from the main room, to open into the balcony, etc. The drapes are Thai silk, the phone is brass-and-wood old style but with push buttons, the floor is teak, and maybe only because we were on the top floor but the ceiling was very high, which allowed for cove lights, giving the room some great lighting.

There’s the usual safe and ref but the ref had lost of drinks – beer, soft drinks, juices – and the writing desk had several Thai snacks and they were all free, aside from the complimentary bottles of water. That was impressive. There were sufficient electrical outlets for all our electronic gear.

There were separate stalls for the shower and toilet but weirdly, there was only one sliding frosted glass door so you couldn’t be showering while the other guest was in the toilet – one of you would be exposed. The shower stall had a regular shower head as well as rainforest outlet. There’s a wall-mounted LCD TV – but our major complaint was that there was only one English channel, BBC. We couldn’t understand this because our hotel in Chiang Rai had a lot of English channels to choose from.

Breakfast was beside the pool. Unlike other hotels with the buffet spread out, here, you ordered hot items from the menu and was cooked right then and there. The spread had salad, breads, fruits, juices, and cereals. My son loved the breakfast arrangement.

And not to forget, it’s also a spa, with non-guests able to access it through a separate entrance to the side of the hotel. They had all types of ayurvedic massage available and my wife and son tried a couple of types.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
Thank JGR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2015 via mobile

I would have given 5 stars if the hotel has gym.the hotel over all is a very beautiful hotel, big comfortable room with a pretty large bathroom,good service with a very friendly staffs and serving a very delicious food.
I am not sure that we will come back, 5 stars hotels should have gym!

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sert34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2015 via mobile

Just as everyone said, Ping Nakara is quaint, colonial, elegant and beautifully enchanting. I am glad that I decided to stay at this boutique over its neighbour, the Anantara, and a much better location that 137 pillars house (Though I would highly recommend to walk across the riverbank to the artsy neighbourhood areas of 137, where there is the lovely Woo cafe).

Pros:
- The experience begins right at the airport when you are collected by an antique colonial Mercedez, a lovely touch to make you feel special upon arrival.
- The property, the rooms, the ambience are tastefully elegant and refined.
- Special delightful touches like their complimentary amenities and toiletries bag, daily replenishments of local Thai snacks and mini bar.
- The location is right next to the night market and Anantara, but it feels a world away.
- The staff serve you with true genuine Thai hospitality.
- The same owner has an enchanting Jardin Nakara cafe behind the hotel, that serves some of the best desserts in the city, just even a peek is worth it, it's like you've gone from colonial times to a secret garden.
- The hotel map and the staff are all you need, if you haven't done much research. I did the city in 48hours including Doi Suthrep, thanks to the team and Joseph, the U.S. General Manager.
- I visited during low season and the hotel was not fully occupied, it only has a few rooms and so you feel the privacy, and there weren't any families when I stayed so it was a nice and peaceful stay.

Cons:
- The weather in Chiang Mai is unpredictable, so when it rains it can pour, which means there is not much to do and the pool is left more for decoration than use.
- The mosquito situation overall is unbound able especially during rainy season, but the hotel provides a fragrant and effective local lemongrass remedy.
- The breakfast is not your typical full on buffet spread, rather limited but what they lack, they make up with a menu, made to order that includes Thai specialities, so you can get your eggs or pancakes, or like me eat local with noodle soup or sticky rice and grilled pork for a well deserved breakfast before you head on out for a day of walking. (Could be a negative for those expecting plenty of buffet options).

I have no hesitations returning to Chiang Mai and staying at Ping Nakara again!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank MissReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

Opted for Ping Nakara based on an Expedia package with flight and good reviews on both Tripadvisor & Expedia. Although the hotel looks and feels like it was constructed during the colonial era and recently renovated, it is in fact a newer hotel designed to appear this way (and nicely done aesthetically). Conveniently located to the Night Bazaar, with hotel owned car (old Mercedes) & van options if you prefer over local taxi or tuk tuk.

Booked the Grand Deluxe Double Room (room 309), which was very spacious. The room had all the amenities needed during our 3 night stay, including plenty of bottled water proactively restocked throughout the day, a comprehensive vanity kit for anything forgotten when packing, minibar drinks & snacks, coffee & tea, and products from their highly rated spa,all complimentary. The room includes a writing desk, small sofa, bathtub with separate shower, private toilet area, robes, sufficiently spacious closet and a safe. The walls are a bit thin so you can hear some noise such as doors closing at times.

The property itself is fairly serene, with a nice pool and sitting rooms (inside & outside), with the exception of the construction noise during the day. Unfortunately, there was construction going on nearby, so the banging and sawing noises were a bit inconvenient as our room directly overlooked the disturbance (see photo).

The service was as expected for a 4 star property, very attentive and helpful. The front desk staff tried to accommodate all our needs, including helping to book dinner & massage reservations, and excursions to Doi Suthep and Chiang Rai/Golden Triangle. A few areas of improvement -- restaurants recommendations and knowledge, massage bookings, and excursions. Let's start with the excursion bookings, both of which the same company were used. When coming back from Doi Suthep, the driver wouldn't make a quick stop as we'd requested on the way back (we had plenty of time left in the private van booking). If doing Doi Suthep over, I'd have opted to rent a motorbike as it's an easy, beautiful drive up to the top. It would have been nice if the hotel presented this option, in addition to a 1,000 Baht private van. The Chiang Rai/Golden Triangle private tour (negotiated to 6,500 Baht from 8,000 ) Baht) was overall good, however it seemed the guide took us to shopping places we had no interest in vs. what we expected, which were stops to experience more of the local culture. Lastly, as we were arriving back late, we asked the guide to call the hotel to book an 11AM massage the next day. We were informed upon departing the hotel for the massage in the morning, nothing had been booked. It would have been nice to have been informed sooner so we could have booked something else.

The complimentary breakfast served until 10:30AM is good, which included a small buffet and menu with egg, French toast and side options.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank stace5677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews