We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$140
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Yaang Come Village(Chiang Mai)
US$98
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$222
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

BED Phrasingh(Chiang Mai)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sakorn Residence & Hotel(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$33
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$91
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,025)
Filter reviews
1,025 results
Traveller rating
811
151
48
14
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
811
151
48
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolonial stylevintage mercedesnakara jardinroyal grand deluxelocal snacksnight marketbeautiful hotelcomplimentary mini barreplenished dailysmall hotelsmall buffetour honeymoonturn down servicetuk tukold citycommon areastour desk
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,025 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

Amazing hotel. Nice sized rooms, really nice patio area outside to eat breakfast by the pool in the morning. They have a classic Mercedes which you can use as a taxi but costs a little. The service is excellent and good location for tourist attractions

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank SSS381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. Your post lifted us to a total of 1,000 reviews on TripAdvisor, which is a very important measure for small hotels such as ours. And thanks to all of our 999 guests who took the time to write genuine reviews about their stay at the Ping Nakara. Thank you to one and all.
All the best,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

This charming hotel is a real gem! My wife and I relived like our 2nd honeymoon in this splendid hotel. The rooms are spacious and have their own balcony. Though the building is quite old, it is well maintained and foreseen of all the latest comfort.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Koen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

I stayed at the Ping Nakara for 7 nights for a relaxing break to unwind, catch up on sleep, destress and experience the beauty of Northern Thailand. I can happily say that my experience in all areas was completely satisfied.

Just a short drive from the airport, I arrived at the hotel and immediately was impressed by the spectacle of the outside building, standing out in white amongst other hotels and buildings around. The lobby was quiet and I was greet with smiles and a very quick check in process. Within 25 mins of leaving the airport, I was in my room and looking out over the pool.

The room: beautifully decorated in old colonial style, appealing, well appointed (you’ll see the complementary mini bar and snacks mentions from other reviews) and very spacious. The bed was amazingly comfy so a good nights sleep was completely satisfied. Something to note here was that WiFi is extremely well appointed with several different routers throughout the hotel so that you always get good signal strength but most importantly, good bandwidth.

The hotel: fine attention to detail, very well maintained and picturesque indeed. The pool was just right and does get the sun for the mid part of the day but also shaded in the afternoon so perfect for cooling down at the end of a days excursion. Breakfast was just right and served very promptly but the helpful and friendly staff. For a boutique hotel, I would rate this as above average.

The staff: fantastic.

The location: I was wanting a hotel that was in a quiet area but still not far from the centre of Chiang Mai so Ping Nakara was just right. It is only a short ~10 minute walk to the night market area, with all the food, drink, massage and shopping you need. A further 10 min walk and you can be into the Old City with even more delights to explore. Hiring a bike is very convenient as traffic isn’t too chaotic to navigate (plenty of OBikes around for those of us from Singapore) but Tuk Tuks are everywhere and only cost around 100bht back from the city centre - or cheaper if you play the game well ;)

Lastly on the location, as the hotel is just outside the main city centre, it was quick to get out and about to the sights of around Chiang Mai to explore.

Overall I had a fantastic time and would thoroughly recommend Ping Nakara for a relaxing and enjoyable stay in Chiang Mai. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank TaiPanStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChairatPingNakara, Owner at Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your very nice and very detailed review of our hotel. You have a very good way of seeing things in your travels. Your review is appreciated by all of our staff, and we are glad we helped make your visit restful and fun. I hope you will have occasion to visit us and Chiang Mai again in the future.
All the best,
Chairat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

We stayed four nights at the Ping Nkara and loved the hotel. From the moment we arrived and were greeted with their lemongrass tea and warm towel, we felt at home. The stay was extremely helpful in navigating the city, restaurant recommendations, and ensuring that our needs were met. Some reviews mention that the hotel is farther from the city but that means it takes less than 10 minutes to get where you want to go versus five. It is so easy to get where you want in Chiang Mai and the rickshaw driver, Art, makes it even easier! We thought the location was great. The hotel is as lovely as it pictures and extremely peaceful and relaxing. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the main road was quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradburn97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

My wife and I spent 4 wonderful days at this magnificent hotel in Chiang Mai, close by the river. The building is in a colonial style and is immaculately presented. Staff were all very attentive and polite. Restaurant served delightful international breakfasts as well as great Thai food and they have an adjoining bistro named Nakara Jardin which serves delicious lunches and afternoon teas in a beautiful setting by the river. Altogether a memorable experience (and the staff even remembered my birtthday). Recommended for a truly peaceful break, plus no annoying smokers were allowed within the premises - what a breath of fresh air (literally!!)

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews