We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,342)
Filter reviews
1,342 results
Traveller rating
1,149
136
39
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,149
136
39
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower rajah brooke suite personal butler bedtime story original house butler service dressing room dinner reservations our honeymoon the main house an oasis boutique hotel four seasons beautiful hotel colonial style favorite hotel large balcony
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 1,342 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2017

We stayed at 137 Pillars House in December and absolutely LOVED it! While it was the most expensive hotel on our trip we found it was well worth the money. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the rooms are huge and beautifully decorated with walk in closets. The bathroom was also amazing and had an indoor and outdoor shower. Breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of options and the hotel does happy hour every evening where drinks are half priced. The service was also 5 star, Toto was extremely helpful and even arranged a takeaway breakfast for us when we had to leave very early one morning. The hotel is slightly outside of the centre of Chiang Mai but we didn't find this to be too much of an inconvenience and Toto arranged Tuk Tuks for us anytime we wanted to go into town. Highly recommend to anyone going to Chiang Mai!

Room Tip: We had the most basic room and it was still very large and had an outdoor balcony
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne A, General Manager at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2017

Dear AlexS S.

Thank you for your kind words.

I am delighted you thought 137 Pillars House "absolutely beautiful" and Khun Toto "extremely helpful".

Your words of recommendation are very much appreciated.

Warm regards,

Anne Arrowsmith
gm@137PillarsHouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2017

As we walked into 137 Pillars House, we were absolutely blown away by its beauty, charm, serenity and intimate surroundings. But the romantic outdoor showers, infinity pool, beautifully kept grounds was nothing compared to the service we received during our stay. Toto specifically made our experience in Chiang Mai unforgettable. His kindness, promptness, professional yet warm service blew us off our feet. It was like we were treated as royalty. I cannot thank Toto and the rest of the staff enough for our experience during our stay!!!

TOP NOTCH!!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNP523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne A, General Manager at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2017

Dear JNP523,

On behalf of the entire team at 137 Pillars House, thank you for your kind words and five star evaluation of your recent stay.

Khun Toto sends his thanks and regards, and like me, hopes to welcome you back in the very near future.

Warm regards,

Anne Arrowsmith
gm@137Pillarshouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2017

Charming in every way. Colonial style. Infinity pool. Outdoor shower. Small, intimate, beautiful, excellent service (especially Toto! & lovely woman in reception). Couldn't ask for more. Expensive, but totally worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank delene7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne A, General Manager at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2017

Dear delene7,

We wished you lived here also and are delighted you found 137 Pillars House "charming in every way".

Thank you for your wonderful words and hopefully we are on you list of places to revisit.

Warm regards,


Anne Arrowsmith
gm@137Pillarshouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2017 via mobile

This place is worth every cent! The staff is amazing and their customer service is outstanding. You are provided with the best concierge services in any hotel we have stayed.
Loved the pool, the rooms are spacious and luxurious, the grounds are impeccably kept and the location is perfect.
I would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend to anyone seeking an outstanding vacation experience.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MarcosM1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne A, General Manager at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Dear Marcos M,

Many thanks for highly recommending 137 Pillars House to would be travelers to Chiang Mai. I and my colleagues greatly appreciate the endorsement but most importantly are highly delighted that your stay was all that you hoped for.

We absolutely would love to welcome you back and I'd be pleased to assist with any booking arrangements.

Warm regards,

Anne Arrowsmith
gm@137pillarshouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2017

There is no coincidence that this place is the #1 place on TripAdvisor in Chiang Mai. From start to finish the 137 Pillars House doesn't want to let you lift a finger.

We arrived in Chiang Mai 1 hour late, but no issue, the hotel car (a beautiful 5 series BMW) was there still waiting to pick us up, along with a hostess to check us in. We were welcomed into the open air lobby that is stunning, and immediately feels like you were teleported into some oasis, which is really near the center of town. After check-in we were promptly guided to our beautiful room, and that is when we met TOTO, our butler for the next few days. Truly we didn't lift a finger the whole trip - anytime we had a question or issue with our airline for example, TOTO and team took care of it.

- They arranged a wonderful dinner at a nearby restaurant - Ginger & Kafe - very good. Another night we had dinner outside the restaurant in the hotel which was even better although more pricey (worth it).

- Massages at the hotel were superb

- The pool and living wall make the perfect backdrop for a few pictures and to cool off

- The room itself is beautiful, but we did not sit on the lanai because the mosquitos seemed to find it more appealing than other areas in the hotel.

After coming home from a night out, you walk back through a quiet hotel with beautiful lanterns seemingly floating in the trees of the hotel. In the evening they would bring some type of last bite/dessert on your bed which my wife enjoyed along with the cute "bedtime story".

While at the hotel we did also attend the Elephant Nature Park - which was fun and informative. However, after a day out in the jungle there is nothing better than coming back to the 137 Pillars House.

Finally, we stayed at many luxury hotels during out stay but this was one of the most memorable, and notable for transporting us to a place of true relaxation. Thank you 137 Pillars House and thank you Toto!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne A, General Manager at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Dear Ryan H,

What a wonderful way to start my day, reading your account of your recent stay at 137 Pillars House.

Thank you for your wonderful words and for so eloquently and comprehensively providing others insight into a stay at the hotel.

Most of all, I'm delighted that your visit was all you wished for and am humbled that you found us to be one of the most memorable hotel stays you have had. Thank you.

You review has been shared with my colleagues and I have added my appreciation to yours, with respect to Khun Toto's attention and kindness.

Warm regards,

Anne Arrowsmith
gm@137Pillarshouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews