We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place, decent food, good value ”

Writers Club & Wine Bar
Ranked #277 of 2,656 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

Decent choice if thai and western food. Chicken with chili and Basel was especially good. Good selection of inexpensive wines.
Nice atmosphere at good central location close to Chiang Mai old city

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 285 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

We had dinner here last month whilst in Chiangmai.

The food was very ordinary , lacking in any flavours or taste .

All in all a very disappointing experience and our worst meal in Chiangmai .

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank travelwithoutmercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018

Great food at very reasonable prices. Service is friendly and quick. We went here a couple of times and were not disappointed.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank FandDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018

As owner-operator Pong explained to me while awaiting the magic hour of 5:00 p.m. for the beer to start flowing (despite the government imposition of “dry” hours between 2:00 and 5:00 p.m., not all Chiang Mai establishments are dutifully enforcing the rules…), she has kept this pub going in large part as homage to her late husband who was a writer of sorts.

While not quite up to Hemingway standards in his many worldwide watering holes--notably Key West--it’s worth a visit to sample the local brews and hard liquor favourites--Johnny Walker Black in this instance--especially, as on this occasion, a man who was no stranger to broadcasting and newsrooms was being celebrated for a life well lived.

Truly, the lengthy menu has something for every taste. My highlight was a nicely warmed egg salad that added ideal balance to the libations, conversations, and flood of memories unlocked by a wee dram and the especially fine company.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank S. James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2018

We stopped by for a drink at the bar but we were made to feel so welcome we stayed for a few hours.
Food going out to others looked good but we only had drinks at the bar with the lady owner who was wonderful.
Stop by and stay........for a few drinks

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Writers Club & Wine Bar also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Writers Club & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing