We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst places to try and sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buaraya Hotel Chingmai
Ranked #282 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 8 November 2013

False advertising....

1/10 wifi connection
Advertises room service...actually doesn't have.
English is very bad from all workers so when ever you ask for something you never get the answer
The walls and doors are paper thin so you can't sleep and you hear everything from every room and every door slamming, very annoying.
Stinky sewer right next to your window
Advertises that it's in the old city, but it's actually not..

Seriously don't bother, much better, cheaper, quiet hotels in better positions available.
Chiang mai is a beautiful city, but this place really annoyed us in the end.
We should have read the reports!!
Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Look around! Don't stay here if you want to sleep at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlesueur2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just outside the city wall. Well presented - nice reception area, decent size room, limited choice for breakfast (western) but better choice for local options. Plenty of street food easily available close by in the evening. Clean. Not much in the way of extra facilities but has the essentials for an overnight stay/short break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flooziemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The location is pretty good as it's just outside d Old City & near d Chang Phuat Gate. There's a Tesco-Lotus stall near d entrance & at night, an area is transformed into a street food heaven. It's also very clean.
However, it's a hotel more for u to leave ur things, bath, sleep & tt's about it. There's nothing much u can do at d hotel cos it don't hv a swimming pool, no gym, no spa, no restaurant / cafe, no entertainment, etc. It also does not hv a safe & d wifi is terrible in d room, even after I changed my room after I had unpacked :( Also, d wardrobe cupboard does not hv levels hence it limit places to put ur clothes.
For comparable price, breakfast is not included. Not much of any view from d windows too.

Room Tip: Test everything including d wifi b4 u unpack, else it's so much inconvenience to change room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livewell163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

we were there on family hols during Christmas. it was pretty full. the room was lousy. water leaked on the floor and was not fixed even though we complained 4 days in a row. b/fast was mediocre, but staff were very helpful. reception staff were rude and not helpful. charged us 700baht for a bath towel saying it was stained. did not even attempt to wash the 10 year old bath towel. location was good with a lotus nearby and lots of restaurants. will never go back

Room Tip: find a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjacob007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The location is excellent for street food.
The food was repetitive and very little/limited choices for western food.
If you look for somewhere quiet and peaceful then this is NOT your hotel, it's very very very noisy.

I thought the sound of each door in hotel closing is already very annoying, then for 2 night we had the loudest women SCREAMING on the phone.
Nothing worst than my BF had to get dressed at 2-3am and go tell these ignorance human being to keep it down as other people were trying to sleep.


Shocking experience.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Very noisy, ( couldn't sleep the first night) most doors shut very loudly (like being slammed), though the breakfast supposed to finish at 10am, there was not much left to eat at 9.15am plus the menu was almost the same everyday.

The lift operated very slowly and very small, you wouldn't want to be in a hurry or have many luggages/bags.

The location is good if you like street food, they are just in front of the hotel, lots and lots of food.

Staffs don't speak much english and if you require something you might have to ask them so many many times. ( Even when I spoke Thai to them)

The room was not as expected, very different from pictures.

BF and I wouldn't stay in this place again.



  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This place is the definition of underwhelming. Yes the room is pretty clean, yes the TV works, but I find it hard to think of any other good quality this hotel has. The wifi internet only works about 20% of the time, you can hear every single door close in the hotel even at 2 a.m., most of the front desk staff don't speak English hardly at all, and our bathroom was separated from the outside by an un-closeable screen window caked with mosquito cadavers. Worst of all, during the middle of the afternoon we heard the a loud commotion coming from the lobby and when we checked it out, we found a fumigation crew spraying god-knows-what to get rid of some mystery pest inside and outside the building. When we were picked up for a tour on one of the days, the Thai guide blatantly asked us why we were staying there instead of a guesthouse that would've been half the price even with a pool. We didn't have a good answer. Learn from our mistake and avoid this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonofanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0 km away
Bua Raya Hotel
Bua Raya Hotel
#276 of 402 in Chiang Mai
10 reviews
2.5 km away
Holiday Garden Hotel
Holiday Garden Hotel
#261 of 402 in Chiang Mai
153 reviews
0.8 km away
Chiang Mai 7 days Inn
Chiang Mai 7 days Inn
#305 of 402 in Chiang Mai
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#145 of 402 in Chiang Mai
108 reviews
0.3 km away
Sira Boutique Hotel
Sira Boutique Hotel
#285 of 402 in Chiang Mai
240 reviews
2 km away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#174 of 402 in Chiang Mai
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buaraya Hotel Chingmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buaraya Hotel Chingmai

Address: 234/18 Maneenopparat Rd, Muang, Old City | Tambon Sripoom Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: C$28 - C$70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buaraya Hotel Chingmai 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Buaraya Hotel Chingmai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing