We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buaraya Hotel Chingmai
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Bua Raya Hotel
Bua Raya Hotel
#258 of 403 hotels in Chiang Mai
0.03 km
View Hotel
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#132 of 403 hotels in Chiang Mai
0.2 km
View Hotel
Sira Boutique Hotel
Sira Boutique Hotel
#140 of 403 hotels in Chiang Mai
0.3 km
View Hotel
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#90 of 403 hotels in Chiang Mai
0.4 km
View Hotel
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2016

I really wanted to give this hotel a better rating as the staff are really helpful, but it was quite possibly the noisiest hotel I've ever stayed at.

Located near Chang Phuak Gate on the edge of the old city walls, it's location is good, being a short walk to temples, the Three Kings monument and Sunday Walking Street markets. However it is popular with big tour groups who are quite oblivious to other guests comfort, and like to talk very loudly in the corridors and rooms until late into the night. The building is designed such that the corridors running past the rooms have stairwells at both ends, so all noises funnel up the stairwells and echo down the corridors.

There is a rather annoying water feature in the lobby that makes a constant clicking noise, which annoyed some of my travelling party whose rooms were closest to it.

The room itself was very spacious, everything worked well, and the bed though firm (seems to be the norm in Thailand) comfortable enough. My room faced a side alley which came with its own set of noises.

I didn't eat at the restaurant, as there is a local food market next door, one operates during the day, and another sets up for night, and also a 7 E!even store.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XAGTKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We got this hotel as part of a travel package with SpringTour (a travel agency in China), so we're not too sure how much it works out to per night. Also, because this hotel came as part of a Chinese tour package, the majority of guests at this hotel were Chinese tourists and therefore the hotel catered very well to that demographic.

With that being said, there are some equally impactful pros and cons about the Buaraya Hotel. For context, we stayed in room 519, which is at the opposite end of the hallway from the main stairwell. Our room is designed to be an adjoining room, but for whatever reason we got it as our own separate room.

- comfortable bed (most of the people we met in Thailand complained that their beds were hard; ours was not)
- solid buffet breakfast options (Thai style and very minimal "Western" options i.e. boiled ham, "sausages", toast, and eggs), although my wife disagrees
- lots of great English language TV channels if you're in to that
- reception was helpful 80% of the time (they helped us book tours, kept our bags past check out, and answered basic questions); the reception's Mandarin was really on-point, but their English was only so-so
- air conditioning (although we didn't have to use it)
- location (more or less directly across from the Chang Puek Gate on the north side of the city center)

- basically no amenities
- spotty WiFi access from the hotel room
- no hairdryer in the room
- decor is outdated and could use some "freshening" up
- sound travels through the walls and halls; at times, it was as if other guests were in our room slamming doors and talking at about 100 decibels louder than they ought to be

If you're just looking for a comfortable bed and hearty buffet breakfast, the Buaraya Hotel is probably a better bet than other budget hostels. However, if you're looking for a hotel that's perhaps a bit more glamourous or helpful in terms of tourist information, stay at a guest house in the city center.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Benjamin_and_Serena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015

This hotel is okay except for the following: Almost non-existent internet access in the room, loud noises in the morning when people slam their door and talking (thin wall), bad service at night time (day time with female workers are good), and breakfast is so so.

The good part about this hotel is the location. It is convenient to the central district and it is right next to the night market food stall which open on the weekends. We were there last night for the pork feet stall and it was packed with Chinese tourists. It wasn't too bad and the price is really cheap thou the portion is small.

If you need internet in your room, need to look elsewhere. But if that's not an issue then it is okay for a few nights as the location is good.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maxt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile

The Buaraya served us well on our flying visits to Chang Mai in between our travels on North Thailand.

I can't say much for the breakfast but... The room was clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and the staff were super nice.

They kept hold of our luggage whilst we went on a bike tour for a few days and gave us a very late check out for a very small fee.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015 via mobile

Very comfy bed complimentary dressing gown n slippers very small d.gown mainly fit the Chinese visitors they have 2 coach loads every night and are very noisy shouting n banging doors I was not impressed the breakfast is mainly for the Chinese English just get eggs n saveloys ham in water bread butter jam marmalade tea is like hot water 2bags for big pot coffee OK slices fresh pineapple and melon 1 cereal same every day coco crispies you won't go hungry if you eat lots of toast but you have to beat the Chinese to it they grab all the food apart from this the hotel is nice I paid bht1500 night no pool no nice outdoor seating area's to chill out and read will shop around next time

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
Thank dawnoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews