We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
14
25
35
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
25
35
11
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 96 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2016

The location was great but we did not realise that this hotel was part of a chinese package tour, there were people coming and going all the time, coaches of chinese people coming late night. They were banging doors and shouting which kept us up both nights there. The staff were helpful but sound it hard to understand english. Download the Thai lite app this worked for us to help translate directions, general convo and more.
Look around for local B and Bs and guesthouses they are quieter. This was a clean hotel though and well priced. Wifi was a little shabby too.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ag3000_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2016

the location of the hotel is perfect for us. the breakfast is for free and the food is pretty good,really love it. you can find fengfeifei pig's toes rice downstairs. the room is big enough for my friend and I .Both of us enjoyed the time in Chiangmai and the night time in the hotel. By the way,it is very clean and quiet for people to live in .

Room Tip: high room have worse wifi
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gushengnan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2016

I really wanted to give this hotel a better rating as the staff are really helpful, but it was quite possibly the noisiest hotel I've ever stayed at.

Located near Chang Phuak Gate on the edge of the old city walls, it's location is good, being a short walk to temples, the Three Kings monument and Sunday Walking Street markets. However it is popular with big tour groups who are quite oblivious to other guests comfort, and like to talk very loudly in the corridors and rooms until late into the night. The building is designed such that the corridors running past the rooms have stairwells at both ends, so all noises funnel up the stairwells and echo down the corridors.

There is a rather annoying water feature in the lobby that makes a constant clicking noise, which annoyed some of my travelling party whose rooms were closest to it.

The room itself was very spacious, everything worked well, and the bed though firm (seems to be the norm in Thailand) comfortable enough. My room faced a side alley which came with its own set of noises.

I didn't eat at the restaurant, as there is a local food market next door, one operates during the day, and another sets up for night, and also a 7 E!even store.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XAGTKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2016

We got this hotel as part of a travel package with SpringTour (a travel agency in China), so we're not too sure how much it works out to per night. Also, because this hotel came as part of a Chinese tour package, the majority of guests at this hotel were Chinese tourists and therefore the hotel catered very well to that demographic.

With that being said, there are some equally impactful pros and cons about the Buaraya Hotel. For context, we stayed in room 519, which is at the opposite end of the hallway from the main stairwell. Our room is designed to be an adjoining room, but for whatever reason we got it as our own separate room.

Pros:
- comfortable bed (most of the people we met in Thailand complained that their beds were hard; ours was not)
- solid buffet breakfast options (Thai style and very minimal "Western" options i.e. boiled ham, "sausages", toast, and eggs), although my wife disagrees
- lots of great English language TV channels if you're in to that
- reception was helpful 80% of the time (they helped us book tours, kept our bags past check out, and answered basic questions); the reception's Mandarin was really on-point, but their English was only so-so
- air conditioning (although we didn't have to use it)
- location (more or less directly across from the Chang Puek Gate on the north side of the city center)

Cons:
- basically no amenities
- spotty WiFi access from the hotel room
- no hairdryer in the room
- decor is outdated and could use some "freshening" up
- sound travels through the walls and halls; at times, it was as if other guests were in our room slamming doors and talking at about 100 decibels louder than they ought to be

If you're just looking for a comfortable bed and hearty buffet breakfast, the Buaraya Hotel is probably a better bet than other budget hostels. However, if you're looking for a hotel that's perhaps a bit more glamourous or helpful in terms of tourist information, stay at a guest house in the city center.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Benjamin_and_Serena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2015

This hotel is okay except for the following: Almost non-existent internet access in the room, loud noises in the morning when people slam their door and talking (thin wall), bad service at night time (day time with female workers are good), and breakfast is so so.

The good part about this hotel is the location. It is convenient to the central district and it is right next to the night market food stall which open on the weekends. We were there last night for the pork feet stall and it was packed with Chinese tourists. It wasn't too bad and the price is really cheap thou the portion is small.

If you need internet in your room, need to look elsewhere. But if that's not an issue then it is okay for a few nights as the location is good.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maxt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews