We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good from the outside ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buaraya Hotel Chingmai
Ranked #295 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Better keep it that way, the staff is uninterested and hardly speaks any English. We found one sleeping behind the front desk. The breakfast is somewhat ok, that is if you have breakfast early. Later on the choice is smaller then it already was and you may find some flies hanging around. 2 stars because the rooms where clean.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Danny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Good value for a hotel in Chiang Mai. The bedrooms need updating though but everything still works fine. The hotel itself is in an excellent location. Literally a couple of minutes walking distance from the old town and at night time has plenty of delicious street food stalls on its doorstep.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ronanoh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Short drive to the centre city. Breakfast included with good options! Room was clean and had a safe. Staff were friendly too and nothing bad to report. But is maybe too expensive for the backpacking students. Oh and hard beds

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank livigonerunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Do not be fooled by the pictures, this hotel is one to avoid. Even while checking in the staff were rude and unhelpful. Our bathroom was tiny, the shower was either boiling hot or freezing cold and the floor was covered in ants!! We got more bug bites in our hotel room than anywhere else. They charged us 200baht for a towel that was dirty. I don't know if it was even our towel.
The breakfast was woeful.
The location is good but there are plenty of nicer hotels and guest houses in the area.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Oona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Exceptionally rude staff, smelly damp rooms, horrible breakfast. Charged 200B for a towel that they hadn't washed and was dirty in the first place, I asked to borrow a pen from reception and was told 'no'. Room service is advertised but there is none. Only thing that was good was the location but there are many much nicer guest houses in the same area that have a pool and are much cheaper.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

I was looking for something to relax before i went hiking to laos.
+ the rooms are ok und clean

- its full of rude and loud chinese people, from 6 in the morning on there was no chance to sleep
- the wifi didnt work in the rooms, this is a nogo for this price

I left the hotel after one night to a nice and cheap hostel with friendly guests. You will find some with 5 points here. This was the first and last time i booked such an expensive (for thailand) hotel through my 2 months journey.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

This is a welcoming and friendly hotel. The front of hotel staff were pleasant and all smiles. We were tired after a long flight, they didn't rush us to register. After going to our room we went down to reception to do the necessary paperwork.
The room is very large with a large double bed. There are tables and chairs to sit on. There is a fridge and TV. TV only has 3 English channels. There is a bath and shower. Water doesn't run very quick, so running a bath takes about 15mins. Shower is fine though. There isnt any tea/coffee facilities in the room. We went up to Tesco (about 10 mins by tuk tuk) and bought a kettle and mugs. This was about £5. The room is very clean and bright. We haven't had any problems (as stated by others) with people talking loudly or running up and down hallway. The hotel is full, mainly Japanese. The breakfast is mainly catered for the Asians but there is toast and eggs. Take your own teabags with you. The tea is very weak here. They use 1 teabag to a pot full of water.
Overall. This hotel is well worth the money you pay for it. It is comfortable and functional.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.3 km away
Roong Ruang Hotel
Roong Ruang Hotel
#172 of 392 in Chiang Mai
82 reviews
0.0 km away
Bua Raya Hotel
Bua Raya Hotel
#262 of 392 in Chiang Mai
10 reviews
0.4 km away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#90 of 392 in Chiang Mai
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sira Boutique Hotel
Sira Boutique Hotel
#287 of 392 in Chiang Mai
234 reviews
0.2 km away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#146 of 392 in Chiang Mai
102 reviews
1.1 km away
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
Lotus Hotel Pang Suan Kaew
#98 of 392 in Chiang Mai
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buaraya Hotel Chingmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buaraya Hotel Chingmai

Address: 234/18 Maneenopparat Rd, Muang, Old City | Tambon Sripoom Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $26 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buaraya Hotel Chingmai 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Buaraya Hotel Chingmai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing