We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort food”
Review of The Hideout

The Hideout
Ranked #25 of 3,122 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Price range: C$1 - C$9
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We don't serve fast food at our small, non-airconditioned restaurant where flavour and service are prioritised over interior design and atmosphere. Sandwiches, salads and breakfast dishes along with locally-sourced coffee and fresh fruit for smoothies. Our bagels and baguettes are made by a bakery to our high standards and we make our own yoghurt. Use of high quality ingredients and skillful techniques gives you the taste of fine-dining without the fine-dining price.
Reviewed February 21, 2018 via mobile

Comfort food similar to back home. The godfather was delicious and you can pick your bread. Cozy spot and water is free!

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank somethingeneric
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sammy S, Owner at The Hideout, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Thank you for visiting and for your review post. It's great that you found The Godfather delicious. We like to improve at every opportunity we get so, if you have time, I'd love to know what we could have done better or differently to receive that fifth star from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 203 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2018

"The Hideout" is the perfect name for this little gem. Tucked on a side street in Chiang Mai, it's well worth visiting. Our teenage son was craving french toast and they more than delivered. Everyone in our family of 4 left happy (I had a BLT on a bagel -- the bacon was fantastic.) The smoothies were also a big hit with us. Probiotic yoghurt/fruit smoothies were delicious. The owner described their lengthy process for making the yoghurt. Side note: there's a video screen in the restaurant which describes where they source many of the ingredients used in their food. Informative and fun. We highly recommend it!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jamesmatthewr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sammy S, Owner at The Hideout, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

You have given all of us a huge smile! Thank you for your review and for bringing your family along for a meal with us! We really appreciate you noticing the little details!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2018

Coffee and Food was so amazing. Great coffee served here and of course the Sandwiches Menu was great. The staff was nice and friendly.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dwell Hostel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sammy S, Owner at The Hideout, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Thank you for visiting and for posting your review! It's wonderful to hear that our coffee and food satisfied you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2018 via mobile

Best French toast ever. Very small quaint cafe. Excellent service and amazing food quality. Highly recommend you find this place

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank EvanUW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sammy S, Owner at The Hideout, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Thank you for choosing to visit us and for taking the time to post a review! We are so happy that the French Toast satisfied you to such a high level! Thank you for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

Scouted this one out as a result of the ta reviews. Nice clean quiet spot for simple sandwiches and tea. Good variety of food and choice of breads which is a nice surprise. Bit hard to find tucked just off the main road but worth the search.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Holidayfixation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sammy S, Owner at The Hideout, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Thank you for visiting and for sharing your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. We are at this location on purpose and our name was chosen to match. We like to improve at every opportunity we get so, if you have time, I'd love to know what we could have done better or differently to receive that fifth star from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hideout also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chang Khlan, Chiang Mai
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to The Hideout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.