We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to relax”
Review of Karinthip Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karinthip Village
Ranked #172 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to relax”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

As our first time in Thai land we stayed here and found the hotel lovely, rooms were too a good standard but not amasing but who holidays to stay in the room!? The pool was fantastic plenty of sun loungers and the freedoms to do as we pleased! Staff were always helpfull and service around the pool was good! Daily cocktails and burgers and sandwiches were lovely! Breakfast wasnt great but not found an excellent one in S.E Asia yet!!?

Would def return. Also great location!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBtash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    80
    45
    16
    15
See reviews for
47
63
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Stayed for 4 nights with brother and his family. It was fab location as can walk to all the great spots, night mkt, main old town etc. the room was bit sparse but comfy, clean and tidy and plenty of bottled water etc The family room was great with huge double and 2 singles for kids. Staff attentive to needs arranging cooking school etc. it just lacks a bit of atmosphere as it seemed empty aside from odd other guests. Having said that it was great as the kids then had pool to themselves! We did not eat at hotel in evening as lots of places within few minutes walk but also probably bec it was too quiet in dining room which was shame. Good value for money and it was certainly safe and great with the kids.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwi_Cat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Karinthip is a sanctuary in the heart of busy Chiang Mai. It is very quiet, tucked away in the back streets and yet walking distance to the Night bazaar, Tha Pa Gate and Internet cafes. We got a family room with 2 single beds pushed together and 2 other singles. It was roomy enough. The hotel is built around the pool and has pretty gardens. The staff are most pleasant. Only problem is mosquitos if you want to spent time outside your room. The breakfast is adequate but boring after a few days. We felt like we were the only visitors to this place, it was so quiet. Definitely stay again but maybe go out for breakfast sometimes. Having laundry done is affordable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firstfleeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We stayed here for a week during the Loy Kratong a.k.a. Yi Peng festival in November. Now to be fair there were very few guests staying at the hotel so I may have had a different opinion if it was totally crowded. We pretty much had the place to ourselves and it was great! It is a very tranquil spot located close to the action. It is about a 5 minute walk to get inside the old city walls and about a 10 minute walk to the flower market or the northern end of the night market. Eating at the hotel is very reasonable. About $3 for a snack and about the same for a big beer. The included breakfast is sufficient and when purchased with the room makes for an easy start to the day. There are many other restaurants and bars within a block or two. The staff is very freindly and there is a taxi driver named La La that will take you anywhere you want to go for a very reasonable price. He was even more reasonable than the tuk tuks. The pool is great but be careful because there are a few missing tiles and I sliced open my big toe the day before we left. (In typical Thai fashion they aren't worried about liability) We stayed in the family room which is perfect for young kids. There is almost nothing breakable in there and the room is huge, perfect for our normally well-behaved 5 year old son. The "vibe" of this place is very relaxed. The staff was great as well. We had a few of our attractions arranged before arriving in Chiang Mai, but the girls at the counter were very helpful setting up a cooking class for my wife and a traditional dinner at the Chaing Mai cultural center. I will definately stay here again if we are lucky enough to return to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CabraViejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Just happened to find this hotel, and it's a real gem. Nice big clean rooms, great pool area, and the staff are just great...the best. The staff were so friendly and helpful, really made us feel welcome. Really good location for restaurants, attractions and shopping. Really couldn't have asked for more. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce_McG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2009

since it was August, prices went down with 60% (payed 2400baht for deluxe room incl BF)

We stayed in a room that was just refunrnished, with a beautiful oriental-style bed.
Hotel was peaceful and quite, my guess there were maybe 6 other guests ;-)

Indeed service could be better, if the staff was better in English. There were helpful, but we got the feeling they did not understand much English...

Good value for money (with these reduced rates- would never pay the full rate for it though)
Location is great

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arjancc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2008

The hotel was in a good location, not far from the main markets and nightlife but still quite secluded and quiet. The staff were friendly and patient with my attempts to speak thai. The room was clean. I felt the breakfast could be improved but ok. After a busy day, it was quite nice to get back to a relax at the hotel. If I return to Chiang Mai, I would use this hotel again. I enjoyed my visit.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.9 km away
Lanna Palace 2004 Hotel
Lanna Palace 2004 Hotel
#290 of 381 in Chiang Mai
147 reviews
5.9 km away
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
#131 of 381 in Chiang Mai
55 reviews
0.3 km away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#242 of 381 in Chiang Mai
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Yantarasiri Resort
Yantarasiri Resort
#177 of 381 in Chiang Mai
329 reviews
4.6 km away
B2 Ayatana Premier Hotel & Resort
0.6 km away
Baan Saen Fang Chiang Mai
Baan Saen Fang Chiang Mai
#138 of 381 in Chiang Mai
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karinthip Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karinthip Village

Property: Karinthip Village
Address: 50/2 Changmoikao Rd, Changmoi | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karinthip Village 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Karinthip Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karinthip Village Chiang Mai
Karinthip Village Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing