We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally set in the Heart of a thai village of Chang Phueak.”
Review of Viangbua Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viangbua Mansion
Ranked #91 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Viangbau Mansión is a friendly and confortable hotel. We had a suite for one month and the facilities were very good. The staff are attentive to your needs and always willing to assist with arrangements for sight seeing trips etc.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slimphil2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

We are now on our second stay at Viangbua and are very pleased to be here. Previously, we stayed for 6 weeks in a Superior Type 1 as it was the last room available when we arrived without a reservation in January. We did find that after a month, the room was feeling pretty tight. This time for our longer stay we are in a Deluxe Room Type 1 which is very spacious. As one reviewer noted, it is on a side road which makes it quieter than most and as far as walking goes, there is no where in Chiang Mai that is not a challenge for pedestrians and one has to adapt. This is difficult for tourists sometimes. What draws us back to Viangbua is the wonderful staff overseen by Miss "A" who works so very hard and assists all of the guests to no end - she has surely done that for us and more. There is a cafe, a lovely lobby and a well used porch with nice tables and chairs. The hotel is very clean and in good repair. There is 24 hour security staff and a keyed access elevator. It is a 5 minute walk to several restaurants which I will review given time; the Thanin market; Chang Puak Road for easy access to transportation. A good restaurant is also in the hotel for breakfast and lunch. We believe it is a very solid value for the money which should not be overlooked.

Room Tip: the higher floors have better views, a little cleaner air and tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PaulHen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

No way can I recommend Vianbua Mansion, nor would I stay at the place again. It is located in a dirt road side street off a main road well away from any central location. The road immediately outside the Viagbua Mansion has no sidewalk/pavement: hence dangerous to walk along as there are always fast moving vehicles especially motor bikes driving at speed up and down the road.

The Viagbua Mansion web site does not accurately reflect the truth about the place. I stayed in a so called deluxe room on the side of the building with what was meant to be a living room, kitchen area and bedroom.
But the living room is just a widened corridor leading to a kitchen top with a sink and some kitchen appliances plus a fridge. The room has one small window which provides insufficient lighting for the room.
Quite frankly I am sure there are prison cells that have bigger windows then there are at Viagbua!
The bedroom is worse as there is no window and thus no natural light coming into the room. And the bathroom is en suite leading with a door the other side and a tiny balcony.
To be able to see in the bedroom its necessary to turn on the lights at all times.
It seems to me whoever designed Viagbua Mansion was not a westerner but an Asian who erroneously thinks they know what western travellers want: hence the odd layout and shape of the rooms in the place and the lack of natural daylight.
The furniture and furnishings in Viagbua Mansion are old and tatty and the web site fails to convey that.
Viagbua Mansion claims to be a service apartment yet the small restaurant closes down every day at 3pm and thereafter if at all there is no room service.
The breakfast on offer if included in the price is a fried egg with processed meats like a hot dog juice, fruit, toast and tea or coffee.
The room cleaning was adequate though I did find a mumified insect on the bedroom carpet. The laundry service is slow.
There is an exercise room the the premises which I never saw being used.
The place uses a key card system for the room and the lift though many people were having problems with it when i was there as as insert in slot system is used when a touch screen would be better.
The staff at the hotel gave me the impression they want to do as little as possible and do not wish the engage with guests . Often in the evenings the reception desk is not manned though in a side room one can see staff resting or playing computer games.

All in all I found the Viagbua a dowdy dreary unprofessional place, where I will never stay ever again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank navigator294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Clean, great location, pleasant staff, nice breakfast---will stay there again next year!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bneedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Having just flown up from Bangkok staying at the Rambuttri Village for 1250 per night, the much nicer and bigger room at Viengbua for 900 inc. breakfast was a very nice moral booster on our arrival day here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelKohTao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

So, the postives: lovely reception area, staff with excellent English, spotlessly clean rooms, good value.

The negatives: it is a long way from the long distance bus station (approx 4/5km) and a good 15/20 minute walk north of the old city (although you can easily catch a taxi if you wish and barter a decent price).

Basically this is a nice place, but for me the lack of atmosphere and charm let it down a bit. It just didn't feel authentically and charmingly Thai as with so many other places we stayed in diferent cities. If that isn't a concern for you then I'm sure you could do a whole lot worse than here!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ExplorerAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Great place to stay. A 5-10 minute to the night bazaar, Saturday or Sunday market. There is a local red taxi car driver who waits outside the hotel- he is absolutely the nicest guy ever! One night, he took us to a restaurant and it was closed, he took us to another and even would wait for us and pick us up after dinner. We paid him 100 baht (which is probably a little too much) but he was so nice. He even ran to help us put the bags in the van when we were leaving!
Go to The Spirit Houses, across the street, ASAP! The food was great and the whole atmosphere and decor of the place is amazing!! The owner couldn't be nicer. We felt so stupid for finally going the day before we left. It would have been great to talk with the owner and get recommendations from the beginning. He also has an amazing story.

The hotel service was phenomenal- especially for the price. The staff were so kind and helpful. They let us store our luggage in their office on 2 occasions and wrote the names of places in Thai for us in case the taxi driver didn't understand us. We would LOVE to stay there again if we ever came back. GREAT value for your money!

The rooms were really nice- and even had a TV area. The breakfast was not a buffet but was still good. They gave you fruit, tea or coffee and you choose the meal- waffle, egg sandwich and I forget the third option.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nwasilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 km away
Mercure Chiang Mai
Mercure Chiang Mai
#73 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,022 reviews
1.1 km away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 389 in Chiang Mai
682 reviews
0.3 km away
The Grand Wipanan Residence
The Grand Wipanan Residence
#111 of 389 in Chiang Mai
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#18 of 389 in Chiang Mai
259 reviews
3.4 km away
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
#157 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,011 reviews
0.3 km away
The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viangbua Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viangbua Mansion

Address: 3/1 Viangbua Road | Chang Puek, Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $0 - $1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viangbua Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viangbua Mansion Serviced Apartment - Chiang Mai, Thailand. Long-stay Serviced Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Viangbua Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viangbua Mansion Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing