We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home away from home”
Review of Viangbua Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viangbua Mansion
Ranked #78 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful home away from home”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at Viangbua Mansions for 3 months, from December 2011. We were delighted with the accommodation as well as the service that they provided during that time. Our apartment was very comfortable and spacious. The beds can be a little hard - as it is in most of Thailand - but just ask for a mattress pad and that makes a big difference.
I cannot say enough about the kindness and helpfullness of the staff, headed by the Manager Khun 'A', who, when we first arrived, actually went out of her way to show us around the market area, explaining about the many stalls that might be useful for us. I thought this went way beyond the call of duty and was truly impressed. They ensured that we were supplied with anything that we needed to make our stay more comfortable - even a vase to put flowers in when room service noticed that I had used a cut out water bottle as substitute. As this was our first trip to Thailand, naturally we needed a lot of guidance and we found the reception staff was more than helpful, trying to accommodate our many questions.
The restaurant served delicious food at great prices.
Viangbua Mansions is a little way out of the city, but in my opinion, it does not lack for the necessities that's needed for a longstay vacation. When we wanted to go into the city, it was a short walk to the main road where Songteaws can easily be found, and in 10 minutes we were in the middle of town. We actually walked to the night market a couple of times. It was good exercise and a very pleasant walk which took no more than 20 minutes.
When we go back to Chiang Mai we will not hesitate to stay at Viangbua Mansions again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pru49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    74
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
59
46
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I have been staying at the Viangbua Mansion again and I have to continue to rave about its great value and service. I have never come across staff members who are more helpful, it seems they cannot do enough to make their guests happy. And this is not for tips, either. The same goes for the standard of cleanliness, it really is exceptional for a property in this price bracket. The only thing that they could do to make my stays even better is to open the restaurant at night. At the moment it closes at 3pm. Many of the customers buy take-away foods at the big market around the corner or eat at the two restaurants just outside the front of the hotel, but sometimes I would prefer to dine in. That would make the Viangbua heaven.

Room Tip: Be aware that most of the twin-bedded superior rooms face the market, while the double-bedded rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterxhosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My wife and I have been staying at the Viangbua Mansion every year for the last 5 years for two to three months at a time.

The staff here is one of the best, customer service is absolutely unparalleled. We generally stay on the 7th or 8th floor apartment (80 to 89meters). The rooms are nice, though a bit old. The furniture is lana style (not so comfortable). The cleaning, bed making is provided three times a week with a major cleaning (changing bed sheets etc) once a week.

Location is the only drawback if you want to be in the center of action. It is situated in a very local Thai neighborhood and can be a bit noisy at times. There is a great food and vegetable market within walking distance.

There are several long term residents in the hotel including Americans, Brits and yes; lots of Japanese.

I highly recommend this place for a short or long term stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CBSCOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Viangbau Mansión is a friendly and confortable hotel. We had a suite for one month and the facilities were very good. The staff are attentive to your needs and always willing to assist with arrangements for sight seeing trips etc.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slimphil2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We are now on our second stay at Viangbua and are very pleased to be here. Previously, we stayed for 6 weeks in a Superior Type 1 as it was the last room available when we arrived without a reservation in January. We did find that after a month, the room was feeling pretty tight. This time for our longer stay we are in a Deluxe Room Type 1 which is very spacious. As one reviewer noted, it is on a side road which makes it quieter than most and as far as walking goes, there is no where in Chiang Mai that is not a challenge for pedestrians and one has to adapt. This is difficult for tourists sometimes. What draws us back to Viangbua is the wonderful staff overseen by Miss "A" who works so very hard and assists all of the guests to no end - she has surely done that for us and more. There is a cafe, a lovely lobby and a well used porch with nice tables and chairs. The hotel is very clean and in good repair. There is 24 hour security staff and a keyed access elevator. It is a 5 minute walk to several restaurants which I will review given time; the Thanin market; Chang Puak Road for easy access to transportation. A good restaurant is also in the hotel for breakfast and lunch. We believe it is a very solid value for the money which should not be overlooked.

Room Tip: the higher floors have better views, a little cleaner air and tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PaulHen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

No way can I recommend Vianbua Mansion, nor would I stay at the place again. It is located in a dirt road side street off a main road well away from any central location. The road immediately outside the Viagbua Mansion has no sidewalk/pavement: hence dangerous to walk along as there are always fast moving vehicles especially motor bikes driving at speed up and down the road.

The Viagbua Mansion web site does not accurately reflect the truth about the place. I stayed in a so called deluxe room on the side of the building with what was meant to be a living room, kitchen area and bedroom.
But the living room is just a widened corridor leading to a kitchen top with a sink and some kitchen appliances plus a fridge. The room has one small window which provides insufficient lighting for the room.
Quite frankly I am sure there are prison cells that have bigger windows then there are at Viagbua!
The bedroom is worse as there is no window and thus no natural light coming into the room. And the bathroom is en suite leading with a door the other side and a tiny balcony.
To be able to see in the bedroom its necessary to turn on the lights at all times.
It seems to me whoever designed Viagbua Mansion was not a westerner but an Asian who erroneously thinks they know what western travellers want: hence the odd layout and shape of the rooms in the place and the lack of natural daylight.
The furniture and furnishings in Viagbua Mansion are old and tatty and the web site fails to convey that.
Viagbua Mansion claims to be a service apartment yet the small restaurant closes down every day at 3pm and thereafter if at all there is no room service.
The breakfast on offer if included in the price is a fried egg with processed meats like a hot dog juice, fruit, toast and tea or coffee.
The room cleaning was adequate though I did find a mumified insect on the bedroom carpet. The laundry service is slow.
There is an exercise room the the premises which I never saw being used.
The place uses a key card system for the room and the lift though many people were having problems with it when i was there as as insert in slot system is used when a touch screen would be better.
The staff at the hotel gave me the impression they want to do as little as possible and do not wish the engage with guests . Often in the evenings the reception desk is not manned though in a side room one can see staff resting or playing computer games.

All in all I found the Viagbua a dowdy dreary unprofessional place, where I will never stay ever again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank navigator294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Clean, great location, pleasant staff, nice breakfast---will stay there again next year!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bneedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 km away
Napatra Hotel
Napatra Hotel
#99 of 381 in Chiang Mai
81 reviews
1.1 km away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 381 in Chiang Mai
669 reviews
2.7 km away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#47 of 381 in Chiang Mai
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Grand Wipanan Residence
The Grand Wipanan Residence
#113 of 381 in Chiang Mai
64 reviews
0.1 km away
Tarntong Boutique
Tarntong Boutique
#171 of 736 in Chiang Mai
12 reviews
0.3 km away
The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viangbua Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viangbua Mansion

Property: Viangbua Mansion
Address: 3/1 Viangbua Road | Chang Puek, Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viangbua Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viangbua Mansion Serviced Apartment - Chiang Mai, Thailand. Long-stay Serviced Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viangbua Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viangbua Mansion Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing