We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm and tranquility in beautiful Chiangmai”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 808 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

A quaint, peaceful heritage building with its old world charm and lush gardens welcomes you on the banks of the Ping river to Baan Orapin, in the, Charoenrat/Wat Ket area. From bustling Bangkok, this seemed like a Oasis of tranquility.

The collection of bungalows rest alongside a landscaped tropical garden – Baan Orapin takes its name from the 90-year-old teakwood family home at its centre. The decor of the rooms is simple and elegant, floors are teak or hardwood, furniture handcrafted and the beautiful breakfast laid out by the pool side and attentive service make one feel very special. The traditional Northern breakfast deserves special mention, though you will need to inform the staff a day in advance.

The location is very central, a historic street along the sleepy Ping River leads one to the beautiful restaurants by the river and the arts and craft shops. The much famed Night Bazaar, the bustling night market is a comfortable walking distance away. One needs to mention though that Nightbazar, though huge, has spectacular displays of its traditonal fare inside rather than the the outside shops that mostly sell cheap fakes from China. The local artists at work on the premises of the Night Bazar enthralled us with their sheer skill and artistry.The Warorot market with its beautiful traditional textile and cotton work from the local hilltribes does not fail to impress the tired traveller with its unfailing local charm and the unique essence of the Lanna culture. The promiximity to the old city area and the beautiful Wats of Chiangmai made our stay at Baan Orapin very memorable. The ancient Wats of chiangmai with their intricate wood carving and stunning hand painted murals left a lasting impression on us. The emaciated Buddha at Wat Umong, that almost escapes attention was a unique find.

Thanks to Trip Advisor, Baan Orapin was a great find for us on our visit to Thailand in December 2011.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anu023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

Bean Orapin is hidden gem behind very large doors off a busy street. We spent 5 night in a traditional thai Junior suite, in the rear wing, can not rate it high enough it was a perfect retreat after a days sightseeing in busy Chaing Mai.
Excellent breakfast, and the staff were very attentive.
There is a lovely swimming pool to relax round.
It is 5 minutes from the river were there are plenty of restaurants, we were recommended to go to the Gallery. This was a great place with excellent food.It was so good we spent 4 nights eating here.
Thankyou Opas for 5 wonderful nights
Carol and Derek.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear wing are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed here in March 2012 for 5 nights in a junior suite. Anyone looking for accommodation in Chiang Mai....don't look past this one. Such a quaint and beautiful setting, we absolutely loved it. The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. It was wonderful walking through the front gates after a full and sometimes hectic day out and finding such peaceful surroundings within. Perfect for all types of holiday makers, except rowdy groups, as it is a very tranquil and calm setting. Breakfasts were very good and service was great.

Many good restaurants are located within walking distance and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoopenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I visited baan orapin with my mother and aunt for five days in march 2012. The hotel is hidden off a busy but upscale street in Chiangmai and the grounds are unbelievably verdant and relaxing. Easy access and hotel had good recommendations and relationships with taxi and other services which made our visit easier. The staff was incredibly friendly and spoke limited but sufficient english. Breakfast was wonderful out by the pool. The temperature was at least five degrees cooler inside the grounds than out on the street thanks to all of the trees and other foliage. Only note is that there were ants in the shower. Nice walk to night Market. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed for six nights at Baan Orapin in early March. As this has been our 4th stay in the last 8 years, we know the property well and knew exactly what to expect.

We booked the newly renovated one bedroom suite, which is situated on the 2nd floor at the back of the guesthouse. It is generously sized, in line with the guesthouse's theme of traditional thai, with dark hardwood floors, celadon ceramics and dark wood furniture. Quite cosy, but with nice amenities, such as a fridge, plates and silverware to enjoy the delicious street food should you be inclined to. The bed is large and comfortable, with a mosquito net which further enhances the room's charm. Only drawback is the omnipresence of mosquitoes, but this is to be expected as the property is surrounded by a very nice "jungle" environment, which makes you immediately forget you are in the middle of a large and bustling city.

Service is attentive and overall excellent. We particularly appreciate the time taken by Opas, the owner, and Pepsi, who will always go the extra-mile to make your stay enjoyable. They are very knowledgeable about the area, and always have a good ideas if you are looking for things to do, or places to go.

The guesthouse is situated in a nice area, right across the Ping river. Unfortunately, the foot bridge, which was a great way to walk to the city center is closed for renovations at the moment. Therefore, it is best to have a car, motorcycle or take a tuk-tuk if you want to go to the center.

Before booking the Baan Orapin, we briefly considered staying at another hotel, as there are many new attractive choices in CM, but finally decided to go with them instead. We did not regret our choice for one second, as this is really a home away from home!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jewels_Gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I can reccommend a stay at the lovely and calm Ban Oraphin, without a question. It has kept the old calm spirit and everything is so beautiful, the rooms, the garden, the pool etc. Breakfast is really nice. The hosts are so friendly and the location is fine. It is one of the many nice experiences we had in Thailand, and somehow unforgettable. If I ever go to Chiang Mai again, I will look for a room at Ban Oraphin.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thorunn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

An absolutely perfect B&B. We stayed in the interconnected rooms at the back of the property (near the pool) and it was fantastic. The rooms are large and airy, very comfortable to relax in. The bathrooms are great - our shower was massive and the provided conditioner tamed my frizzy hair so that was an unexpectedly pleasant bonus! There's free wifi available which is great and very reliable. The pool is icy, best to just plunge in at the end of the day. The whole property is so peaceful and lush, I could have spent weeks! Breakfast is great, you get your choice of various egg dishes or non-egg dishes served with toast and fresh fruit, a perfect start. The location is convenient, quiet but close to the restaurants scattered along the riverfront. We had coffee and snack at a cafe up the road, 'The Meeting Place' or something similar, great little spot to relax. All in all Baan Orapin was an oasis and a welcome retreat during our time in Thailand and we will most definitely be returning!

Room Tip: The back rooms near the pool were very quiet, definitely recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdventureSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.3 km away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#5 of 394 in Chiang Mai
825 reviews
1 km away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#14 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,113 reviews
2.2 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 394 in Chiang Mai
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Baan Klang Wiang
Baan Klang Wiang
#11 of 394 in Chiang Mai
347 reviews
4.2 km away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#6 of 808 in Chiang Mai
723 reviews
0.7 km away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#9 of 808 in Chiang Mai
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 808 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $47 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Orapin, built in northern Thai (Lanna) styled architecture, surrounded by tall longan trees, is within easy walking distance of the Night Bazaar, Thapae gate, riverside restaurants along the Ping river, local handicraft shops, and Warorot market. It boasts an inviting residential ambiance that combines an authentic neighborhood vibe with the modern comforts. Baan Orapin is where you will find genuine ambience of a northern Thai home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin b&b
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing