We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort
Ranked #30 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Our tour group booked us (in 5 rooms) in this hotel as we were told other hotels were fully booked on this Lunar New Year 2012 week.
We stayed from 22-24 Jan 2012 and again upon returning from Chiang Rai on 25 Jan2012.
The first impression upon arrival was pleasant as the hotel's cozy lobby was quiet and nice pleasant surroundings with pool and trees.
The checking in was unfortunately a bit chaotic and staff were disorganized. Room and bath area are spacious. Amenities are a bit dated.
The mattress bed is very hard and a bit uncomfortable to sleep on if you don't like firm bed.
The water pressure at the shower area in 4 rooms are inconsistent and thus the hot water temperature was not easy to control and noisy-perhaps from the faulty water pump. The shower head placement was a bit high and not user friendly.Toiletries provided are very basic.
On early morning 24 Jan, 3 rooms experienced no hot water-we have to take cold shower in the 'winter' morning. One of the toilet in one of the room was faulty too, unable to flush!
We requested to move to another different room on 25 Jan when we return again and the staff agreed. Unfortunately on 25 Jan 2012, evening when we re-check-in again, the 5 rooms arrangement that was promised to us were given to other customers. We were not happy as the staff do not apologize. 3 of the rooms are again located on the same block and floor with faulty water heater.
This is a boutique hotel, not a 5 star international standard hotel. There are many other better hotels within Chiang Mai. The restaurant is opposite the road-DECK 1 by the Mae Ping river bank. Ambience was ok, Small size. Breakfast is very basic. Buffet style. The porridge served on all 3 mornings were miserable and look too watery. Fried rice was basic too. Pastas or noodles are edible but below average standards.Other than that there are some breads, fruits, bacon, sausage, eggs counter. Coffee & tea. 90% of the breakfast menu is the same daily. Staff service at DECK 1 need improvement, they are not attentive and very hard to get simple service.
The spa ambience at this hotel is only average and pricey for Chiang Mai, Thailand standard. Depending on your luck on how good masseurs that you get. Not all masseurs are good here.Two hour Thai Body massage or aromatherapy with some light foot scrub is 1800 Baht before tax.
This hotel can be ok for dry season but not for heavy rainy season as the blocks are not inter-connected and certain area do not have roof shelter-you will get wet in rainy season when returning to room or crossing over to the restaurant or getting out from the car at the entrance.

The choice is yours.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petals C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narun, Owner at RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

Dear PetalsC,

Thank you for your comments.

In regard to the bed mattress, customers can require softer mattress upon availability. We apologize if the information was not given during the check-in.

In regard to your comments on the hot water system, the hotel currently uses the Electric Coil system, so customers need to wait approximately 10-15 seconds before the water heats up. This system is safer than the traditional boiler system and we do apologize for any inconvenience this has caused..
We do apologize on the room reallocation on the 25th January because the engineer has fixed the hot water problem and there were no further comments raised by the guest. Thereby, we assign the same rooms. We apologize for the inconveniences.

As for the breakfast menu on the 23rd, 24th, 26th, I have checked with the restaurant manager. The 23rd menu is Pork Boiled Rice/Chicken Fried Rice/Spaghetti Carbonara/Grilled Tomato and Sauteed Potatoes/Tofu with Beans. The 24th menu is Prawn Dumplings/Prawn Fried Rice/Fried Noodle with Ham/Fried Chicken and Grilled Vegetable/Kale with Oyster Sauce. The 26th menu is Prawn Boiled Rice/American Fried Rice/Fried Rice Noodle with Pork/Chicken Schnitzel and Fries/Mushroom with Oyster Sauce. Every morning, these will be served along with selections of Bread, American breakfast (egg/ham/bacon/french toast), coffee/tea, Fruit juice, Green Salad, fruits and varieties of desserts. We ensure high food quality and varieties for our guests, so different types of menu are served each day.

As for the massage, Classical Thai Massage (2 hrs) is 1,500 THB before Tax. We thrives to provides high quality standardized massage by trained therapists.
The hotel is built under the concept of boutique hotel in the city, so it is quite different to the regular city hotel with everything air-conditioned and in the building. RarinJinda was built under the construction to ensure that there are sufficient air flows throughout properties, thereby in certain areas there are no covered walkways. During the rain season, umbrellas are provided for guests to commute within the hotel area and to outside.

In conclusion, It is our pleasure to serve you by providing the positive RarinJinda experience for all customers. All compliments and reviews are very important to us and we do take all concerns seriously. Past reviews have been very appreciated and has attracted many guests to RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort.

Narun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

For our first trip to Chiang Mai, I tried Booking.com apps for the first time on my iPad. I came across Rarinjinda which has one of the best rating. After reviewing the location and photos I didn't wait any further. We stayed there for 6 days and 5 nights!

This is our first time staying at a Boutique hotel. The ambience was much better than any other 5 star resorts we have stayed before such as Westin Langkawi and Shangri-La Penang. We were very impressed with the treatment and hospitality received upon arrival at the hotel as the staff were friendly and helpful. We did not get a chance to try the spa treatments except for the complimentary foot spa which was a relief. We really would love to indulge ourselves again there next time. One thing for improvement is the mattress as we would prefer a softer or springy one. Tq Rarinjinda for the pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cwaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narun, Owner at RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Dear Cwarf,

Thank you very much for your compliments. It was our pleasure serving you. Looking forward to welcome you again.

Narun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My daughter and I stayed at RarinJinda for five nights just last week and loved every minute of it. The room was bright, clean, airy and modern. The location was great, quiet for sleeping but close to everything - all that essential night shopping to be done! Because it was our first trip to Chiang Mai we were busy sightseeing but we made sure we spent two days at the resort - sitting beside the pool reading and/or using the spa facilities - we had a Golden Memories five hour treatment which included a foot scrub, hydrotherapy pool treatment, sauna, body scrub, massage and facial. All this cost [my daughter has the account] between $130-150AU each. The staff in all areas of the resort were very attentive, always ready to help and with a cold iced drink. We also took advantage of the Funny Day Tour and Travel facilities which are based on site. Price was great for the tours and staff helpful. We loved Deck 1 [across the road] but the policemen on duty at the hotel always stopped the traffic for us, whether it was to go to the restaurant or coming home from night shopping. The soft shell deep fried crabs were just delicious, along with a Long Island Iced Tea sitting on the deck overlooking the Mae Ping - what else could you ask for? There is a 7-11 just two house blocks away, with a coffee shop, etc. close by too. Deck 1 served a good solid breakfast every day with lots of food options. We went to a cooking school for the day nearby and enjoyed eating out at the Night Bazaar if we were not eating those lovely little crabs and not drunk too many Long Island Iced Teas. Riverside Bar and restaurant was across the road and the tuk tuk drivers all know where it is - costs 80 baht from the Night market to get home. Definitely recommend and would return both to RarinJinda and Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Riverside bar and restaurant is across the road, a little noisy but sounds great so a room towards t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narun, Owner at RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Dear Elaine C,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. We are glad that you and your daughter enjoy the wide range of services offer by RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort including accommodation, spa and restaurant facilities. It was our pleasure serving you.

Looking forward to welcome you again to RarinJinda experience.

Narun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We had the pleasure of staying 4D3N at RarinJinda. The moment we entered the hotel, we knew we had made the right decision. The hotel is elegantly designed and rooms are quite impressive. We were upgraded to a direct pool access room because of availability issues -- such a wonderful experience to open our doors and jump to the pool. While there are so many positive aspects to comment upon, the staff deserves the highest praise. They went out of our way to attend to our every needs. We travel a lot and for better or worse expect the best quality wherever we go. The staff at RarinJinda provided us this and more. Thank you so much. We can't wait to come back to Chiang Mai and won't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narun, Owner at RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear Sid S,

Thank you very much for your compliments. It was our pleasure serving you. I'll pass on your praises to all the staff to share your experience because these types of praises makes what RarinJinda is today.

Looking forward to welcome you again.
Narun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We have just returned from Chiang Mai and were very impressed with Rarinjindah. The staff were lovely and so attentive. Whenever we sat down to use the internet or enquire about something , a beautiful icy cold drink was served to us within minutes. The rooms were clean and cool and the landscape of the resort was absolutely beautiful with its waterfalls, ponds and greenery. We were in a quieter area of Chiang Mai, which was still very close to the bridge over the Ping river, which extended right through to the gates of the old, walled city. There were markets and night bazaars abuzz with food, handi-crafts and your imitation ralph laurens etc. You could walk to these attractions, but taxis and tuk tuks are easily accessible from the resort. Nearby there is Waa Wee Coffee (Like Starbucks or Gloria Jeans), Riverside restaaurant, Good View restaurant and The Deck 1 (which is where you will have inclusive breakfast). They are all situated on the Ping River. Any tours can be organised from hotel advisors. The Spa massages are the best I have ever had. Try the hot sand massage with Tibetan sound-waves, but the best fthe ultimate was the foot massage (It was incredible!). Free Yoga at 8am was a fine work-out, too. The down-side was, we didn't spend enough time just lying around the pool or using the gym. I wish we had more time there. Don't think twice about staying at this property. I'd like to return there some day.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool, so would be nice as long as you can all swim. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ausmum_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narun, Owner at RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Ausmom_10,

Thank you very much for your reviews and compliments. It was our pleasure serving you. We are glad that you have a wonderful time at RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort and enjoyed all of our facilities - Accommodation, Spa, Restaurant, Yoga etc.

Looking forward to welcome you again.
Narun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This is a very stylish, elegant and extremely well run boutique hotel in Chiang Mai very close to the Ping river. Value for money (January is low season) excellent for us falang ! Very relaxing room decor in modern Thai style as well as tasteful use of water and plant life in the open area around the pool.

Did not make use of the Spa except the free yoga sessions with a very good teacher.


Some small criticisms - free Wi-Fi internet was slow despite trying several access points.

- Gym area although small could be improved with a PowerPlate
machine and the free weights (dumbells) were too light for the
majority of men.

- Restaurant is a separate business across the road from the hotel,
with riverside tables. Breakfast was of good quality and varied
enough, just requiring a little more explanation to go with the form !

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anglichanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narun, Owner at RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Dear Anglichanian,

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions. We will definitely look into those issues and improve to better the customer experience at RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort Chiang Mai.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Narun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing stay in a calming and beautiful setting while in Chiang Mai, Rarinjinda is definitely the place to be. The boutique resort is set just across the river, and you can easily walk to the main attractions in Chiang Mai. If you prefer taxis, you can take a Tuk-Tuk for approx. 50 BHT to the city center.
The regular rooms (Deluxe is the 'basic' category) are very spacious, of course clean, very nice interior design, balconies into the courtyard where the pool is, large bathrooms with walk in shower and seperate tub. The various water displays around the hotel are shutting off during the night in case you are worried about noise. Good gym, free bottled water available in the room, lovely welcome drink, concierge/travel agency available in the lobby and they actually have better prices than booking directly on websites for the daily excursions. Spa is also great and just next to the hotel and offers 20% for in-house guests. Of course Spa in hotel is more expensive than the various places in town, but it is a very different experience. Breakfast is offered just across the road in the Deck 1 restaurant - which is set next to the river and therefore provides a lovely view in the morning. Next door is also the Riverside Cafe which offers very very good Thai food at very moderate prices and also live entertainment every night. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anybody that enjoys nice hotels and is willing to also pay 'a bit more' for it than average prices. It definitely was worth it and I would book again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jumptheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narun, Owner at RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Dear stehauf,

Thank you very much for your reviews. We are glad you enjoy your stay at RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort Chiang Mai.

Looking forward to welcome you again,
Narun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 km away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
2.5 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.4 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#18 of 389 in Chiang Mai
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.1 km away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
1.9 km away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort

Address: 14 Charoenraj Road | Wat Kate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $148 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come into RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort Chiang Mai, Thailand and experience entering a different world. Housed in a 140 years old antique Thai teak wood home in the Wat Ket Community. The resort is ideally situated near the historical Ping River and overlooking the majestic Doi Suthep Mountain within the heart of Chiang Mai city.Rarinjinda Wellness Spa Resort, the boutique hotel resort situated in the heart of Chiang Mai City, only 5-10 minutes walk to the Night Bazaar and 15 minutes from the airport, offering four categories of 35 luxurious deluxe and suite rooms, embellished and decorated with modern setting and stylish antiques. All rooms are decked with private verandas and ceiling fans overlooking swimming pools with Doi Suthep Mountain and Ping River views.Facilities include free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-equipped Wellness Spa, Fitness and Yoga Studio, Outdoor Swimming Pool and a trendy resort's restaurant, Deck1 Exotic Scene and Cuisine (Riverfront restaurant).Whether you are looking for a wonderful retreat or a perfect getaway, RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort Chiang Mai is a perfect holiday destination for you. RarinJinda has more than what others can offer. An award winning fully equipped boutique resort with the most complete spa in the northern region located in the distinctive architecture, permeated by the comfortable ambiance of days gone by, in the centre of the charming community, providing the calm and tranquil atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your RarinJinda Wellness Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rarinjinda Wellness Hotel Chiang Mai
Rarinjinda Wellness Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing