We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
8
15
9
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
15
9
6
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 47 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2013

convenient and beautiful place.
restaurant ok and breakfast good.
20 mn walk to the city
staff good and very quiet place.
we stayed 4 nights in this guesthouse - chiang mai.
I went with a guide and it's necessary to stay more for visit this city and area.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the staff are lovely! Really pleasant... However you really do get what you pay for.

Our room was small, dark, dingy, dirty and uncomfortable. The tap took 5 minutes before a dark water finally came through, the shower spat a VERY small amount of water at you before getting too hot and then stopping.

Extremely poor, but really for £8, 2 people, 2 nights what did we expect?

We tried to tough it out but just couldn't, we could afford better so booked a much nicer hotel in a more central location close to everything.

We didn't even stay a night, we couldn't face it.

Staff are lovely, if you're not fussy about hygiene and space then it's for you, if not perhaps look for something a bit nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaysmith2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ben Guesthouse offers homestay rooms in a good price. It is not in a city centre but within walking distance from it. I liked the fact it was a bit away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Instead offered great culinary options around in the local market and nearby stalls. I was not sure if the restaurant was open when I was there as I was rather encouraged to eat out or bring food from the market by the owners. There are 2 bikes for free use. They are quite old though. Similarly to the hostel itself which seemed to be quite old and not maintained. Family who is running the hostel were friendly, helpful and laid back. The room could be cleaned more thoroughly but was spacious and functional. I booked a cooking class and minibus to Pai from the hostel and all went smoothly and on time. I also used laundry facility - you need to separate your clothes yourself otherwise they will wash whites with colours. Wifi worked well in both the room and the garden.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms seem to offer more privacy
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanna e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 , we were told about it from friends we met travelling Thailand and for 200baht we had a lovely double room with bathroom .

The staff are super friendly and so accommodating, they booked the bus for us to PAI and only made a tiny commission, they offer free bicycles to explore the city.

The location was great for us, even though it was not in the walled part of the city where most of the tourists stay it was within walking distance of everywhere.

It is more back packer than flash packer the rooms are basic but clean

The food down stairs in the restaurant was really good too, everything is fresh and they pop to the local market to get ingredients not every time you order but if you order something they don't have in the fridge. It's worth the extra wait though!! Really tasty noodles and pad Thai here for good prices too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonaKonaTron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Having travelled around the world, I can honestly say this place has one of the best value for money i have seen. No, for that price you are not going to get luxury/brand new rooms, but the heart-warming service and AMAZING and cheap food completely make up for it. Rooms do the job, give you a bed and a working bathroom, which is personally, what i expect for that price. Location isn't that bad either, as we first worried. At least you get peace and quiet from the crazy tourist hell of the main backpacker area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlepeasoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews