We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
322 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great getaway place”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Shewe Wana is located 7 minutes walking of the main gate of Chiang Mai, just 5 minutes from the train station. What a nice play to spend a few days. The welcome was a very warm one, they picked me up at the airport without extra charge.
Breakfast was very good with a lot of options and delicious mango and other local fruits.
I can imagine myself spending a honeymoon here !
The day I left I realized in the airport that I forgot my private cell phone in the safe of my room. I called them and they send one of their staff with a motorbike to give me my cell phone. This was a very nice gesture, otherwise I would have had to return to the hotel with the risk of missing my flight. Thank you so much for being such good hosts. You exceeded my expectations and I rate you number of 1 of all my stays in the last couple of years. Will be back !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank degtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    276
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
198
517
62
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have just returned from a 6 night stay in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom suite, and cannot speak highly enough of this wonderful little hotel. It exceeded my expectations in every way. The suite was very spacious, meticulously clean and well furnished. Plenty of storage space in the bedrooms and good sized bathrooms. The showers had very good water pressure, and the toiletries provided are all hand made and just divine (shampoo, conditioner, body wash left my hair and skin feeling amazing). Both pools were excellent, certainly refreshing and a relaxing place to chill out and unwind after touring around Chiang Mai. The tropical gardens are lush and well maintained, it is literally an oasis to escape to - we slept peacefully with no disturbance from the outside world. Bliss! The breakfasts are amazing, nothing is too much trouble for the staff, and those banana pancakes are incredible. All the staff were so friendly and obliging, it was a real home away from home. I would not even contemplate staying anywhere else in Chiang Mai, and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetcheeks800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Fantastic breakfast - buffet fruit/breads and order for cooked breakfast. Good coffee! Staff very friendly and helpful especially Nit. Beware of the mosquitos though - someone left our balcony door open and even though the mosquito screen was closed when we got home there were about 25 mosquitos in the kids bedroom. Quite easy to kill them though they seemed a bit dopey. Mosquitos not a problem as long as you spray up well and keep the doors closed. We ate at the restaraunt on the last day and the food was delicious - the starter plate was the best. Wished we had eten there more.

Room Tip: We were a bit disappointed in being put on the third floor but actually it was better as no one walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We spent 6 nights at the Shewe Wana in Chiang Mai and were treated to a peaceful paradise within the city. We had royal suite 5 that was right next to the pool (10 steps away!). The suite was spacious, clean and beautifully furnished. We looked forward to an amazing breakfast every morning (don't miss the banana pancakes) with fresh fruits. The main pool was excellent and it was rare for us to ever see anyone else there. Plenty of sun exposure too on the deck. Staff frequently replaced the flowers and decorations around the resort which added a nice touch. Dined in the restaurant and had a wonderful, tasty Thai meal. All of the front desk staff spoke English well and were happy to book a tour for us or book a table at a restaurant. The resort tuk tuk was also handy to take you wherever you would like to go. Laundry service was great - cheap and fast. I will recommend this boutique resort to everyone I know and will stay here when in Chiang Mai again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneG94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I have just returned from 2 weeks in Chaing Mai, staying at the Shewe Wana Boutique Resort. I can't say enough about it!! I traveled with 3 other women, we stayed in the "Royal Suite", it suited our needs perfectly. The beautiful gardens and pools, are wonderful. The staff go out of their way to be welcoming and helpful! They were very helpful with suggestions of things to do and places to eat. Nit, especially goes out of his way to be helpful. Joy one of the owners, was on site most of the time and often sat down with us to chat. The food was wonderful as well. It is a hidden gem in a very busy city. I would highly recommend staying here, I hope to be able to go back someday!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We started our honeymoon here and what a place to be. Shewe Wana is so quaint and perfect. The staff were so freindly and helpful. Breakfast was splendid every morning.
2 pools and both a great size. Exquisite orchids everywhere and a herb garden with ponds no end. You would never even know the city of Chiang Mai was right out front. We could walk to the night markets in less then 10 mins (we went every night)....however we did tend to get lazy towards the end and started catching tuk tuks, only costing 40thb. Awesome, beautiful. I am in love with Chiang Mai now and I believe the accomadation at Shewe Wana is definaltley partly to blame for this :-)
A big thank you to the staff and we look forward to coming back some day.
regards
Dale and Shirley

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyBooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed a week in the Shewe Wana recently and were not disappointed. We had been upgraded to a De Luxe double room on the first floor. The room was functional but not on the large side compared to other hotels in Thailand. The standard rooms are even smaller, but do not let this put you off as everything else was top class. The only reason I'm not giving it a 5 rating is the size of the rooms and the fact that floors are concrete and the bathroom looked as if the tiling had not been finished.
Service and food was excellent and the owner Joy is so friendly and always available for a chat.
As has been said, it's only a 15 minute walk to the night market and a 25 minute walk to the old town or 60Baht in a tuk tuk. We tended to walk to the town and Tuk Tuk back.
The two pools are excellent and were always quiet when we were there. One pool gets virtually no sun and the other loses the sun at 3.30pm, so if you want to sunbathe go early. Airport pick up and delivery was prompt and friendly. We had a complimentary dinner on the first night and free drink (did not appear).
We had a look in a top grade suite and were so impressed with quality, if you can afford it stay in one of these.
The Massage suite is very expensive compared to what you get in the city.
All in all we were delighted and would book again.
The

Room Tip: 1st floor towards the back of the hotel or one of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceclowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 km away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
2.2 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.9 km away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 379 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.6 km away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
1.5 km away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#34 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Property: Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing