We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Louise H
Birmingham, United Kingdom

Never Again

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 3, 2011
Booked this hotel through Bookings.com as we had an early morning flight and it seemed the cheapest & best of what is close to the airport, although 1000baht I feel is expensive for what we got.
The guesthouse is in the middle of no where, on a busy road and there are a few local shops, 7even 11's but nothing catered for tourists, which is fine if you are only there for one night.
At first I didnt know if we were at the right place as there was no formal checking in procedure, I happened to see my name scribbled on a piece of paper so assumed we were in the right place.
The room was spacess and clean, the bathroom was a little dirty with hair around the shower plug hole, but again we were only here for one night.
As per the info on Bookings.com I asked the lady who took our payment if she would arrange for us to be taken to the airport at 4am, she confirmed yes as they sleep on site.
We decided to go for a walk and when we returned I again confirmed if the early morning transfer to the airport was ok, again I was told yes.
We had an early and I woke about 1am as there was a noise outside, turned the light on and at the bottom of the bed next to the window there were hundreds of ants. It seemed the floor tiles had not been laid correctly, after spraying them and trying our best to get rid of the ants we gave.
At 4am we got up and went downstairs as prior arranged only to find the guesthouse in darkness and all the staff sleeping on the reception floor. I tried to wake the lady who we spoke to, but to no avail.
So we waited outside and luckily a taxi passed and took us to the airport, god knows what we would have done if he hadnt of passed - no a good idea to promise to deliver a service and then not deliver!!!!!!
Date of stay: October 2011
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simon_Phuket, Manager at Phuket FLY Guesthouse, responded to this review
Responded Oct 8, 2011
Can I take this opportunity to reply to the specific points raised by this guest?

The guesthouse location is clearly shown on the map that Booking.com provides in our listing. Our guesthouse is located about 1km from the international airport, and on the access road to the airport which offers a wide choice of minimarts, restaurants, ATM and taxi services. We provide a free shuttle service to the tourist area of Nai Yang beach, but this guest did not ask about our shuttle service.

We specifically promote our guesthouse as suitable for airport travellers, and we do not promote it for access to a wide range of tourist/holiday facilities

The presence of hair around the shower plug hole is not acceptable, and I will try to ensure that our cleaning maid checks for this in future.

No mention was made by the customer of the presence of ants. These can be difficult to get rid of, since they are attracted by the slightest scent of sweet food or sugar. The floor tile problem is being addressed.

As arranged, our staff offered to drive the guest to the airport in the early morning. Our driver sleeps in the reception area and we were very surprised that the guests had crept out like mice, instead of waking the driver. It would have been perfectly acceptable to wake him - he was in the reception area for that very reason.

I do hope that these issues did not spoil the guest's stay with us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$163
  • StayForLong
    C$1,075
  • Vio.com
    C$147
  • Expedia.com
    C$180
20.0 km from Phuket FLY Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$103
Fully refundable
  • StayForLong
    C$126
  • Hotels.com
    C$96
  • Vio.com
    C$100
22.3 km from Phuket FLY Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$413
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
19.3 km from Phuket FLY Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$162
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • StayForLong
26.7 km from Phuket FLY Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$73
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    C$62
  • Expedia.com
    C$67
21.8 km from Phuket FLY Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$66
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
31.4 km from Phuket FLY Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Vio.com
    C$108
  • Agoda.com
    C$107
  • travelup.com
    C$130
21.5 km from Phuket FLY Guesthouse
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
    C$103
  • StayForLong
30.8 km from Phuket FLY Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Phuket
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
1
1
1
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1
1
1
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 10 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I had a flight early thursday morning and looked for a convenient and not too expensive place to stay. I arrived around 7pm and had to get transport at 5:30am to the airport. In the area are some lovely authentic food stalls, nothing special, but just right for the short time. It was so easy and relaxing. Definately recommend this place.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leigh247
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PhuketFLY, Manager at Phuket FLY Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

As we are a new guesthouse, I very much welcome this positive review.

Customers should note that the operation of Phuket FLY Guesthouse is closely assisted by myself (Simon), the very experienced British manager from the nearby Phuket Airport Hotel, and FLY is intended to offer guests a slightly cheaper alternative to a resort room, whilst still offering all the benefits of easy access to the nearby airport for early departures and late arrivals.

I appreciate suggestions and constructive criticism for ways to improve our service and facilities

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2012
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 29, 2012
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 25, 2012
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 13, 2012
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews