We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T bother staying here unless you want overpriced room with minimum facilities”
Review of Saphir Dalat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Saphir Dalat Hotel
Ranked #55 of 77 Hotels in Da Lat
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DON'T bother staying here unless you want overpriced room with minimum facilities”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I booked a superior room via telephone 1 month prior to my visit to Da Lat. The photos and info from the internet (which i found out not long before, are from the hotel staff themselves) blowned me away.

It was extremely disapointing that my room is way to small, just enough to fit one table, one bed and one chair. The TV is not older than my grand parents, no safe, no extra pillows, no pot... I decided to upgrade into a deluxe room (cost extra $25 for 1 night), which is exactly the same with the superior room except for more floor surface and a bath tub. No table, no sofa, nothing.

The bed was small, tough and coarse. But that is nothing compared to the horribly thin walls and ceiling. I could hear every single conversation and foot steps from the family who stayed in the room right above us.

The only good thing about this hotel was the vintage setting in some random areas.. well just not worth it. I'd rather pay $10 for a museum trip than this. They were lucky I paid in full while booking because I regret staying there from the very first moment I arrived.

Well I wouldnt be this mad if the hotel owner is being honest about its state instead claiming that they are a 4 stars hotel to be able to get more money. I wasted $120 for 2 nights, which is extremely over priced for this kind of hotel, or guest house, whatever it should be.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Res-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    23
    27
    26
    17
See reviews for
14
52
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Look, this place has some positives including the bar with vistas over the town towards the green hills beyond.Also the bed rooms are a nice size and the shuttered windowed bathroom (complete with olde worlde wooden tub)is well-fitted out.
However,due to the fact it has timber floorboards and it's close promixity to a bus terminal noise is a real problem.
Breakfast is served via a cobbled path to an area that doubles for an underground car park and caters mainly to the Asian palate.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisnMarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Da Lat hotels

Tapu Bay
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Hi
I stayed in the Saphir Hotel Dalat for 3 nights whilst on tour in Vietnam
First the good news, it was very clean and central to the city center, staff were very friendly
Now the not so good news, this would have to be the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed at!!
Picture putting a tent up in the middle of the busiest intersection in Saigon then paying all the locals to toot their horns all night and thats about what it was like, I do not know if the hotel design contributed to the problem but it was really, really bad.Next no one spoke English enough to assist me which gets tiresome after a while, the meals were non existent and I was even unable to get a snack on my last night at the bar when it was peeing down outside, the main restaurant was closed.
Breakfast in a big barn type area under the main hotel with trestle type tables and all Vietnamese foods. I think this hotel is more for locals not tourists
Finally on my last night I booked a wake up call for 5am as I had an early departure, luckily I also set my watch alarm, when i got downstairs to reception i found why the wake up call had not happened as the receptionist was asleep on a cot under a mosquito net behind the counter
Over all not my best experience so far I must say

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I'm going on 4 months now travelling through SE Asia and this is one of the coolest places I've seen - well ever. The Saphir Dalat is only two months old as of this review. I spoke with the owner (a civil engineer) who seemed exhausted just speaking about the work he put into building itl. He explained it took him and his partner 6 years from start to finish to design and build, and as soon as you step to the front desk, you can see why. The details in this place are ridiculous. The latern-style light fixtures, the giant wooden bathtubs, large wooden plank flooring, pull-chain toilets, the cobblestone entryway, the glass elevator . They didn't miss a single detail. Seriously.

The staff is also amazing. The gentleman who took our bags and showed us to our room wouldn't even accept a tip!

If all that isn't enough, the location is perfect. It's only a 10-minute stroll to the walking market and lake. It's perched high upon on a hill so even if you get "basement" level room (below the main floor), your view is overlooking the beautiful city with the mountains in the background.

Oh, and I don't know if this will last long but our room was only $30 per night. We accidentally stayed at the River Palace hotel and paid $60 the first night in Dalat and it doesn't even come close to the quality of Saphir. I would easily pay $100 for this place. But I'll stop now, just stay here and thank me later.

Room Tip: Booked on agoda.com for the cheap rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m3torrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
1.6 km away
Hong Mon Villa
Hong Mon Villa
#22 of 77 in Da Lat
79 reviews
0.7 km away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#10 of 77 in Da Lat
533 reviews
3.3 km away
La Sapinette Hotel Dalat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Kings Hotel Dalat
Kings Hotel Dalat
#48 of 77 in Da Lat
26 reviews
1.1 km away
Ngoc Phat Hotel
Ngoc Phat Hotel
#19 of 77 in Da Lat
51 reviews
2.1 km away
Dalat Cadasa Resort
Dalat Cadasa Resort
#29 of 77 in Da Lat
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saphir Dalat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saphir Dalat Hotel

Property: Saphir Dalat Hotel
Address: 9 Phan Nhu Thach Street, Da Lat 1000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 77 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saphir Dalat Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest and most impressive hotel in town. Right in the city center, minutes from most city destination on foot, eco friendly design, impressive bathrooms, rainforest showers, all solid wood decoration, with turn of the 1900 century decorative features, impressive views and the towering hotel of Dalat City. Rooms are cosy and very well decorated., WiFi in all rooms and as well as public areas,cable TV, hot and cold water, telephone, smoke and fire detectors, Friendly service by competent English speaking staff. The must see hotel in town with restaurant and bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Saphir Dalat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing