We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Bao Dai's Palace

Bao Dai's Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$135.00*
and up
Full-Day Dalat Bike Tour
Ranked #16 of 87 things to do in Da Lat
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Preserved almost intact, this is the most popular of the three Bao Dai palaces in town; Bao Dai was ousted by Ho Chi Minh in 1945.
Randers
Level Contributor
276 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

It looks like the 50'es, but we missed some explanations. Who was this king, and what happened? There is only very superficial narratives.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank EnClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    171
    158
    28
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Historically interesting and worth an hour”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

As I understand it, this is where Bao Dai and his wife lived with their three children, making his last stand, trying to hold on to his monarchy as king of "western Vietnam" before he was ousted/stepped down. He also lived here with his mistress after his wife decamped to France. One guide explained to me that he left the Dalat palace and built this house because it was easier to secure. As a contemporary 20th century house, it's an interesting contrast to the traditional imperial dwellings found in and around Hue. It reminded me very much of the LBJ ranch in Texas, and was also somewhat similar to the Reunification Palace in Saigon, where South Vietnam surrendered in 1975.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good if you have the time”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The retro building and furnishing are quite interesting, but our highlight was definitely paying the small amount to dress up as the king and queen for our photo in the throne room - we looked ridiculous and could not stop laughing - especially after the large group of Vietnamese tourists came in taking our photos (we were alone originally). That definitely made it worthwhile.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank joleema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A mildly interesting diversion”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I went to photograph the architectural interiors because I've never been inside the residence of an affluent person that was built in the 1930s. Also went to shoot candids of the tourists. OK experience on both counts. Can't see others getting too excited about this place but it's close to the Crazy House, doesn't cost much so why not?

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ItDontMeanAThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too many tourist”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Too many tourist around, and many shop at the history destination! we didn't like it

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bao Dai's Palace also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Bao Dai's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing