We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful, relaxing time”

Review of Garden Bay Cruise

Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Garden Bay Cruise - Halong Bay - Overview Garden Bay Cruise - deluxe twin cabin with large window.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
76 reviews
Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Garden Bay Cruise - Halong Bay - Overview
Garden Bay Cruise - deluxe twin cabin with large window.
Garden Bay Cruise - Open Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - Private Balcony
Garden Bay Cruise - early morning taichi lesson
Garden Bay Cruise - Waiting Lounge at Hon Gai Pier
Garden Bay Cruise - Waiting lounge at Hon Gai Pier
Garden Bay Cruise - Fishing Village
Visit Surprise Cave ( Sung Sot Cave)
Visit cave with Rowing boat
Private bathroom with full- toiletry
Private bathroom with full- toiletry
Restaurant - dinning room with sea view
Garden Bay Cruise - Open sundeck with sea view
Garden Bay Cruise - Overview
Garden Bay Cruise - Morning Tai Chi Lesson on Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - Morning Tai Chi Lesson on Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - visit fishing village
Garden Bay Cruise - Including Kayaking
Garden Bay Cruise - Cooking Class
Garden Bay Cruise - Overview
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
PhilBeema...
Bellingen, Australia
1 review
“A wonderful, relaxing time”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

My wife and I, and my brother enjoyed the one night/two day cruise and would do it again. The staff were friendly and helpful, our guide had good English and was very informative. The trip to the caves was incredible as was the kayaking around the floating fishing families. The boat was great, the rooms clean and the food very very good. I would definitely recommend Halong Bay and the Marguerite Junk to any visitor to Vietnam as a relaxing and peaceful part of your trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Very relaxing
Liked least: Customers should be advised of the many stairs up into the caves, but well worth it if you are able.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth K
Mackay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I did the one night/two day cruise and we loved it. Staff were friendly and helpful, tour guide had a wealth of knowledge and could tell he loved his job. Boat was great rooms clean and food was amazing would definitely recommend everyone does this trip. Halong bay is just amazing and a highlight of our trip to Vietnam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrandmrsk...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service from everybody”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our time at Marguerite Junk 2 very much! Mr Thang the tour guide was very fluent in English and very enthusiastic in sharing with us the Vietnamese customs and cultures. Mr Tom the crew manager and his crew were very kind to give my husband a surprise birthday celebration on the boat. Last but not least, the management were responsible and ethical. We had initially booked the Marguerite Garden but as there were some issues, we had to switch to the Marguerite Junk. The management staff came to my hotel once my halong bay trip ended and responsibly returned the difference in price for the two boats and apologized for my trouble. I must say that in my week long stay at hanoi, everyone in the Marguerite staff have greatly impressed me and should I return to hanoi, I would only book my tours from them for a trustworthy, value for money and enjoyable tour.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEELIM
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“I Love It!!!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Well organised, great service, good food, fabulous amenities with free wi-fi on board. I have recommended this service to my friends and they are coming in October 2013.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall boat experience!
Liked least: Can't think of one!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HN_travel...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Boat was good but itinerary not so much”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this cruise (2 day, 1 night) through a local agent in Hanoi 2 days before we went, our boat was the Marguerite 2 and we paid $122USD pp for an ocean view room. We were lucky to get perfect weather on our trip given that it is the rainy season. The boat itself was very good, the rooms were quite nice although a little dated, in particular the bathroom but you are honestly only ever in there to sleep so it's not a big deal. The beds are rock hard though and this is something that they should definitely address. The other areas of the boat were great and the food was very good, the cocktails were also very good although a bit on the expensive side for vietnam. The thing that was annoying about this cruise was the itinerary. We got in the boat at about 12.30pm and then the afternoon was spent first visiting the surprise cave (which is very impressive and well worth a visit) with about 50 other boats, then kayaking again with about 50 other boats before visiting a very small patch of sand with about 50 other boats right at the end of the day when the sun was almost down, this small island is also undergoing massive works to construct a new wharf and has loud speakers blaring out Vietnamese at various intervals, certainly not relaxing and not what I expected of halong bay. The water was also very murky at the beach and there was a lot of rubbish. I asked the guide and apparently all the boats have to do the same route which just seems ridiculous and appears to be concentrating a lot of rubbish and tourism traffic in the same places at the same time. Also, we were told that we couldn't even lean on the handrails on the boat or the boat could get a fine, and we were also not allowed to jump off the boat, something that we had really been looking forward to. The best part was the evening once the boat had anchored and we got to relax and enjoy the area just being on the boat. All in all, the boat itself was great and halong bay was pretty spectacular but it's certainly crawling with tourists and I'm not sure the government is concentrating its efforts in the right areas. The set itineraries are not great and if i could do it again id want to try and pay more for a tour that allowed flexibility or a longer time. Also, The journey to halong bay from Hanoi is actually 4 hours each way including a 30 min stop over. And the roads for about half of it are roadworks and the conditions are not good, so bumpy that you couldn't even read a book. But again, it is definitely impressive to see so worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply magical. A great escape from the hustle and bustle of city life as time came to a standstill.”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A definite recommendation to families and groups on vacation looking for a relaxing time. The guides and staff on the junk were helpful and really did all they could to make your stay on board a pleasant one. Services provided all went the extra mile. Amenities were good and accommodation was comfortable. All in all, it was a great to experience one of the wonders of the world with the crew.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The opportunity to mingle with the other holidayers
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley4
Langley, BC
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“5 star experience, 3 star price”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We did the 2 day, 1 night Ha Long Bay cruise, and it was the highlight of our trip! From the moment we were picked up at our hotel in Hanoi, the experience was top notch. The Marguerite is well-maintained and clean. The cabins and ship exceeded our expectations. The bed in our cabin was probably the most comfortable out of all our rooms in Vietnam! The shower was phenomenal! The food was gourmet and absolutely delicious! All the excursions were timely and fun, and our guide spoke nearly perfect English. Our only complaint is that the wifi didn't work - but then again it was kind of nice to be off the grid for a couple days. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Marguerite Junk, and would stay again (and do the 3 day!!!) were we to return.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food and cabin
Liked least: Needed more time for kayaking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;