We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food ”

Blue Butterfly Restaurant & Cooking Class
Ranked #46 of 3,058 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$2
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Blue Butterfly is located inside the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter, occupying a 300-year-old two-storey wooden house that promises a highly atmospheric and enjoyable environment. Its antique architecture should be the most attractive feature of this restaurant with all the furniture made of wood, traditional antiquities and Hanoi's scenes hanging along the wall...
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We had delicious bun cha and Vietnamese pancakes here. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. Even explaining how to eat each dish. Set in the heart of the old quarter and lovely for a evening meal. It may be worth reserving ahead as they do get busy.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Tr8velbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 993 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018

Had a delicious meal (duck with tamarind) in very quaint and attractive surroundings. The live music was very pleasant, at a volume one could enjoy and have a conversation. Lovely service and very good value.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 6jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Amazing food. It was awesome to try out their modern twist on Hanoi staples that we had tried on the streets! Pickle is the man! And Stephan the manager was very helpful! They even have wine from New Zealand!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We came across this restaurant on Trip Advisor and didn’t have a reservation so were very grateful to get a table. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the restaurant has a lovely ambience. The food is delicious, as are the cocktails. The beef in bamboo was probably the best meal I ate during 2 weeks in Vietnam, it was outstanding! Value for money is also excellent. A must visit in Hanoi - highly recommended!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Mickywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

We ate at this restaurant twice while we were in Hanoi. It was within walking distance from the hotel and the walk gave us a chance to experience Hanoi nightlife. We went with a group of 8 and were seated promptly and given great service by the head waiter or manager. Most of the group chose the Hanoi Traditional Set menu. We were served a special appetizer from the restaurant and then our 5-course meal. Everything was delicious and served beautifully. We also purchased several bottles of a reasonably priced wine.

On a second visit we ordered a mango salad that was delicious and then my companion had the Grilled Bamboo Beef
(marinated thin slices of beef stuffed into a bamboo tube and grilled on charcoal then served with pepper sauce), with fried sticky rice balls and vegetables. I had the duck breast. It was cooked beautifully and very tender. The only miss of the evening was the mango with sticky rice. It was not what we expected and the sticky rice was very bland. We expected it to be sweeter.

Even with the failed dessert we loved the restaurant and would eat there again if in Hanoi.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VickiLGreenOaks_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blue Butterfly Restaurant & Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing