We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent 2 star hotel we will definitely be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Box Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Box Hotel
Ranked #179 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent 2 star hotel we will definitely be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed here with My girlfriend for 5 days ,I have booked this while I was in Hoian .when we arrived We was pleasantly surprised this was actually better than the standard that we expected a 2 stars hotel
The location is excellent and center just few minutes to Hoan kiem lake, the reception staff were excellent at speaking English and were very helpful with ha long bay . Sapa tour advice.
The rooms we stayed spacious and the beds were comfortable they were cleaned on a daily basic.
We fully recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregg318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    58
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
10
43
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We loved this hotel - the central located the beautiful room . Luxury bathroom and the in creditable service provided by the owner mr hoang and his helpful staff . They also recommended waterland hotel in hue was excellent too

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisachinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Good hotel for 15usd budget. Wifi acces. Cable tv. Fridge. Clean room with own bathroom. Really recommanded. Kind flexible. Clean. Good services. They offer us a free lift from the airport which is 30km from hanoi! 360000vnd gift. We really appreciate our 3 day stay! The place is nearby nice little restaurants in the old hanoi.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipoutch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

After staying in the hostel down the road for a few nights we were set to change rooms there when we went to Hanoi emperor to do laundry and ended up staying there for 15 bucks we had a great room double bed, tv, fridge, private bathroom
We returned many times during our travels and we returned to here even being greater to check in at 4 am. Would recommend this place to every on

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tristan1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We arrived here to a lovely welcome and we were thrilled by how hopeful the team were and with the cleanliness of the hotel. The price really cant be beat and for $25 USD we had a triple room with a newish bathroom, AC, Sky TV and it was a big size.
The location is also a highlight - we couldn't have found a better located hotel if we tried. It's in the centre of the old quarter and has the best of Hanoi at it's door step. Also only a 5 minute walk to the lake area.
The key charm is the friendly staff who are obliging and helpful with absolutely everything.
I would recommend this hotel to people who are on a budget but look for private and clean rooms that are centrally located.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

I love that place - period. Looked it up randomly in TripAdvisor and decided to give them a call while I was on my midnight train from Sapa heading to Hanoi. They even picked me up from the train station very early in the morning (5.00am) for free.

The rooms were great. For USD15 per night. Everything was well provided. Breakfast, WiFi, towels, hot shower and air-conditioning. The staff speaks good English and they have tours, motorcycles, laundry available if you need any.

I would definitely go back there if I were to return to Hanoi again!

Room Tip: Always ask about everything about the room while enquiring before committing (air-conditioned, WiFi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLynxTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in total, as a family. We had a large room with 2 double beds, there were 4 of us. The room was $25 including breakfast, so great value, Mr. Ninh is really helpful and really pleasant. Location was perfect, easy to walk to anywhere in the old quarter. We had previously stayed west of the lake but much preferred this location north of the lake. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KobiWobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.6 km away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
#171 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.5 km away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#162 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.6 km away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Gecko Hotel
Gecko Hotel
#468 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 km away
Pod Hotel
Pod Hotel
#397 of 578 in Hanoi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.4 km away
Hanoi Alibaba Hotel
Hanoi Alibaba Hotel
#481 of 578 in Hanoi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Box Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Box Hotel

Property: Box Hotel
Address: 16 Hang Buom Street | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 8443, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Emperor Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Box Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Box Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing