We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Will be staying here again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Holiday Silver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Holiday Silver Hotel
Ranked #311 of 577 Hotels in Hanoi
Adelaide
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will be staying here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We had this hotel recommended to us by a friend. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. Our room was huge and clean with air conditioning and a balcony. Was also our first hot and enclosed shower in a while. Breakfast was included and had good options and available from 6.30am -11am, they even got it ready for us early when we were flying out.

They organized a overnight trip to Halong for us which was a great tour too.

Only a five minute walk to the lake it is a great location and in a cute but busy alley way. Was a litle loud in the morning.

We organized a car to the airport with them which was a little slow taking around 50minutes, make sure you leave nice and early.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacjosh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    29
    6
    11
    7
See reviews for
21
37
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Room for 3 persons was $30 it very high when compared to the quailty of it, humiditie in room, not clean enough and no elevator. No computer in room but had wireless in hotel. The staft kindly. Breakfast is a little choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank umaporn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

DO NOT BOOK ANY TRAVEL THROUGH THESE PEOPLE.The room we stayed in was quite nice, we paid $18 US (after a price drop from 20) for a double room, had a couch, a double bed, fridge, hot water, TV, free breakfast so quite good value really. To begin with we were delighted at the manner of the staff at front desk...until we made the mistake of booking our travel through them. We were lulled into a false sense of security (admittedly stupid on our part) by the extremely 'warm' interaction with the woman at the front desk, who informed us politely that she could book anything we wanted to do in Hanoi. Great, so we booked a 2 day 1 night Halong Bay trip for $85 dollars (finding out after that most people on our boat paid around 70-75) which was alright considering we are after all, in Vietnam. She then booked us bus tickets to Sapa after telling us that our chances to buy tickets and get there at all were diminishing by the second as the bus is filling up and we really needed to buy buy buy. SO after hurredly talking about it for a few seconds we decided to get her to 'book' the tickets for us for 3 days time. We spent 30 US dollars for one way per person, so $120 all up to get there and back, which we understood at the time was expensive, which she assured us was due to the bus company hiking their prices for the TET holiday. So three days later on the night of the bus trip, we were ridden to the bus station on motorbikes, ready to go to Sapa. Upon arrival we noticed a sign on the wall that said Sapa: 280,000 VND (or $14 US). At this point we were able to laugh (as you have to sometimes) about the fact that she had taken 54% commission, all the while pretending it was the evil bus station at work. However, upon accompanying our motorbike guys into the station, we quickly realized that he had a handful of the money we had paid, and was attempting to simply buy the tickets for us then and there (the tickets we had supposedly 'booked' 3 days ago), and the ticket given to us at the room was in fact not a ticket, but a kind of (conveniently) ticket-shaped receipt only useable at the hotel. So again, we laughed, maybe through gritted teeth this time, but still we laughed. The laughing ended around the time our guy turned to us and sheepishly informed us that the bus was already in fact, full. The laughing seemed another lifetime away, as he informed us that for a $5 refund, they could seat us in the aisle (10 hour trip). After sitting around since a 12 o'clock checkout waiting for a bus until 7, only to find that we could either sit in the aisle for 10 hours for $25 US each, or return to Hanoi and book another room, which means the 7 hours we spent on the street could have been spent in a room, that was enough. What ensued was a good old 30 minute stand-off with the bloke at the front desk, as he tried to convince us that he could get a bus tomorrow, tonight, now etc. We finally got all of our money back, probably only due to the fact that we had had enough and both my partner and I are quite aggressive when need be. Long story short, DON'T buy travel through them, rooms are nice but probably just better to find another hotel as there are plenty in Hanoi that don't treat people like this.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday2Hanoi, Manager at Hanoi Holiday Silver Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear travellers,
First word,We would like to say thank you all for posting us your
reviews on this website.
It is an endless source of experience for us to make ourself better in
this hospitality business.We understand how precious your comment to
us.
This review author s travel was roughly on Tet holiday ,so overpeople on transportation is unavoidable.We had tried to arrange seat for you but it was unluckily failed.
We do appology this review s author if he felt not comfortable .And next time ,when you come to Hanoi,We hope to have a chance to serve you with our at most effort
We beleived that with an effort of our entire staff ,We will bring our
guests the most comfortable stay.
Your Best Regards,
Manager
Tony Truong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This is a great hotel. We highly recommend it for anyone visiting Hanoi. It is in a great location, the rooms a clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and professional, they went above and beyond what was expected to make our trip amazing. Highly recommend the Sapa trip they sell through their hotel. Loved our time here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miki1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Its sister hotel, Hanoi Holiday Hotel had no available rooms due to our early morning arrival into Hanoi via the Reunification Express. However, the helpful staff rang their sister hotel and transported our luggage to the Hanoi Holiday Hotel Silver and was checked into a nice, large, twin-bedded room. It even had its own little balcony where we could dry our soiled clothes (after a great time at Vinpearl Land in Nha Trang) packing it home. Staff seemed cold at first, but we soon realised that that is their characteristic way of behaving as they are very helpful and accommodating with requests. At USD23 including a breakfast set of 3 choices, free WIFI and an early check-in; the value-for-money you get here is absolutely amazing!

Room Tip: Wish to have your laundry down? Go to The Sinh Cafe just right next door where laundry is charged at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EgoTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Our family of four stayed at Hanoi Holiday Silver hotel in December 2011. While we found the hotel pretty good value for money (quiet, clean enough, breakfast acceptable), we were dismayed to find that the hotel staff cheated us on our train tickets to Danang. We were ok with the 50% commission, but on top of this the staff at the hotel insisted, after much back and forth on the phone to what appeared to be the train station, that we needed to buy five tickets for our family of four in order to have four berths in the soft sleeper SE1 to Danang, given that our two children aged 6 were entitled to half-price tickets (their logic being half price = half berth). Since we were satisfied with the hotel we had no reason to distrust their travel service (all at the receptionist desk), but we later realised we were ripped off for 60 US dollars, not counting the 50% commission we paid.

You need to be really careful with the travel service at this hotel. They use many tricks, like wrong advice, handing out valueless vouchers which look like real tickets, which are then swapped for real tickets when the train is about to leave and it´s too late to complain. The staff accompanied us all the way to the trainstation into the carriage, so you don´t get your ticket till the last moment when the hotel staff zooms off before you have a chance to look at the real tickets etc.

I have told the hotel what I think of this situation, and while I hope they improve, I really think you´d better not use their travel service if you can at all avoid it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inge n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in total all staff were friendly and helpful at all times and could not do enough for us no matter what. We booked our trip to halong bay direct with hotel as offered excellent service and price. Rooms are good value money and in good condition, great location to explore city. Would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone and will stay again when I next vist Hanoi.
Thank you to all the staff :)))

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveggod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 km away
Luxury Hotel
Luxury Hotel
#96 of 577 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.0 km away
Especen Hotel
Especen Hotel
#180 of 577 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.0 km away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#112 of 577 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#159 of 577 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 km away
The Landmark Hanoi Hotel
The Landmark Hanoi Hotel
#251 of 577 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.6 km away
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
#172 of 577 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Holiday Silver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Holiday Silver Hotel

Property: Hanoi Holiday Silver Hotel
Address: 9A /10 Ngo Huyen str.., | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 577 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Holiday Silver Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Silver Hotel, 9A/10 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, is located near Hoan Kiem Lake, the heart of Hanoi, one street from St. Joseph’s Cathedral in an area offering a wide choice of excellent Western style and Vietnamese restaurants. On the edge of Hanoi’s Old Town of Thirty-Six Streets, the hotel is surrounded by colourful shops selling silk, lacquer, wood and stone sculpture, one block from Hanoi’s Silk Street.Centrally located in the heart of downtown, the Holiday Silver boutique hotel is a short walk from the famous Old Quarter and the city's bustling business district. Just a few steps out of the hotel you can explore the best of Hanoi's architectural gems and walk along to experience the wonderful flavour local food, night market, shopping. Holiday Silver hotel has 32 beautiful and spacious rooms with nice view of Hoan Kiem lake.. In Holiday Silver Hotel, it is equipped with all amenities that you expect: air - conditioning, international standard elevator, internet ADSL, cable T.V, minibar and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hanoi Holiday Silver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing