We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Boutique hotel for low price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Ranked #97 of 574 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel for low price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This lovely modern stylish hotel lies in one of the best areas to explore beautiful Hanoi. Hisbiscus hotel is just designed right with plenty of space, modern furniture, flat screen TV and very good beds to sleep in. The price is very reasonable for such a good standard. The owner is very nice and can help with making good choices for tours and sightseeing. We definitely will come back. Book in advance and ask for rooms with balcony to the street.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    84
    23
    2
    11
See reviews for
28
138
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Located in an alleyway (so less street noise) in a district with plenty of small restaurants and tour agencies. The alleyway itself is a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem lake, and an easy (10-20 minute) walk to a number of attractions (the Women's Museum, the 'Hanoi Hilton', the Ethnology Museum..).

This is a small hotel run by warm, competent staff who are always interested in your plans and able to offer advice.

My Junior Suite room had a small balcony overlooking the alley, a large, very comfortable bed with pristine linen, a good shower with plenty of hot water, plasma TV with a good range of channels, and a mini-bar with products sold at street prices (around 50 cents for a beer or soft-drink).

The room was immaculately cleaned everyday, and breakfast (eggs, toast, fruit and coffee) was cooked to order each morning.

I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel, I do point however to a bit of a mis-match between what my room featured and what the hotel advertises on its own website - floors were tiled, not wooden, there was no alarm clock, safe or scales in the room as advertised, nor a daily fruit platter! My Agoda site also pointed to a bathtub and bathrobes which didnt exist.

It's a shame to see these discrepancies in an otherwise excellent hotel.

Tip: after spending a couple of weeks in Hanoi, I learnt a couple of things:

1) most hotels will arrange an airport pick-up (and drop-off) for you for the price of a taxi (btw 17-20 dollars for the 45 minute drive) - a driver will meet you at the airport with a sign bearing your name and take you to the hotel - this avoids any fear of taxi scams and just makes arriving and leaving so much easier.

2) Some of the locals told me about tour agencies in the area who will sell tours then 'close' for a few days, leaving tourists without their tours. They take the gamble knowing that many tourists can't stick around to follow them up. I am sure there are plenty of tour agents that are fine in Hanoi, but if your hotel offers you a fair price for a tour, might as well take it!

3) Catching a train in Vietnam is about the same price as a flight to a particular destination. Vietnam's trains are NOT luxurious, and in my experience, the discomfort level quickly removes any sense of adventure....if you are in a hurry, or are a fussy traveller, avoid!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Hibiscus hotel and Dong (the gorgeous owner) made my stay in Hanoi a very enjoyable experience. The minute I walked in the door I was greeted by a big smile from Dong and the staff. They made everything from checking in to booking trips a breeze. The comfy and clean rooms and well equipped bathrooms (not so plentiful in Hanoi!) gave a great retreat to the bustling streets just outside. The breaky is great, definately gave us a good kick start to the day. The location is ideal, right amongst all the great energy of Hanoi and just walking distance to great resturants and sights in the Old Quarter. We found there to be so much more value for the very affordable price. I would definately recommend staying at Hibiscus. I know that we will definately be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fleurkilpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We are traveling with our children and were nervous of Hanoi and its reputation for chaos. The reputation is true ( for about 24hrs till you get used to it), what made the first 24 hrs manageale was the staff at Hibiscus and especially the owner. They booked our trips and made us feel comfortable and safe. I am not saying you are getting a bargain, but this place is brilliant if you want hassle free comfort and cleanliness. The owner even went camera shopping with us as she did not want us to get lost. She walked a couple of miles with us which is service above and beyond.

If you are on a grown up trek or looking for a bit more you will find it hard to do better. I have never written a review before and this is my small way to say thanks for making life just that little bit better.

Room Tip: Front is full of light back is dark but very quiet which in a noisy city is great. We had 106 in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We staid there 3 nights and we loved it! Perfect location, no cars in the street, close to everything! If I have to go again to Hanoi, for sure I will stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elephant_l0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Throughout my stay in Vietnam there was one thing in particular that i looked for in hotels and guesthouse's. THIS PLACE HAS IT! That friendly smile and welcoming atmosphere, with staff that feel like long lost friends, it is one of those things that money can't buy!

It is refreshing to come home to some genuine friendly faces after a day wandering the streets, constantly getting hassled by people trying to sell you stuff that you don't want.

Dong the owner is there from the moment you check-in to the moment you check-out.

This hotel will compete with the likes of the Hanoi Hilton in terms of room's, with great big king beds, good showers, and most important very well cleaned.

Breakfast is great and if you are lucky Dong will be there ready when you wake up to cook it for you, or if you feel like something different there are plenty of street vendors close by with lots of delicious options.

The location of the hotel is perfect, 5 minute walk to the western side of the Hoan Kiem lake, just around the corner from the cathedral. If you have been to Hanoi before it is next door to the Hanoi Backpackers hostel! Everything is within walking distance.

I will defiantly be back here soon!

Room Tip: No lift so lower to the ground floor is easier, but the hotel is only 4 story, so the 4th floor isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shartley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed at Ms. Dong's Hibiscus Hotel for 5 days when I was in Hanoi. It was a great experience! I travel a lot for work and I mostly book after reading people's reviews. This is your 'Home away from Home' place in Hanoi. Great central location, clean and tidy rooms, and most of all, very professional and friendly staff. Ms. Dong and her staff are super nice and super helpful. Highly recommended.

Thanks
Sivan

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 km away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#91 of 574 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.7 km away
Green Diamond Hotel
Green Diamond Hotel
#135 of 574 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.9 km away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#52 of 574 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
#55 of 574 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.6 km away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#151 of 574 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.8 km away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#80 of 574 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel

Property: Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Address: 52 Ngo Huyen Str | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 574 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in September 2011, this hotel in an addition to the Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel providing fine accommodation as part of our Hanoi Cozy Hotel chain. Conveniently situated in the heart of Hanoi, the Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel just 150 meters from the famous Hoan Kiem Lake and within walking distance of many tourist attractions such as the Ngoc Son Temple, the Hanoi Opera House, the Thang Long Water Puppet Theatre and the special atmosphere of Hanoi’s Old Quarter.Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel offers affordable, luxurious accommodation in an authentic Vietnamese neighbourhood. Rooms are furnished with wooden floor and state-of-the-art facilities. All rooms feature bathrooms and shower, hair dryer, and IDD telephone. Hotel services: currency exchange, laundry, and tour information.Just a few steps out of the Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel hotel you can explore the best of Hanoi's architectural gems and walk along to experience the wonderful flavour local food, night market, and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing