We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
344
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townmr jackmr quanbreakfast buffet had a goodreal credit to the hotelbar streetvibrant streetcalm oasishalong bayrestaurant staff arefabulous boutique hotelcalled receptionslap bang in the middlestar standardprevious hotelfabulous stayvietnam adventure
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 351 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

The Essence is situated perfectly for a stay in Hanoi. A short walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and right on Beer Street.
The hotel and staff are a great contrast to the hustle and bustle of the streets outside.
We stayed here on a recommendation from a friend and would certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

This hotel is an oasis of calm amidst the frenetic pace of the old French quarter in Hanoi. It is within walking distance of all the sites, museums etc. The decor was in muted greys with plush olive sofas, lovely lightening and art work (including African) which reflects its French roots and an owner with artistic fair. We stayed there for two nights either side of a two day trip to Halong Bay. The hotel stored our luggage and valuables during our trip. The reception staff were exceptionally welcoming and professional. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the chef could accommodate gluten free and the waitresses were very loving and caring. The rooms were very comfortable with a really large bed, the decor was in the same muted greys with an olive velvet headboard. The accomodation and restaurant were all excellent value for money for the quality and standard. I will definitely stay there again when I return to Hanoi for a trip to Sapa

Room Tip: Recommend a room at the back or on the top floors away from street noise
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

We stayed at the Essence Hanoi Hotel and Spa from 29th March to 30th March and from 31st march to 1st April. The faced and entrance are simplistic but when you enter the hotel, it immediately gives you a feeling of clam and comfort. We had requested for a room on the higher floors to avoid the noise from the busy street and we were given one on the 9th floor. Unfortunately, the lift is only upto the 8th floor and we requested for a change. In a short while they found us a room on the 4th floor, but in a different wing. This one appears to be older and you have a standing shower in place of a bath tub.
The check in staff members were very courteous, efficient and helpful. Cindy drew out a map showing the various attractions and the route and suggested what we could do . The staff members at the restaurant were also friendly and solicitous. The restaurant is small but the ambience is good and the food delicious and the price reasonable!
Every time we returned to the hotel we were received with a smile and we haven't felt so welcome anywhere else.
We had booked the Halong Bay Cruise through the hotel and we left most of our luggage at the hotel.
We were truly amazed by the speed of service. When we asked for some coffee and milk for use in the room, a smiling person was at the door almost as soon as I put down the phone.
The breakfast buffet had a good variety and the staff would quietly advise you on contents of the dishes. There was separate menu for eggs, pancake and the like which were prepared to your taste.
When we returned from the cruise, my wife came down with a stomach cramp, caused perhaps by the shrimps that we had at lunch on board. One of the persons at the reception asked us to relax at the lobby and within a few minutes she was provided with a warm cup of ginger tea with lemon grass which is reported to be a good treatment for stomach cramp. he got the details of the cruise boat so that he could inform the cruise company about the after effects of the lunch
We were told that there were two rooms available in each wing but he advised us to take the one in the wing away from the main street and with a bath tub. It was Saturday night and the street outside is filled with low chairs for make shift cafes and beer bars. It was certainly noisy but the room was quiet.
The staff is the USP of the hotel. It is difficult to name any one person but Cindy, Grace and Ha at the reception and Thuy and Roxianne at the restaurant were truly outstanding.
The hotel car to the airport was delayed by a few minutes and Grace was apologetic and arranged for a cup iced coffee and warm coffee for us. The delay was all of ten minutes!!
We felt touched when Cindy and Ha came with the bellboy to the car to see us of with their smiling faces.
I wouldn't mind returning to Hanoi if only to stay at this hotel with wonderful staff and excellent service.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank kerindsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Don't hesitate to book here perfect hotel well worth 5*! Jack on reception went out of his way to make our stay as perfect as it could be ensuring anything we wished for was taken care of! Rooms were extremely comfortable and reminded me of the decor of the 5* NED Hotel in London. Breakfast was great and the best coffee I have had in the whole of Vietnam. We have also stayed at their partner hotel O'Gallery Premier Spa which is 5 minutes up the road - also a great hotel but the Essence hotel feels slightly more luxurious with a nicer breakfast offering and experience.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

We over nighted here off a cruise ship from Halong Bay to save the 2.5 road trip each way to Hanoi each day - too much wasted time. We used HTS or Hanoi Travel Service for transport to and from port and our tours over the 2 days while in Hanoi - punctual, efficient and good English speaking guides.
The hotel was built back in the French colonial era but has been completely restored and redecorated in the Indochine style - tres chic. The front desk staff were above and beyond helpful for any request and the welcoming iced tea and orientation chat on arrival very welcoming. It's right in the centre of the old French Quarter and easy walking distance to everywhere in that area which we found out from our walking tours that stared and ended at hotel. There's a good buffet breakfast and at night the streets and laneways come alive with pop up restaurants and bars to suit all.
The hotel organised a private street food dining experience for us which was fabulous. we stopped after 6 tastings but there are more included if you have the capacity. The room and bathroom were spacious enough for an overnight stay and the dark wood furniture and floors couple with Vietnamese decoration was just great.
It probably comes up as a 4 star hotel, but i'm giving it an excellent rating when aligned with the ridiculously cheap A$120 per night charge for B&B. 9/10 value.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetsDoCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews