We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night cruise”
Review of Paloma Cruise

Paloma Cruise
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Half-Day Hanoi Motorbike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Paloma is your home while you has cruised Halong Bay. You will insist on it being an unforgettable experience: her exquisite luxury, intimate setting and unrivalled home from home service. An amazing way to witness the serene, calm setting of Halong Bay’s exceptional natural beauty on the best Halong Bay Best Cruise. The hospitable crew on board is ready to welcome you with a memorable stay on one of the well-appointed cabins. Spread over 4 decks she has 16 en-suite fully equipped luxury cabins, a bar with soft seating and smart TV, gourmet restaurant, outside dining area, sundeck and luxury spa.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Great way to see Halong Bay. Lots of boat trips to choose from but I’d definitely recommend this one. The staff were knowledgeable,helpful and friendly. All very well organised. The food was great too!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank crw39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halong P, Owner at Paloma Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Mr/Ms crw39

Lovely greeting from Paloma Cruise Team,

Thank you very much for taking time to write this nice review for our cruise. We are more than happy that the staff, the foods as well the well- prepared for you. You know your satisfaction in the tour is always the important award that we try to reach.

Once again, thank you very much. Wish you all the best with good health, continuing success and abundance of joys.

Yours Sincerely,

Paloma Cruise Team,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fishing village"
in 53 reviews
"family suite"
in 20 reviews
"one night"
in 53 reviews
"halong bay"
in 263 reviews
"squid fishing"
in 39 reviews
"top deck"
in 33 reviews
"bbq lunch"
in 8 reviews
"pearl farm"
in 25 reviews
"tai chi"
in 30 reviews
"private deck"
in 6 reviews
"sunset party"
in 12 reviews
"bai tu long bay"
in 27 reviews
"cave visit"
in 15 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 13 reviews
"every meal"
in 14 reviews
"two nights"
in 17 reviews
"night stay"
in 10 reviews
Filter

46 - 50 of 791 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

This was a fantastic choice for a cruise. We were advised to spend a bit more on the Halong Bay cruise and the Palpma really gave us our money's worth.
The cabins were comfortable with lovely showers nice beds. The food was amazing and there was a lot of it. They catered for different food requirements it was all beautifully served.
The staff were friendly and helpful and made the trip really enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble.
The trio includes plenty to do at no extra charge - visit to a cave, kayaking, visit to a fishing village and cooking demonstrations.
Drinks were the only extras to pay for - they were pricey for Vietnam, but not unreasonable, and there was plenty of free water.
I also had a manicure which was lovely and cost $15
And the scenery us STUNNING.
I'd highly recommend this cruise. It was really great.

Thank Retail_Therapy_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halong P, Owner at Paloma Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Mr/Ms Retail_Therapy_72

Sweet greeting from Paloma Cruise team,

Thank you very much for giving us a nice compliment, we are really happy that our service made you trip to Ha Long Bay memorable.
We find that such a great honor to bring you special experience and many unforgettable time in the tour with many delicious food, our conscientious staff and especially the wonderful view of Ha Long Bay.

All best wishes to you from Paloma Cruise Team.

Best regards,
Paloma Cruise Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

We did the 2 night tour and were not disappointed. The room was spacious (for a boat). It was clean. The staff was most welcoming. Mr. Huang was there to check with every guest to make sure their needs were taken care of. The kayaking was especially fun to see the sights up close. The trip to the fishing village was very colorful and interesting to learn how the fishermen live. The food was fantastic and did not disappoint. Thank you Mr. Huang and your entire staff.

Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halong P, Owner at Paloma Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Dear Mr Daniel,

Warmest salutation from Paloma Cruise Team,

Thank you so much for your time to write us these lovely words, we are more than happy to know you all had a wonderful trip with our cruise. We know best our mission is to bring our beloved guests special memories for their stay, and we are pleased that our service met your expectation.

Once again thank you very much, we are looking forward to serving soon again.

Paloma Cruise Team,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

After doing hours of research, we chose Paloma and it was truly an amazing experience. Mr. Hoang went out of his way to make sure that our 6 year old daughter was happy at all times. He and his team provided a memorable experience and deserve a raise:) Our family suite room appeared to be the best suite as the balcony was a great place to relax with wonderful views. The food was some of the best we had on our entire trip and the activities were great for the whole family. We originally had booked 2 nights, but unfortunately had to cut our trip short due to a family emergency. Mr. Hoang and his team were so helpful in making arrangements to get us back to Hanoi. Thank you Paloma Cruise!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank CEFSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halong P, Owner at Paloma Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Dear Mr/Ms CEFSeattle

Sincerest greeting from Halong Paloma Cruise,

Thank you so much for choosing Halong Paloma Cruise and for sharing your value comment on your recent stay with us.

It is always encouraging for us to know that you are satisfied with our good service, especially incredibly devoted staff. We have already shared your kind comments with Paloma Team as well as Mr Hoang and they were also thrilled by your complimets. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon for your next stay in Halong Bay.

Wish you all the best!

Yours Sincerely,

Paloma Cruise Team,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile

Overall our cruise was extremely average and in some key aspects very much below average.

The attendants online were extremely helpful as we upgraded our room to a Family Suite with massive balcony. We did the 2D 1N tour and paid approx. $550 USD (12,500,000 VND) for the family suite. This is a lot of money to be spending for less than 22 hours “on” the boat.

The timeframe from pick up to first meal is quite long and we were getting extremely hungry. Some snacks at the port would have been extremely nice.

Once on the boat, we had a beautiful room and really, that was the best part of our trip! Our room was amazing thanks to the balcony. Slightly run-down with the air-con box falling from the ceiling and bathroom paneling falling off but still beautiful.

The first lunch was okay but the chicken dish with sour sauce was nearly inedible.

Activities were okay, slightly cheesy but enjoyable non the less. The main enjoyment was he local floating village and pearl farm. That was definitely the highlight.

We brought water for the boat and thankfully we did. They give you a bottle each in your room and bottles for first activity but that’s it. No more, everything else they make you pay for and aren’t considerate about it at all.

The staff started out extremely friendly and kind showing that they cared and wanting to help but that quickly started to go down hill throughout our 20-22 hours with Paloma.

In the evening we ordered drinks during happy hour (buy two get one free). Two of the drinks were piña coladas and they weren’t blended.. We asked the waitress if she could blend them and she simply replied “no” and walked away even though they had a blender.

That same evening during he sunset party we started having a very nice conversation with our guide. He seemed really interested in US and talking with the travelers. We spent about 30min talking with him and it was excellent until the end. He nicely made a point to very openly state that he isn’t included in the tips that the staff get and that he doesn’t get tips at all. It became very awkward and uncomfortable... We spent $550 USD (12,500,000 VND) on this cruise and are now getting talked to for more money. The next morning we overheard the exact same speech being told to another group and felt very awkward. We got up and went to another part of the ship...

When we checked out and went to pay our drinks they were full price on the bill and not the happy hour we were told. A beer we ordered was also 20,000 VND more than we had been told it was. I told them that we were told it was happy hour and he said “happy hour is between 5-7pm” and I said “yes, that’s when we drank..” they spent a few minutes talking then changed the bill... We didn’t even bother asking about the beer. It was all extremely awkward especially considering the VERY large amount we paid for this cruise in comparison to Vietnam standards.

Last straw was the water situation. Every meal we weren’t served water we had to bring our own or buy it. Luckily we had brought our own! Before getting off the boat and after brunch we were out of water, had just eaten, and thirsty. We asked the crew nicely for some water and they gave us three bottles. We sat down and patiently waited to get back to shore. A staff member then came over and said “so you need to pay for those”. We just handed the water back...

For the price we paid the hospitality was extremely subpar.

Once you arrive in Hanoi every travel agency offers Halong Bay cruises from $65 USD - $150 USD / person. I met someone who did a local booking and said he had an amazing time. If we had paid $200-$300 for this I would be okay with the level of customer service received but for the price we paid it was completely unacceptable.

Our recommendation is to wait until you get to Hanoi to book and do some research on the $85-$120 cruises they have advertised. Pick the best looking one and enjoy saving money and a similar if not better experience.

4  Thank Walker L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paloma Cruise also viewed

 

Been to Paloma Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing