We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, clean, value-for-money option”
Review of Phan Lan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phan Lan Hotel
Ranked #18 of 874 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
315 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A good, clean, value-for-money option”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We found this hotel via Hostelbookers. It had good reviews and seemed to be in a convenient location and it lived up to its description. Rooms were good and clean, the breakfast was basic but good (coffee unlimited, which is important for me!) and the girl on reception couldn't have been more helpful. We booked a trip to The Cao Dai Temple and Cu-chi Tunnels through the hotel and I would recommend that trip and this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJHDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    97
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
72
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
494 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We came across this place as the sister hotel 2 our 1st choice which was full.
Escorted 2 here with manager, showed us room, price etc .
Very happy good clean , safe secure, Bfast ok, staff helpful with maps n etc.
Quiet room no prob Wud recommend

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We got moved to this hotel after the place next door had no rooms available and we ended up liking it more!
The room was great, spacious and comfortable with a good bathroom but what really made the stay so great was the lady at reception! She was young and knowledgable, helped us organise our rooms in different cities and recommended some great places in Saigon.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kek2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The hotel is located right in the middle of Old Quarter, couple of minutes from the Green Lake and shoping areas in the midst of small shops and street fod vendors. The main feature of the hotel is the staff - attentive, smiling, but genuinely, always there to help and making sure that everything is OK. A lot of examples can be given - fom the moment we checked it which was 930 and tehy did everything possible to arrange the rooms as quickly as possible giving us a free breaksfast in the meantime; arranged all our trips and allowed you to store all your luggage while on the trips even though we were not checking in afterwards, offering us a room to refresh and take shower when we showed up. Rooms are clean, full of features compared to the price your end up paying - from the desktop PC and DVD in the room to the standar slippers, weights, bathtub and for the first time in our trip you do not need to use your keys as an electricity switch so you can charge your spare bateries while out;). The hotel itself is in a tubular house so majority of the rooms are without dirct sunlight so if you prefer such ask the hotel in advance to book one for you.
We felt at home especially when the staff start addressing us on first names the second time we showed up at their desk! Love you guys!-)

Room Tip: Ask for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilttleBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed every moment. Room was large and clean. Situated in a side street of Pham Ngu Lao, it was quiet in the morning. Breakfast is included in the price, nothing fancy but nonetheless provides a good start for the day.But what really impressed us was the friendliness and desire to help from the staff. They answered every question we made and recommended us a good bus operator to Phnom Penh.

Will stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannieandYianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

new, clean rooms in quiet dead end. still in the heart of the backpackers' area. friendly and helpful staff. well worth a stay if u come to HCMC.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fralmsch12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This hotel is located in the backpackers' area in HCMC which makes it superbly accessible (walking distance!) to what a backpacker simply needs: active bars at night (literally in front your hotel but noise is still minimized once you get into your rooms), convenient stores (theres' ministop 20 steps away from hotel), books and clothing stores, etc.

1. the hotel has an STA travel agency office located in its lobby, which makes it convenient to book cheap tours within or outside the HCMC
2. most of the buses that will bring you to tours are walking distance from the hotel
3. Good wifi connection down to your room whichever your room is
4. Really nice staff, you'll feel the Asian hospitality in this place (they'll get you cabs, reserve resto's,etc-->I know these are expected of hostels but the people here do it sincerely and with a smile!)
5. Rooms are clean and the space is good enough for what you pay for, they change bath towels DAILY.

p.s. we stayed there during NYE and would you believe they were kind enough to serve NYE dinner with some drinks!

Its my 2nd time to HCMC when i went here during the holidays (Dec 29-31). If i'm gonna be back on a backpacking mode to HCMC, this place tops my list!

Room Tip: Rooms are good and comfy, but you may want to avoid the rooms on the 1st floor as mornings could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agentblue101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 km away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#28 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,168 reviews
0.1 km away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#32 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,972 reviews
0.0 km away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#106 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#56 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
527 reviews
0.3 km away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#47 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,513 reviews
2.3 km away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#33 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phan Lan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phan Lan Hotel

Property: Phan Lan Hotel
Address: 6 283, Pham Ngu Lao Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 874 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Phan Lan Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Phan Lan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing