We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rooms, Good Price, Great Location”
Review of Phan Lan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phan Lan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 913 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Rooms, Good Price, Great Location”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Booked through Hostelworld, where the map shows the wrong location. I was concerned that place would be hard to find, but the location where the bus from Phnom Penh dropped us was just very close to the alley (clean and well lit - lots of hotels/hostels here) leading to Phan Lan 2. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms OK - AC worked fine. Shower was good, but managed to spray most of the bathroom when in use - these one room toilets and showers are pretty common in Cambodia and Vietnam.

Room Tip: Not too noisy anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    99
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
75
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A friend and I stayed here for 4 nights after arriving at Luan Vu to find our room unsuitable and Phan Lan Hotel is owned by the same family.
At first we were unsure, the room was a little on the small side and more simple than we were expecting. But it was spotlessly clean (came back one time to find the beds in the hallway and the cleaning lady scrubbing the floors beneath them).
All staff were very friendly and spoke great English and able to answer any queries we had.
The location is great, close to Bui Vien (main backpacker street) but still able to quickly escape to nearby parks if you want a change of pace from the local hubbub.
Only criticism is the room was small and then air conditioner noisy. We also found that the bathroom had no soap and there is very little space for 2 people to store clothes if staying more than a few nights.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fward88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at the start of my Vietnam travels. It's super convenient for the bus from Phnom Penh as it's in an alley just yards from where the bus stops and in a good area where every building is either a hotel, a bar, a cafe or a tour booking shop.
The staff were helpful and friendly and assisted in booking coach tickets and tours when requested. While the room and decor were never going to win any prizes for interior design it had all I required, a decent bed, a/c, cable tv and fridge. Both the room, bathroom and linen where clean as well. The free breakfast is decent enough, fresh baguette, jam and butter and if you want an omlette, served with, juice, coffee and fruit.
The wifi was a little patchy but if it drops out you can use the hotels next door as it's not passworded!

HCMC is a great city, just watch your step when crossing the road (or even walking down the pavement). Forget the green cross code, look left, right, left, right, up, down, left and right again as those crazy vietnamese will come at you on a scooter from any direction. There are 7 million motorbiles in Saigon, more than people that live in the whole of Laos, and they all seem like they are trying to run you over.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We found this hotel via Hostelbookers. It had good reviews and seemed to be in a convenient location and it lived up to its description. Rooms were good and clean, the breakfast was basic but good (coffee unlimited, which is important for me!) and the girl on reception couldn't have been more helpful. We booked a trip to The Cao Dai Temple and Cu-chi Tunnels through the hotel and I would recommend that trip and this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJHDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We came across this place as the sister hotel 2 our 1st choice which was full.
Escorted 2 here with manager, showed us room, price etc .
Very happy good clean , safe secure, Bfast ok, staff helpful with maps n etc.
Quiet room no prob Wud recommend

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We got moved to this hotel after the place next door had no rooms available and we ended up liking it more!
The room was great, spacious and comfortable with a good bathroom but what really made the stay so great was the lady at reception! She was young and knowledgable, helped us organise our rooms in different cities and recommended some great places in Saigon.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kek2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The hotel is located right in the middle of Old Quarter, couple of minutes from the Green Lake and shoping areas in the midst of small shops and street fod vendors. The main feature of the hotel is the staff - attentive, smiling, but genuinely, always there to help and making sure that everything is OK. A lot of examples can be given - fom the moment we checked it which was 930 and tehy did everything possible to arrange the rooms as quickly as possible giving us a free breaksfast in the meantime; arranged all our trips and allowed you to store all your luggage while on the trips even though we were not checking in afterwards, offering us a room to refresh and take shower when we showed up. Rooms are clean, full of features compared to the price your end up paying - from the desktop PC and DVD in the room to the standar slippers, weights, bathtub and for the first time in our trip you do not need to use your keys as an electricity switch so you can charge your spare bateries while out;). The hotel itself is in a tubular house so majority of the rooms are without dirct sunlight so if you prefer such ask the hotel in advance to book one for you.
We felt at home especially when the staff start addressing us on first names the second time we showed up at their desk! Love you guys!-)

Room Tip: Ask for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilttleBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 km away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#28 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,185 reviews
0.0 km away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#105 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
789 reviews
0.2 km away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#34 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
506 reviews
0.5 km away
Town House 50 Saigon
Town House 50 Saigon
#3 of 913 in Ho Chi Minh City
522 reviews
0.1 km away
Saigon Inn Hotel
Saigon Inn Hotel
#4 of 913 in Ho Chi Minh City
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phan Lan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phan Lan Hotel

Property: Phan Lan Hotel
Address: 6 283, Pham Ngu Lao Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Phan Lan Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Phan Lan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing