We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place that feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ma Maison Boutique Hotel
Ranked #16 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place that feels like home”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

A family run hotel that is quaint and pleasant to stay. Located away from District 1 and hidden in one of the back alleys; from the main streets... it offers a quiet environment away from the bustle of the city. A taxi ride is needed to get to and from the city center. The service offered by the staff/owner was great and they offered all the assistance that we needed during our short stay. I felt it was more like a home stay. So do not expect any kind of facilities like swimming pools or a gym from this hotel. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to experience something different from the usual hotels, for people who enjoy some quiet after a day in the city. Certainly a lot of effort was put into this hotel to make it as comfortable as it is.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jujutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    115
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
54
327
46
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This quaint B&B is fantastic. I cannot recommend it enough. I am quite picky when it comes to hotels but I couldn't fault it one bit. From the moment we arrived, we walked down the alley towards the hotel and saw local life, children playing in the street all waved and said hello. It is in a very friendly area. The staff were friendly, attentive and very helpful. The room was gorgeous, we got a free upgrade to a deluxe room too. The rooms and entire hotel is immaculately clean. Because we arrived late at night and were too tired to go out to a restaurant they offered to make us some eggs or toast. Breakfast was huge, I could never finish it all. Their noodle soup is a very big portion or you can have eggs with a whole baguette each! Plus you get fruit, yoghurt etc. You will not go hungry here!

When we wanted to book trips the owner told us to go to Sinh Tourist which is the most famous travel agent in town and very cheap. He wrote the name and address in Vietnamese on a piece of paper for us to show to the taxi driver. This makes life easier as the taxi drivers generally cannot understand English. We got a full day trip to Cu Chi Tunnels and Cao Dai temple for about £6 each.

I found the location no problem, just got a taxi into Saigon for only £2 ish and the ride is a fun experience watching all the motorbikes whizzing around. Only took about 15 minutes. Some people moan that there is no lift but this is a bed and breakfast guest house more than a hotel. It is a house so what do you expect, I don't have a lift in my house! I was very impressed by all the help and advice the staff gave us. They told us what we should expect to pay so we didn't get ripped off and gave us unlimited iced tea, coffee etc which was a welcome reward after a long day walking around the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Well arrived at Saigon at midnight, held up in customs then finally came out to be greeted by the driver after waiting 2 hours was warm and welcoming and pleased we arrived safely. After the drive from the airport stop out front of the sign for the hotel, meet by one of the staff at 2am walked through some narrow streets then came across the Ma Maison. Helped out and were quickly into bed, could not have been more helpfull.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Came to this hotel based on all the great reviews on tripadvisor and were so happy we did.
cute small hotel with nicest manager ever that can and will help you with every request.
ok ok maybe the location is a bit off the center but hey a cabride is cheap and this hotel is worth it. great service and advise by the staff and a nice clean room. felt like a stay at a family house. Since the hotel is so small had nice conservations with other guests something that doesnt happen so fast at bigger hotels.
if we ever have the chance to visit Ho Tsji Minhstad again, we will sleep here again.

ps: tried a lot of Pho Bo during our trip in Vietnam and actually loved the one you can get at breakfast here best so a must try!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexbdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

It was just perfect! room was very clean nicely furnished, breathtaking view. Beautiful peaceful location and not far from the center. During our 3 day stay, we walked to the City every single day. Such a wonderful experience. The hotel rates are definitely value for money. The room was clean and well kept, good size, well laid out, and well presented,though lacked some of the amenities we have come to expect from 4 star hotels such as toothbrushes and combs. The food was great including the Vietnamese restaurant. In summary a really fantastic hotel with first class service; an oasis in the city. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 887kasandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

First of all, it's fair to say that if you don't have an idea about how Ho chi minh city is, you will be dissapointed when you arrive at the hotel. After a while and a look around, you find hotel is one of the best spots you can find.
Truth is the hotel is located in a residential area, and that doesent mean the residential areas we can imagine in other cities. Most of the streets in Ho chi minh are narrow or alleys, excepting the avenues. To get to this hotel you have to enter into one of those narrow and twisted streets without sidewalk and it doesent give a good impression. Once into the hotel, you will find it very nice and clean, with very nice decoration and calm ambient. It is one of the very few french buildings that still exist in town.
There is no elevator and rooms are in the upper levels, so you have to use stairs. This hotel is family managed and it gives vantages and disadvantages at the same time. i was a solo traveller and Natasha's uncle could be a little bit busybody. No room service and if people stay talking at reception or living room in the night, you can hear the entire conversation from your room on the second floor.
On the other side, they're polite, and willing to provide information or call taxis.
Location: it's about 3 km from down town and traffic can be very busy as cars can only run the main streets. Personally i took motos even though staff insisted with the taxis. If you stay at this hotel is very difficult to make a stop to return and refresh yourself in the middle of the day, so you have to consider that you will probably be out all day.
After all, and taking in account what Ho Chi Minh has to offer, i think would have been better to stay just one night and at a centrally located hotel, which have standard decoration but half rates.
I don't rate this hotel as average cause 55 dollars for a single room (and my room had really one only bed) is a lot of money in Vietnam for a hotel that is just bed and (poor) breakfast.
I look for ambience and confort while travelling, but in this case, even though this property is beautiful, i think , for all the other reasons mentioned, was not a good option.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank south_east2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We arrived quite late and were greeted warmly by Natashia and her uncle ( Nu, sorry if the spelling is incorrect). We were given a welcome drink and a local map and advised of the the local attractions. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay and the move was made effortless. Both rooms were absolutly immaculate,( I couldn't fault a single thing) with the use of very good quality bed linen and a high standard of furnishings. The hotel has been beautifully renovated to a very high standard with a distinct french feel. There was a very good choice for breakfast and everything was made to order, the home made yogurt ( made fresh the night before was excellent). All the staff were very, very helpful arranging taxis, dinner reservations etc... one of the ladies even went out to purchase us a sim card for our phone. But here is where the " 6 STAR" service comes in. On our way to the airport ( flying to Ho An) I accidently left a small cool bag on the bag seat of the taxi containing medication.( which by the way needed to be kept cool). We rang Natashia and explained what had happened, and if she could find the taxi driver ( keep the medication cool) and post the bag on to our address in Ho An. When we arrived in Ho An, I rang and spoke to Natashia, she told me that the driver and been located and one of the staff had travelled by motor bike to collect the bag from the taxi driver, as he was now on another job. The parcel arrived at the post office in Ho An the next day, in a polystyrine box filled with ice and the medication still cool. When I rang to thank Natashia for all her help and to ask the cost of I owed, I was told " NOTHING" and that is was all part of the service. WOW! Thank you once again Natashia for all of your help. Even without this incident I could not recommend highly enough a stay in this beautiful boutique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelled039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 km away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#19 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
843 reviews
4.7 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,531 reviews
7.8 km away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#5 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,280 reviews
4.1 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,500 reviews
3.6 km away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#14 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ma Maison Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Maison Boutique Hotel

Property: Ma Maison Boutique Hotel
Address: 656/52 Cach Mang Thang Tam Street | Ward 11, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 0084, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ma Maison Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short alley from the main Cach Mang Thang Tam Street, Ma Maison Boutique Hotel caters to demanding clients of long-term expats and French art aficionados. Located in a local labor area where Vietnamese daily real life can be reflected in its most truthful way, this boutique house is brought out to be such an extraordinary in every possible way. Leaving behind the bustling daily routines, first impression would be like straying into a totally different world. Sensation of art, peacefulness and nature-friendliness may balance to fulfill its charming. Ma Maison features Provence style in which bright sunshine and decoration theme have been embraced to create a relaxed look in this guesthouse. Antique design, refinement and sumptuous materials combined with standard services and its harmony in decoration would make your stay a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ma Maison Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing