We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
12
31
16
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
31
16
2
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 67 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

Booked direct from the website and paid VND800,000 per night for a suite upon arrival, for 2 adult and 2 children stay.

Plus point;
1) near enough to walk to Ben Thanh, far enough from the noisy street( do not ask for window rooms if you wanna be quiet)
2) simple breakfast provided, most of the hotels with this price range does the same
3) free laundry for each guest limited to 3pieces per guest per day, collected in the morning and delivered in the evening itself
4) receptionist speaks English and the owner TAN speaks a few, one of it was French
5) overall room was clean
6) bellboy/doorman was quick enough to see guest arriving, immediately running out to help on your luggage once your taxi stops
7) at night there is roadside seafood stalls for dining till late, typical Saigon style where you seat on very low chairs and tables

Downside;
1) 2 bedded rooms are too small
2) the elevator failed and the cleaner was stuck in it more than 1 hour
3) rooms are little too dark for guest traveling with kids
4) stayed in 2 rooms and both AC doesn't really work well
5) compulsory to drop off room key when you leave hotel
6) all guest passport to be held by them till you check out
7) creepy and narrow walkway on upper floors

Conclusion;
1) more of a guesthouse/BB
2) typical backdated wooden furniture all over
3) I will not return to this hotel if I'm traveling with family due to tiny rooms and not children friendly

There is plenty of Hotels in this area which you will not be able to find on the internet, no worry, just walk in and price is lower.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank kevocalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

We booked the hotel thru airlines (ticket + hotel) at Ava 2. We booked 4 family room for 5 adults and 3 children. We foresee there might be additional people joining in our trip in last minute thus we go for the family room which could occupy 4pax. True enough, there are 2 additional but since we book family room, we presume the policy for 4pax adults in a room applicable. However, upon reaching, we were told to pay for the additional pax (USD5 per pax per night, we need to pay totsl of USD30). To made the matter worst, there is no room for us. They move us to Ava Hotel nearer Ben Thanh market. We don't mind, it just that there is no apologies given for the inconvenience they caused us and made it as if they have done us a favour. The toilet is either emit strange smell, flooding when we took our shower or low water pressure. There is no coffee or tea in the rooms. There is no consistency of providing the towels...sometimes they change everything but sometimes you get only towels. They only provides 1 small soap (bath soap) which to be share among the occupants of the rooms. The mineral waters in the fridge is not free, chargeable VND10,000 each. You can get cheaper ones outside near the K Mart. They will retail your passport with them during your stay which means surrender your passport upon check in and returned to you upon check out.

Breakfast is the same during our 4d3n stays. Front rooms was noisy due to nearer to the street and next to a karaoke shop. During our stay, there is knocking sound (unsure is renovation or the karaoke shop) happened in the night time until almost 3am as 3 of our rooms was located at the back portion of the hotels.

I don't expect a 5 star service. But there are definitely needed improvement in their attitude and hotel environment. I have stayed in budget hotel and even hostel which is better than this.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jes-Mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2016

For the second time we used the hotel's laundry service. In by 10:00 AM ready by 5:00 PM. The current cost is 26000 dong per kilogram. The clothes were properly washed and folded. The manager and service desk people were great. Great location.

Stayed: January 2016
1  Thank genee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVAHOTELCHAIN, Owner at AVA Saigon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kindwords of AVA SAIGON HOTEL. Thanks to all our Guests.
I would like to inform that AVA HOTEL CHAIN have finished to managed the hotel located at 51 Thu Khoa Huan street (former name is AVA SAIGON HOTEL) since 30 Jan, 2016. New name is AVALON hotel. This AVALON hotel is not belonging AVA HOTEL CHAIN.

We just set up new AVA SAIGON HOTEL stayed at 230 Ly Tu Trong street, Ben Thanh Market, District 1.
Hope we will see you in new AVA SAIGON HOTEL.
Thank you and regards,
Trang Trinh (Hotel's Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2016

We were backpacking to Ho Chi Minh City. Ava hotel was a very good hotel. Good staffs, clean hotel eventhough it is a small place. The hotel serves bread for breakfast with some fruits.
The good thing is, this place offers you a free laundry every day, so you don't need to bring many clothes.

Room Tip: Walking distance to Ben Tanh Market.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MegaPandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVAHOTELCHAIN, Owner at AVA Saigon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kindwords of AVA SAIGON HOTEL. Thanks to all our Guests.
I would like to inform that AVA HOTEL CHAIN have finished to managed the hotel located at 51 Thu Khoa Huan street (former name is AVA SAIGON HOTEL) since 30 Jan, 2016. New name is AVALON hotel. This AVALON hotel is not belonging AVA HOTEL CHAIN.

We just set up new AVA SAIGON HOTEL stayed at 230 Ly Tu Trong street, Ben Thanh Market, District 1. All team AVA will moved to new address.

Hope we will see you in new AVA SAIGON HOTEL.
Thank you and regards,
Trang Trinh (Hotel's Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2015

the hotel is old, furniture old, but aircond looks new but leaks water after 2 nites but they got it serviced the following morning....after that its very cold, daikin brand aircond i like plus there is a stand fan to supplement the coolness of the room, breakfast super simple coz the only thing i can eat is bread and butter, bread n cheese, bread w eggs...drinks can choose...best part i can have it in my room, lobby only 3 tables plus 6 chairs,the shower area can be improved, laundry service for guests is the best i feel, my clothes are being collected n sent to me by 4pm...very good and efficient, bellhop very hardworking, 5 mins walk to ben tanh mkt and 8 mins to malaysian street, there r better hotels in front..Lan2, kelly, kingston ,ha my but i choose AVA coz of laundry services and 2 queen size bed fit for 4 person.....
Staff is pleasant. many peddlars outside the hotel selling knick knacks. Next to hotel is Kg Pandan Rest serves good Halal food but in HCM halal food seems expensive. One plate of fried rice ard RM 20, 95000VND, S$8.....but taste is good.... easy to walk to War Remnants museum n Notre Dome, Post Office etc

Room Tip: room 501 good for a family of 4 adults 1 kid
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ezrashamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews