We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Ba Thien Hau Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.00*
and up
Half-Day Ho Chi Minh City Chinatown Tour by Cyclo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
690 reviews
290 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This appears to be the largest and oldest in Ho Chi Minh City. It contains many statues and there is a whole lot of incense being burnt (adds to the atmosphere). Despite our having visited many temples during our tour of Indo China, we felt that this was well worth the visit. It is some way outside the centre of Ho Chi Minh City (about 7km).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    286
    98
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Temple should come in Ho Chi Minh”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Chua Ba Thien Hau temple is one of the oldest history of the Chinese in Ho Chi Minh City. Besides the value of the art of architecture, sculpture, ancient artifacts, it also has a different value, which is not only a place to meet religious needs but also a place to gather and mutual for Vietnamese people

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dinhhoangthuannhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladesville, Australia
Level Contributor
465 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,786 helpful votes
“My observations..”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Dedicated to the lady of the Sea, this quaint little temple in the middle of Chinatown is a little island of calm. Stepping out into the open courtyard it feels like some exotic land far away from the city. I see the sun shining brightly, casting a cool shadow over the covered walkway. I never get tired of staring at the spiral burners hanging high up slowly burning the fragrance of incense, the hypnotic smoke sets a peaceful tone. I like how the wind is captured from above & swirls down into the courtyard cooling the air in this tropical heat. I always find myself sitting on the wooden benches in the shade, the atmosphere so peaceful that I easily don’t notice an hour flying by, sometimes two. That’s the way it always is when I visit, I have no real Buddhist understanding nor am I an angel, but this place just seems to resonate with me, I find it utterly strange & I don’t know why....maybe im just high.

Useful facts:

- Literally translated as ‘Temple of the lady Thien Hau’.

- She was the daughter of a Chinese fisherman in Fujian province-southern China.

- Her real name was Lin Moniang but popularly known as Ma-Tsu or Mazu.

- Her story is about having some sort of telepathic power & one day being able to see & help her brothers drowning out at sea while she was on the shore in a deep trance.

- As a child she was often seen standing on the beach wearing a bright red dress which sailors would use to help navigate safely to shore.

- As her legend grew after her death, the religions of Taoism & Buddhism believed she was the reincarnate of Guan Yin, the Chinese Buddhist goddess of Mercy.

- During the 19th century when large numbers of Chinese went overseas for work in the European colonies as labourers they worshipped at Ma-Tsu’s temple if they made it safely to where ever they were going.

- The Vietnamese name for Lin Moniang is Thien Hau which is pronounced ‘Ti-en How’

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Interesting Find”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Having a 'free' first day in HCMC, we chose to visit less touristy sites. We were pleased to stumble upon this temple which was completely empty except for one worshiper. We had time to admire the sculptures and details of the building. The incense clouds made our visit even more magical.

If you have the time and energy, I would suggest you visit Chua Ba Thien Hau.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
243 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A smoky place”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Chua Ba Thien Hau temple was very interesting. I had never before visited a Chinese temple and I’m glad I did visit it. I can’t say that the temple was beautiful, but it had a very special atmosphere partly due to the heavy smoke coming from all the praying sticks. The spirals under the roof were said to burn from three months up till one year. It takes long time for your prayer to reach heaven.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ba Thien Hau Temple also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ba Thien Hau Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing