We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Highly recommended Ben Tre Trip

We would highly recommend this tour with Mango Cruises. The trip was well organised and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Kate E
via mobile
Will never forget this!

We took this tour on our last day in Ho Chi Minh City. At first we were hesitant to go as the boat... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Asya122
,
Istanbul, Turkey
via mobile
Read all 253 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ho Chi Minh City
from US$112.00
More Info
from US$55.00
More Info
from US$18.00
More Info
from US$47.00
More Info
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
219
21
7
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
21
7
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mango home brick factory ben tre coconut processing rice paper brick making rice noodle factory home stay private sampan bike rides day cruise mekong delta sa dec sampan cruise cooking demo mango resort fruit
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 253 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

We did a 1 night 2 day tour staying at Mango Riverside and taking a transfer from HCM.
All was very well organised through email with the staff although I was a bit worried at one point when no one acknowledged my payment but after chasing they came back immediately.
The pick up was on time from HCM and took us to the Mekong with no issues. We did an extremely interesting tour of the local homes and workplaces which are in no way for tourists so we really felt like we were having a unique experience and truly seeing Vietnamese life. Our tour guide Tuo'ong was lovely and well informed and happy to answer many questions. We had a cooking demonstration during the evening also which was interesting.
The hotel is beautiful and welcoming as are the boats. The food is excellent and we eat far too much during our stay!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank supergirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile

Now that the highway from Saigon is built, it only takes 2 hours instead of 4.5 to get to the start.

The cruise was very well organised throughout with great attention to detail. Started with a short drive on the back of a xe loi (motorbike with bench seating behind) past local farms to the boat.

Good seating on the boat with flushing loo, and life jackets, etc. and we were offered fruit and a coconut drink as well as cold towels to refresh ourselves.

A short trip up one of the tributaries of the Mekong to an old brick factory and coconut processing factory gave a good insight into how local people make a living.

After another short trip on the boat, we swapped to bicycles to ride past more farms to a rice noodle factory where we saw rice milk dried on bamboo in the sun and then sliced up to make noodles.

Then we visited Mrs. Huong who makes rice paper and, after a demo, got to try making them ourselves.
After a break for tea, we got in a sampan where we were rowed along narrow waterways with water bamboo each side back to the main boat which took us to Mango Home for a nice lunch.

Back on the boat to go back to Ben Tre city to end the cruise.

Overall this was a great half-day and we got to see things we never would have seen without the organised cruise and guide. A must-see if you are in the area.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank richardNTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2017

Must do, arriving at the boat we had no idea of what to expect and we were amazed. A spectacular trip, beautiful vessel and a fantastic staff including a cook who gave us our introduction to the food in Vietnam. The small group of four good friends and our crew cooking and laughing together was a highlight of the trip.The 2 bedrooms were beautiful, luxurious and comfortable.Just do it and the extra you spend can be made up on the rest of the trip .

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank hotshowbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile

We did a one day private tour. Beautiful big boat for just the two of us. Went into a brick making village, a coconut industry, rode on a tuc tuc, made some of our own rice paper, visited a noodle factory and enjoyed a lovely trip down the Mekong.
Because of the expense we chose to make our own way to mango home. Good advance organisation via email with Jay. He gave us exceptional instructions for catching the local bus and organised a shuttle to pick us up from Ben tre station.
Lunch was yet again incredible.
A tour that no pictures can replace the experience! It is a must. And a must with mango cruises. I couldn't recommend them more highly.

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank DrDawn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2017 via mobile

The bus arrived on time in the morning and took us out to meet with Thuong, our guide, for a tuk tuk ride out to the boat. The boat was very comfortable and there was only 3 of us which was fantastic! We cruised out to the coconut factory first. It was interesting. The brick factory was so basic and primitive but extremely effective with mass production. We went for a relaxing ride out to the rice noodle factory. It was interesting then we stopped for some honey tea and coconut lollies, different! Then we went on boat ride through the canals back out to the boat then to the mango house for lunch and dinner. There was so much beautiful food! The accommodation was beautiful and we had an outside shower and toilet which was very novel. The bed was hard so my partner used the couch cushion to sleep on for extra padding. The next day we went by bicycle to the local market, pagoda and soldiers house to try making rice paper. Having Thuong explain everything at the market was such a great help. We would have missed so many things without her. The soldiers story was beyond belief but fantastic to hear a positive outcome. Thuong was a fantastic guide and we learnt so much from the knowledge she has of the area and of Vietnam in general. Well worth the money and definitely the highlight of our trip to Vietnam especially the bike riding and seeing the countryside!

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank tayl0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews