We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An iconic place to stay”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #55 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2017

First night in Ho Chi Minh and we checked in at the Rex - our second trip to HCM and the Rex was high on our list of places to stay/things to do due to the history associated with it. Turns out it was previously a citron garage before the Vietnam war, and converted to a hotel (complete with 3 cinemas) just prior to house US Special forces. The were numerous journalists/reporters staying there during the war and the roof top bar is famed for its views over the city - it didn't disappoint! There is entertainment each night and an extensive range of cocktails The reception is grand, with designer stores all around it and in the hotel itself. The staff were attentive and friendly (a common trait in Vietnam), the rooms were spacious and comfortable and more importantly cool. Our room had two bedrooms, large bathroom and reception area.The breakfast buffet was good, lots of choice and well run, and I had a surprise birthday cake delivered to our room by the hotel - a nice touch. Only real down point was the noise, it was a little noisy due to the building site next door, the street crossing and in part the roof top bar music but a couple that we were travelling with were on the other side and had little issue with this. All in all a good choice to stay at at the roof top bar a must!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on west wing which appears to be quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Peter S,

Thank you so much for review. We are happy to learn that you had good stay at Rex. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in very near future.

With best regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,386)
There are newer reviews for Rex Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel itself is comfortable and actually quite impressive. The room was large, comfortable and clean. But it was just crazily loud. I was on the 1st floor and I could not believe how much of the traffic I could hear. Sound-proofing was just not good enough. In their defence, the hotel people moved me to the fifth floor after I complained once. That was an improvement. But the noise on the 1st floor was just unacceptable.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Andrew M,

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to note that your experience at Rex was good. Please feel free to contact our reservation department when you make your next booking for proper room arrangement. We hope to have you as our returning guest in the near future.

Kind regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Rex Hotel has been upgrading in the past 20 years. It now has two roof top pools and many extra modern rooms. We had a room at the back of the hotel. With the windows closed, you have no clue that you are in the very city centre of Saigon.
Staff is very friendly. Great rooftop terrace, western prices for beer. Best place for sightseeing Saigon.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Re1ziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Re1ziger,

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with our hotel room and Rooftop Garden Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back again in very near future.

With best regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

there is no negative implication in the statement, very charming. It is a tad old fashioned, but then we have to remember where we are... This is Saigon, 40 years ago it still was war striken. Therefore it is brilliant.
The area of the hotel is perfect, almost everything is in walking distance.
The rooms have coffee and a teamaker, cable and wifi. The wifi is included.
Their fitness room is more than good, a whirlpool.
The rooftop restaurant serves french and chines food, which I dont understand because Vietnamese food is far better, by far healthier.
All in all 2 days well spent.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Stephan G,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to learn that you had great time with our hotel room, Fitness center and swimming pools. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

With best regards,


Dang Yen Vy (MS)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel. It was fantastic. The location is right downtown on the area they call "Times Square". The hotel is very nicely appointed. It was much better than most hotels we use in the U.S. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Service throughout the hotel was excellent. The morning breakfast was beyond belief with a mix of western and Vietnamese foods. And the rooftop bar was used every evening to finish off the day. We will return to this hotel the next time we are in HCMC.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear trveler50,

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to note that you had fantastic at Rex. We thank for your kind words about our service. We can’t wait to serve you again in your next visit to Ho Chi Minh City.

Kind regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

This gorgeous hotel was amazing for our stay in Ho Chi Minh, it was very central, beautiful with two amazing pools, bars with amazing cocktails and live music and a gym. The staff were all amazing and attentive and the hotel was a beautiful relief after a busy day walking the streets of Ho Chi Minh. Room Service food was slightly average but the overall hotel atmosphere and staff made up for it. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255caitlinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Caitlin L,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to learn that your recent visit to Rex was amazing. We can’t wait to serve you again in the near future.

With best regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Great location! Very nice and attentive staff, always helpful and it is a beautiful hotel in itself. Excellent breakfast buffet. The rooftop is highly recommended, there is a large range of food and drinks to enjoy.This hotel is very close to Ben Thanh Markets and other famous sights in District 1.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing Union Square
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyofive2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear familyofive2016,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to learn that your recent visit to Rex was great. We look forward to welcoming you back again in very near future.

Kind regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 km away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#17 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,745 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#45 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,996 reviews
0.1 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#13 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#46 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,230 reviews
0.6 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#21 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,628 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $143 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rex Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the best of downtown Saigon, the Rex Hotel is a luxury 5 stars hotel heritage dating back to early 20th century when it was originally opened as a French garage. For over 80 years, as a landmark, as well as a witness of the ups and downs of the city's history, the Rex Hotel was rebuilt to become one of the city's most incredible addresses. It prides itself to offer guests many high-class facilities including 286 individually designed guestrooms, a range of function & meeting room's ideal for wedding, business or events, the La Cochinchine spa, and four in-house restaurants, cafe and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing