We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,746)
Filter reviews
2,746 results
Traveller rating
1,100
1,034
380
131
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,100
1,034
380
131
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barwest winggovernor suitevietnam warstar hotelhistoric hotelconstruction sitepillow menuwater puppet showthe executive loungenguyen huebreakfast buffetcity hallfifth floorcentral locationwalking streetfantastic location
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 2,746 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2018

Our stay in the Rex was great. It was nice to walk the (albeit rebuilt) corridors of some of the city's history. The room was lovely and spacious (albeit no view). Staff could have been a bit more welcoming on arrival, but throughout our stay were very helpful. Although, as I have seen other people post on here, aggressive staff asking about our room number when we were poolside slightly tainted the experience.

I also had a massage in the spa, and once I'd asked the women to be a bit more firm it was amazing! The 30% discount is great.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJViewforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear SJViewforth,

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to learn that your stay at Rex was great. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

With best regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

If you love hotels with shabby lobbies filled with cigarette smoke this may be the one for you! My family and I have both lived and worked abroad so I feel qualified to say this is in no way the 5 star rating it claims to be. The staff is cold and hostile. There were two weddings at the hotel while we were staying there and they refused to turn the music down until midnight. We weren’t even sharing a wall with the courtyard the weddings were in and they were positively hostile when we plead with them to change rooms. I would never stay at this hotel again, I’m not a fan of lung cancer and being treated rudely by staff. I literally can’t say enough how terrible this hotel was. They also charged us for food we did not order and blamed our language skills, vegetarians would never order meat no matter what language. I’m aghast at the lack of professionalism and overall treatment of the guests.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank Culture748874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We wish you all the best.

Kind regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2018

It was amazing for me to stand in the area where updates on the Vietnam War were broadcast daily. This was the setting for the “Five O’Clock Follies” or the daily military briefing on the progress of the war. What is now a bar was where the status of the war was reported. The hotel also served as a bachelor officers’ living area. Today the Rex is a beautiful hotel with a roof top bar and restaurant. The roof top provides a fantastic views of the city. At one time, the bar was the watering hotel for journalists and military officers. When you look at the Rex, it makes you think about the place being a garage. Today it is a five-star hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ITRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear ITRT,

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to note that you had good time at our Rooftop Garden Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

With best regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile

Two blocks walk to Saigon plaza or Ben Thành markets, this centrally located hotel is a plush 5 star hotel, with brand named stores in the lobby.
The two compact pools are located on the roof.
It has a well equipped gym.
The breakfast spread is impressive with beautiful fresh bread and local cuisine.
The ground floor restaurant has delicious food and great service.
There is a complimentary water puppet show three times a week, that is worth seeing.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kttreadinglightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear Kttreadinglightly,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with our hotel pools, gym, breakfast and restaurant. We hope to have you as our returning guests in the near future.

Kind regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2018

We went to the roof top restaurant in the evening to enjoy the view and little did we realise that there was wonderful life music there too. It was so catchy, we decided to order drinks and had a dance.Their coffee was no more expensive than Starbucks.
It was certainly a very magical spot with good views of the city, as good as the Britexco Tower. What made it better was that we were not encased in glass but by a high balcony all the way round and the air was cooler.

Room Tip: A good place to see Ho Chi Minh City
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20Carol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear 20Car13,

Thank you so much for you review. We are pleased to learn that your recent visit to our Rooftop Garden Bar was good. We look forward to welcoming you back again in your next visit to Ho Chi Minh City.

With best regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews