We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, perfect for walking tours around the district”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #59 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Spent my birthday at this hotel previously. We arrived late and asked for our preferred bed configuration prior arrival in the reservation notes but was not accommodated. Manager was kind enough to take note of it and has promised that our details will be placed on their profile and will be given an upgrade on our next visit. Overall, stay was delightful, I was given a birthday cake and a special turn down. Breakfast was good too. Will go back soon with the hopes of a better and perfect stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsccip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear mrsccip,

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to note that your stay was delightful. We can’t wait to welcome you back and serve you better in your next trip to Ho Chi Minh City.

Kind regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 2,540 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2018

Our stay in the Rex was great. It was nice to walk the (albeit rebuilt) corridors of some of the city's history. The room was lovely and spacious (albeit no view). Staff could have been a bit more welcoming on arrival, but throughout our stay were very helpful. Although, as I have seen other people post on here, aggressive staff asking about our room number when we were poolside slightly tainted the experience.

I also had a massage in the spa, and once I'd asked the women to be a bit more firm it was amazing! The 30% discount is great.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJViewforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear SJViewforth,

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to learn that your stay at Rex was great. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

With best regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
14
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

If you love hotels with shabby lobbies filled with cigarette smoke this may be the one for you! My family and I have both lived and worked abroad so I feel qualified to say this is in no way the 5 star rating it claims to be. The staff is cold and hostile. There were two weddings at the hotel while we were staying there and they refused to turn the music down until midnight. We weren’t even sharing a wall with the courtyard the weddings were in and they were positively hostile when we plead with them to change rooms. I would never stay at this hotel again, I’m not a fan of lung cancer and being treated rudely by staff. I literally can’t say enough how terrible this hotel was. They also charged us for food we did not order and blamed our language skills, vegetarians would never order meat no matter what language. I’m aghast at the lack of professionalism and overall treatment of the guests.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We wish you all the best.

Kind regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

It was amazing for me to stand in the area where updates on the Vietnam War were broadcast daily. This was the setting for the “Five O’Clock Follies” or the daily military briefing on the progress of the war. What is now a bar was where the status of the war was reported. The hotel also served as a bachelor officers’ living area. Today the Rex is a beautiful hotel with a roof top bar and restaurant. The roof top provides a fantastic views of the city. At one time, the bar was the watering hotel for journalists and military officers. When you look at the Rex, it makes you think about the place being a garage. Today it is a five-star hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ITRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear ITRT,

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to note that you had good time at our Rooftop Garden Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

With best regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Two blocks walk to Saigon plaza or Ben Thành markets, this centrally located hotel is a plush 5 star hotel, with brand named stores in the lobby.
The two compact pools are located on the roof.
It has a well equipped gym.
The breakfast spread is impressive with beautiful fresh bread and local cuisine.
The ground floor restaurant has delicious food and great service.
There is a complimentary water puppet show three times a week, that is worth seeing.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kttreadinglightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Kttreadinglightly,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with our hotel pools, gym, breakfast and restaurant. We hope to have you as our returning guests in the near future.

Kind regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We went to the roof top restaurant in the evening to enjoy the view and little did we realise that there was wonderful life music there too. It was so catchy, we decided to order drinks and had a dance.Their coffee was no more expensive than Starbucks.
It was certainly a very magical spot with good views of the city, as good as the Britexco Tower. What made it better was that we were not encased in glass but by a high balcony all the way round and the air was cooler.

Room Tip: A good place to see Ho Chi Minh City
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20Carol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear 20Car13,

Thank you so much for you review. We are pleased to learn that your recent visit to our Rooftop Garden Bar was good. We look forward to welcoming you back again in your next visit to Ho Chi Minh City.

With best regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We stayed at the Rex for the 3rd time over Christmas/New Year and it was just superb . The rooms are furnished to the highest standards , the hotel staff are all helpful and friendly , the buffet breakfast is to die for , the hotel has the best location in the centre of HCM , great facilities including 2 pools and a full sized gym and very competitive prices . This is without doubt the best value for money property in HCM .

Room Tip: request a room in the West wing .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexFirstImpression, First Impression Supervisor at Rex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Duncan908,

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to learn that you had great experience at Rex. We look forward to welcoming you back again in very near future.

Kind regards,


Dang Yen Vy (Ms)
First Impression Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 km away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#22 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,887 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#45 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,363 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#40 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#16 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,842 reviews
0.6 km away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,834 reviews
0.9 km away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#55 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Address: 141 Nguyen Hue Blvd | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#17 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#32 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $146 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rex Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at the best of downtown Saigon, the Rex Hotel is a luxury 5 stars hotel heritage dating back to early 20th century when it was originally opened as a French garage. For over 80 years, as a landmark, as well as a witness of the ups and downs of the city's history, the Rex Hotel was rebuilt to become one of the city's most incredible addresses. It prides itself to offer guests many high-class facilities including 286 individually designed guestrooms, a range of function & meeting room's ideal for wedding, business or events, the La Cochinchine spa, and four in-house restaurants, cafe and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Saigon
Rex Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing