We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villa Song Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$148
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rex Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$177
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Reverie Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New World Saigon Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$141
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Nikko Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$129
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Duc Vuong Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)(Great Value!)
US$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Meraki Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)(Great Value!)
US$23
US$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windsor Plaza Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
US$85
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bich Duyen Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)(Great Value!)
US$22
US$14
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$16/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (997)
Filter reviews
997 results
Traveller rating
582
312
75
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
582
312
75
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportrooftop restaurantlibrary themetop floorbeautiful boutique hotelminute taxi ridephoyogurtsmall streetquiet areawould recommend this hotel to anyonesmall hotelwestern foodairport picknice breakfastbusy cityhcm city
Filter
Updating list...
581 - 586 of 997 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2015

This was my 4th trip to Vietnam. The Alcove is a great choice for the following reasons: First, it's clean, well kept and has a professionally trained staff. The rooms are comfortable. AC works well (a must in Saigon). Breakfast includes both Vietnamese and Western choices - and is excellent. The restaurant is on the top floor with a descent view of the city. It serves lunch and dinner as well. The hotel is well situated for the following reasons: It's 10 mins from the airport (not more than a $4.00 cab fare) and about 10 mins from downtown. It's also off of the main street (Nguyen van Troi) which means it's really quiet. For someone who needs their sleep and wants to escape the drama and noise of the city - this is the place! It's my favorite hotel in Vietnam (including N. Vietnam as well). The only downside for some would be that it does not have a really large, flashy lobby and the rooms are a bit on the smaller side. Like all hotels (that I've been to in VN) the staff takes care of you - and is a great help. Finally - don't forget to visit the 'Fig' - 5 mins walk and S Cafe (10 mins walk) from hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pscline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAlcove, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2015

Dear pscline,

We are pleased to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stays with us, especially for the breakfast. Your review will surely delight my chefs and my other team members, so thank you for taking the time to leave these words here with us. It is great that you enjoyed the coffee shops in the neighborhood. They are garden style coffee shops, and there are many of cool places like this around the area.

It is our pleasure to have you stayed with us and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

With our best regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2015

We stayed at The Alcove Library Hotel in April 2015 for two nights as the first stop of our Honeymoon in Vietnam. We were delighted to receive a free room upgrade and welcome cake, along with rose petals on the bed and swan-shaped towels. These little touches made us feel very special. There are cool pictures and quotes from authors around the hotel, and the rooms are 'themed' on a particular book (insofar as there's a picture and quote on the wall and a copy of the book in the room). The staff were always very helpful with suggestions for places to go, ordering taxis, and giving advice on finding our way around Ho Chi Minh City. The breakfast was a nice mix of Vietnamese and Western and left you feeling satisfied. The location is tucked away down a little side street, so we weren't bothered by any noise or traffic. There's a cute little cafe down the same street where you can get your fix of their iced coffee for very cheap! It's still situated not too far from the central city, but you do need to get a taxi (not too expensive: between 50k - 80k Vietnamese Dong) to go exploring. We went on a tour of the CuChi tunnels organised by the staff which was very good. The staff also very kindly booked our overnight train journey to Nha Trang, which was incredibly helpful. Overall a great experience and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 4th floor - Alice in Wonderland room was a lovely one
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAlcove, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2015

Dear Lauren C,

Congratulations on your wedding.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We have shared your feedback with my team, and we all feel very encouraged to know we have provided you with a memorable stay.

Once again, thank you for recommending us to other travelers and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2015

I decide to stay at this hotel because it's offer a good concept, "The Library". It was a small boutique hotel in HCMC with clean room, good breakfast, comfort bed and I like the Library concept where they're really take care in details. I had a good rest when stay here. I will definitely come back here on the next journey to HCMC.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sumartok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAlcove, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2015

Dear Sumartok,

Warm greetings from The Alcove Library Hotel.

We would like to express my appreciation for your recent review. It brings me great pleasure to read that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you were well looked after.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience.

Warm regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2015

My husband and I were there for 2 nights for our 1 week honeymoon in Vietnam. HCM was our last pit stop before heading home. I must say it was a lovely and quiet place for honeymooners. The reception staff, Vivian and bell boy, Jake welcomed us warmly and were very friendly and helpful with our queries around town. The rooftop restaurant was also a delight where we had our breakfast and dinner. Portions were big and delicious! The waiter whom I can't recall his name was very attentive to us even though there were others dining too. They also gave us a cake and a rose for our honeymoon stay at the hotel. Such a sweet gesture! My overall review is that this is a great hotel to be away from the bustling city center if you are looking for peace and relaxation in HCM. If you're there to shop, you may need to cab down to most shopping areas.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rheatoreque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAlcove, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2015

Dear rheatoreque,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at The Alcove Library Hotel. We are so honored to read that you had an enjoyable honeymoon with us. We really appreciate the time and dedication it took you to write this very personalized messaged about our great team members. Recognition is very important to us and I am delighted to see that we exceeded your expectation.

We cannot wait to see you again for another great stay when in HCMC.

Best regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2015

The Alcove definitely lived up to reviews we read. It is a fantastic little hotel with plenty of character and charm.

The location for us was great as it was slightly out of the city which made it quieter at night compared to similar hotels in the city. Plus a cab from the center is only 60-80 Dong ($3-4). On the plus side the hotel is close to the location.

The rooms were extremely clean with everything you need, a little on the small side but we didn't spend much time in the hotel. One improvement they could make is to the shower neither of us worked out how to use it without getting the floor pretty wet.

The staff were all extremely helpful and spoke excellent English, also they were always on hand and offered recommendations about where to go, eat and excursions worth doing and ones you don't really need a guide for.

The Bar/Restaurant has a nice outdoor section good for an evening drink,
Breakfast was fresh and made to order with a selection of fruit to start with. Had a mix of Eastern and Western foods to start the day.

Wish we would of stayed when we came back to Ho Chi Minh

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAlcove, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2015

Dear Adrian315,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and service provided by our staff members. Regarding your comments about our shower, please rest assured that this has been addressed to our maintenance department.

We pride ourselves on creating an enjoyable experience for our guests and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews