We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Duc Vuong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duc Vuong Hotel
Ranked #35 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

we had the interconnecting room, very clean and huge bath, for the price we couldn't fault this hotel. Staff lovely and always willing to help in any way. Great bar down the street on left hand side, food was cheap and really good and bar prices were cheap also, large tiger beer $1. Stayed on 5th floor and slept well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Public Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Hi, you and your family is still good? “Great location” could describe your feeling in the form of Connect Room, right? Easy to contact each other. We can understand your feelings. We are happy and healthy wishes to you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    767
    227
    59
    25
See reviews for
265
800
229
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotel was more than adequate; at the top end of a budget hotel. Rooms are smallish but well furnished and clean. Roof-top terrace is lovely and the dinners are now $2, great value for a filling meal. Good breakfast and well located in the backpacker area. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmaryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Public Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Hi, how are you? We are very happy that you still remember the Family Dinner of the hotel with us. Enjoy the natural integration with the hotel terrace. That's great ..... right? We can understand! Best Wishes to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

We had 3 separate stays here as we used it as our base, the staff knew us by name and welcomed us back each time like long lost friends. The rooms are clean and comfy, the bathrooms were interesting.... Every shower resulted in a very wet floor due to the design, so don't leave your clothes on the floor. The garden cafe on the rooftop is worth a visit; good meal, cold drinks and spectacular view and you do not need to face the crowds downstairs (although that can be fun too)

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MargDarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Our hotel would like to say warmly thanks to you, because you have chosen our hotel as your accommodation in many times. Did you have a time to experience the life as well as the people of Vietnam? We are happy because you have spent your valuable time to write comments about our hotel on TripAdvisor systems. We love and feel happy that your saying "A real family feel". Best wishes for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights on arriving in HCMC. We arranged a hotel pickup via the hotel which was great after a long journey via Hong Kong from the UK. The hotel was well run, with friendly and very keen staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and whilst not huge adequate for us. We had requested a room at the back of the hotel as I had read on TA that these were quieter. The breakfast was good and I would stay here again as its location and price were great.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel as this will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerEM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Sincerely thanks to you, your comments made us stronger and more happiness to continue to serve guests. We always consider our guests as our family members. To serve you is our happiness. Wellness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We had a great 4 day/3 night stay at Duc Vuong! The staff was super friendly and helpful and learned my friend's (who made the reservation) name so they could ask how we were doing every day. The room was clean and spacious and included free WiFi, small cups of water and popcorn. It even had a real bathtub/shower (not so easy to find if you're on a budget). The beds were comfortable. The only problem I ever had was that the street noise leaked into the room on our first night, but earplugs quickly fixed the problem. Location is right in the middle of the backpacker district, so if you like that kind of think, this hotel is perfect for you. Breakfast is also included in the rate and is buffet-style. It had a ton of different options (including minimal repetition of dishes from day to day) and was delicious. This is one of the best hotels I stayed at while traveling in Vietnam.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubbs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
"We love you, too". A phrase to say to all of our love for you. We'll be happy and emotional if you have the opportunity to return to Vietnam and stay in our hotel. Offering the most comfortable for guests is the top concern of our hotel, but could not avoid these shortcomings. Because the location of the hotel is in the heart, especially the backpackers, so inevitably the noise, so hope you understand and sympathize! Our hotel always waiting for you back. Best wishes for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is definitely the place to stay in Ho Chi Minh City if you want to get more than your money's worth. Room rates are very affordable but you get so much more.

What's most impressive is their service. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. My friends and I won't forget their staff named Thang for being very helpful and friendly. Their other hotel crew were also helpful and would tell us the places to go. Even their security guards were very helpful and protective of us. They would often remind us to be careful of our belongings and would escort us to the ATM across the hotel to make sure that we're safe.

Their breakfast buffet is also good. Not too many choices but the limited line-up that they have for breakfast are delicious and more than enough.

The rooms may be small but they are clean and well-kept and their internet is okay.

It's the best place to stay in the backpacker's area and it is within walking distance to all the tourist spots in the city. There's even have a walking tour map at the hotel.

This is my second time to stay there and I definitely recommend this to my family and friends. The really live up to their theme "we are family."

Room Tip: Ask their staff, Thang, where to buy good coffee, tea and french bread.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purplefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel is very modern by HCMC District 1 standards. It is right in the middle of district one and its T-shirt shops, quirky bars and many travel agents. This hotel has a lift, most don't. The family atmosphere at meal times is quiet nice. The food is fairly average but as a social tool great to meet fellow travellers. This Hotel has great security and friendly staff. It can get quite busy when catering for large tour groups. The day we arrived HCMC suffered a major downpour of rain and the streets quicly flooded to knee deep water. The staff did there upmost to keep the water out and actually took in more guests from other flooded hotels. The rooms are fine and comfortable and kept clean. Water for showers was ample but only luke warm at best. The bed was on the small size but ok if your under 5'10" tall. The hotel is good value for the money and internet access through WIFI was acceptable. Transport is readily available nearbye and many good food options both local Vietnamese and Western is cheap and plentiful in walking distance from the hotel. Avail yourself of a great massage at one of the many local establishments, its cheap and your aching muscles will thank you. Just nearbye is SOZO coffee, this charity run coffee shop gives former street kids and those with disabilities a start in life. The coffee and cakes are great and the atmosphere relaxing. Overall this hotel is a good option for those who like a western standard hotel in an asian country.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up its quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 km away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#47 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,515 reviews
0.2 km away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#30 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,179 reviews
3.6 km away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#19 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#33 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
503 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#4 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
246 reviews
0.1 km away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#68 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc Vuong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Vuong Hotel

Property: Duc Vuong Hotel
Address: 195 Bui Vien St, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc Vuong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duc Vuong Hotel Situated on Bui Vien Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. Duc Vuong Hotel is one of the busiest tourists place where thousands of people from all over the world visit each year. Duc Vuong Hotel has easy access to many tourists attraction around the City. Duc Vuong Hotel was established in 2006 with 20 rooms, and thanks to our wonderful guests and excellent attentive staff, we have now proudly expanded our family friendly Hotel to 51 beautiful rooms. We also have added an additional location in District 10.Duc Vuong Hotel's goal is to ensure our guests always have a memorable and enjoyable travel experience. Our friendly and caring staff is here to serve you and we are more then happy to assist and arrange additional requests for special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries, celebrations and also any other group meetings or parties. We are family! Duc Vuong's unique, charming and peaceful Garden Terrace restaurant & Lounge, offers a serene place to relax in comfort, after a long day of site seeing and enjoying your experience in our exciting and busy city. Duc Vuong's Garden Terrace restaurant & lounge is a quiet place for you to enjoy a relaxing and delicious, fresh and memorable meal, hors d'oeuvres and delectable unique drinks, all prepared with care by our phenomenal bartender and chef. This is also a brilliant place to view the sunrise, sunset and of course the very radiant moonlight! You will be amazed at the stunning view from high above the busy streets while experiencing the city lights and radiant moonlight The spacious, inviting visitors lounge always has fresh flowers, fruit and hot tea for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Duc Vuong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duc Vuong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing