We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 6 course degustation menu is sinfully delicious”
Review of Le Parfum

Le Parfum
Ranked #19 of 361 Restaurants in Hue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$200
Cuisines: French, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Food is a passion at La Residence. At Le Parfum talented Chefs experiment with creative Asian, Vietnamese and European flavours. At the heart of every dish are the very best of Vietnam’s fresh and vibrant produce combined with top quality imported specialty ingredients.
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Both of us love to eat and try new dishes whenever we travel. We stayed at La Residence Hotel & Spa, in which Le Parfum is located. We ate breakfast here every day and had dinner here one night. Friendly staff quickly showed us to open tables, and you can choose indoor or outdoor on the patio. Views of the Perfume River and the Imperial City which is on the other side of the river are lovely, and at night, the Citadel is lit up.The breakfast buffet is extensive...there is something for everyone. Coffee came quickly and we consider it to be very good, as that is how we start our days. We like to eat large breakfasts and there is a range from fruit, to deli meats and cheeses, following on to local Viet - style breakfasts, including a must-try Bun Bo Hue soup, for breakfast or lunch or dinner ("Delicious") There are also waffle and omelette stations, and plenty of danish and breads as well on the breakfast buffet. The cost of the breakfast was included in our room charge.
One night we went for the 6 course Degustation menu which paired different wines with dishes. The meal was not as heavy as one might expect from a degustation menu, but it was good value for money and just be sure that your dining partner can finish whatever you can't. It is also possible to substitute dishes as one of us does not eat salmon and was able to substitute, in advance of our dining reservation, for prawns. The ambience is French-vietnamese decor 1930's- style with high ceilings, tiled floors, and one could almost imagine a "Gatsby-esque" or "Indochine" 1930's movie set complete with Catherine Deneuve and diners in ball gowns and black tie, dining here.
While this degustation menu may change, here is what we had to eat: (Amuse Bouche) Soft Sea food ravioli with Parmesan Sauce / (Starter) Smoked duck breast carpaccio with mesclun & soya (my wife pronounced this to be amazing, and she does not normally eat duck- it was quite awesome), paired with a Cote de Provence / Seared Sea Scallop with Mashed Celery, garlic and sauteed snow peas, paired with a NZ Sauvignon Blanc / (Interlude) Lemon sorbet with Hue rice wine (surprisingly subtle and not overpowering) / (Main) Salmon Confit in OIl with fennel puree and a watercress salad (my wife substituted prawns here), paired with a Chilean Rothschild Chardonnay / Beef tenderloin marinated in rosemary and crushed pepper with a oyster mushroom and raspberry sauce, paired with an Argentine Malbec, / (Dessert) Chocolate with coconut ice cream and red hibiscus coulis, paired with an Italian Prosecco (yes!). Service was "spot-on" and the knowledgeable staff spoke excellent English and enjoyed chatting with us about the food and the wine. One of our favorites!

Thank kitpattrainor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceManager, Manager at Le Parfum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear Kitpattrainor,
Thank you very much for taking the time to send us the detailed and gracious comments about your hotel stay and dining experience at Le Parfum restaurant.
All the wonderful, positive comments will be shared with the culinary and service teams as they act as a great motivator for us to produce even more consistency and quality.
They were very happy to see that you enjoyed so much the Buffet Breakfast. Especially, thanks for highlighting and sharing the truly memorable experience of The 6 course Degustation menu, so future guests who would love something unique, can enjoy dining at our restaurant.
Once again, many thanks and we are looking forward to welcome you back to La Residence hotel & Le Parfum restaurant soon.
Sincerely,
Food & Beverage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

A wonderful dinner at this restaurant. Food was delicious - we especially loved the trio of soups for starters and the grilled beef Tournedos for main. I would recommend going slightly later to avoid some large groups and children (if that bothers you). We moved to have our dessert and drinks outside to overlook the Parfum River - which the staff were happy to accommodate - a romantic and great way to finish a lovely meal.

Thank Ria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceManager, Manager at Le Parfum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Ria S,
Thank you very much for sharing the “wonderful dinner” at Le Parfum restaurant online.
It is great to see that you were very pleased with the delicious food & the willingness of the team to accommodate your request. Your review is truly a great reference for our future guests, who are looking for a "Romantic dinner with views overlooking the River".
We look forward to welcoming you again to our fine dining restaurant.
Sincerely,
Food & Beverage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Decided to eat in house as we arrived on a late flight at 9pm. With grizzly kids in tow, we were welcomed into this establishment. Though previous reviews seem to class this as a formal venue, the staff appear well equipped to deal with kids, even providing some discrete toys to occupy our little one.

We elected to have a few Vietnamese dishes, which were surprisingly good for a presumed French restaurant.

Thank nuhkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Were tired and hungry after landing Ho Chi Minh from Tokyo in hard rain. Opted to eat dinner in La Residence.. Excellent service and fish dinner, but expensive Sauv Blanc from New Zealand high quality. Expensive

Thank Timothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceManager, Manager at Le Parfum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear Timothy T,
Thank you for sharing your nice experience about your stay at our hotel on Trip advisor channel recently.
We are so delighted to learn that you enjoyed your fish dinner with excellent service. We understand that prices are a little higher than in town, but with our commitment to freshness, hygiene and quality, our pricing is similar to other 5 star hotel restaurants in the region.
We all do hope to have another chance to see you back at La Residence.
Sincerely,
Food & Beverage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Le Parfum is the main restaurant in La Residence. It's very large and caters for large touring groups so can get very noisy. Breakfast was good with a great selection and included the option to have eggs cooked how you wanted. Staff were friendly and efficient both at breakfast and in the evening.
We opted to eat from the a la carte menu (which was a little limited)the evening we ate in the restaurant as there was a fixed price menu / bbq on. The waitress told us that we might have to wait a long time for our main courses but in actual fact it wasn't too bad and the vegetarian curry was very good.

Thank 528jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaResidenceManager, Manager at Le Parfum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear 528jean,
Thanks for spending the time to share your thoughts on your dining experience at Le Parfum restaurant.
It’s good to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast experience and were very pleased with the team’s friendly and efficient attitude. Actually we don’t often have large touring groups very often, so your comments will inspire us to strive harder in servicing our guests faster because we know that there are some dishes which might take more time than others. Thanks for your kind understanding.
Once again, many thanks for choosing Le Parfum restaurant to dine. We are looking forward to having another chance to welcome you back.
Sincerely
Food & Beverage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Parfum also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Le Parfum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing