We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t do it”

Tri Nguyen aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$62.50*
and up
Discover Nha Trang Bay Full-Day Speed Boat Tour
Ranked #58 of 60 things to do in Nha Trang
Attraction details
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

It looks good in the pictures.
It looks good from a distance.
But that's where it stops.
It is nowhere near the standard of Western aquariums as far as display style and exhibits are concerned.
Sharks in the larger bodies of water are teased with fish tied to a line to excite them into action for the audience.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank 260ChrisM260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Filter

4 - 8 of 41 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

There's some construction going on. The boat will leave you there for 45 minutes to do nothing if you are not in the aquarium (which is something I don't agree with) Seriously don't waste your money there.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2018 via mobile

Only visited this place as part of a tour and was shocked to see the conditions of the animals. The tanks are so tiny the animals barely have room to move. There were 3 turtles kept in a tank inside so tiny they couldn’t even turn around or change direction. It was heartbreaking to see and they looked distressed. The water in the tanks was filthy and when we got to the shark tank they were all just sitting in the bottom, which sharks aren’t meant to do. They all looked sick.

There really wasn’t much to see and we spent maybe 10 minutes there before we left, as seeing the conditions of the animals was horrifying.

Venue was dirty and rubbish everywhere. Toilets were filthy and none of them flushed. Would not recommend funding this place’s animal cruelty practices.

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the interesting look of this place from a distance. Horrible experience. Extremely small tanks for large 1mtr+ fish, turtles, rays. Water quality is very very bad in the large tanks, green algae and very murky. Large outdoor enclosures are stagnant and covered in green algae. Aquatic life covered in algae. To top all this off the whole time we could hear a horrible distressful scream coming from the direction of the seal enclosure. We left before going near the seal enclosure but can only assume the screaming was coming from a caged seal.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Frazzle35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2017

This tour was part of our package. The venue is really dirty and the rubbish floating in the water surrounding it is really horrid. They did have two of the oldest men on the planet trying to scoop the rubbish out but i suspect it was more for show than actually to clean up.
There are a variety of fish in rather small tanks along with some pretty tired looking sea horses and eels. The tanks just seemed so filthy.
Outside there were two large ocean type pools, one had some very large fish in it but you could barely see them as the water was filthy and i did wonder how the poor things breathed. The other contained 7 really large sea turtles, again the water was filthy so unless the poor things were right on the surface you would never be able to see them.
I was really shocked when some Chinese tourists went right into the water and started pulling on their flippers i bought this to the attention of our guide but he insisted that this was ok and that we could do it too as it was good luck. We chose not to tug at them.
There was another enclosed pool area, i don't know what was in it but they were trying to entice them with prawns on a fishing line. At that point we decided it was time to leave.
I would not recommend this as a tourist attraction. I think as Australians we are so lucky with our beatiful aquariums, zoos and nature parks that places like this in Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand just upset us. Do yourself a favour and stay away.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Glammaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tri Nguyen aquarium also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Tri Nguyen aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing