We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely it was not a 5-star stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang
Ranked #5 of 194 Hotels in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely it was not a 5-star stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We started our great 45-day Asian holidays from 5 days stay in Nha Trang Evason Ana Mandara resort. Entirely in Vietnam we spent 17 days in several different places, then two and a half weeks in a number of points on Sri Lanka and finally we ended with amazing week in the Maldives in also a 5-star resort (at the same price but the sight better).

When traveling we chose a different standard places from 3 to 5 stars following the opinions more than price. Unfortunately Evason Ana Mandara was not our lucky choice.

Place from the beginning gives the impression of a 5-star resort, is large, well-designed, you can choose between the beach and two swimming pools, and prices in the restaurant are 10-fold higher than those in restaurants nearby in the city but ok, ultimately we decided for that.

However from current perspective this price $300 a day for accommodation with breakfast seems to be crazy and surreal in country where you can find really great spots for $100 and decent for $50. We visited many beautiful places in Vietnam for much lower amounts and we had much greater satisfaction and for the same price on Maldives we had all inclusive on amazing island.

The worst experience of staying at the resort was the fact that during last night in our villa appeared a mouse (noise accompanied us for several previous nights, but we ignored it). The person from service attempted at 4 a.m. to remove the mouse from our bedroom, but to no avail.

Proposed compensation from the reception was a basket of fruit and consent for a late checkout. This did not improve our moods and disgust remained.

Finally, if you're lucky and do not hit the mouse in your room, you can get to like this place, especially if you love to overpay. Good luck!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMNT, General Manager at Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear David H
Thank you for posting your review. I was of course disappointed to read your comment. A sharp contrast from the reviews listed before and after yours. I am very sorry that you had to endure the visit of a “little friend” in your room, our pest control is very rigorous but when considering that we are in the middle of 26 000 Sqms of Tropical garden and all villas being a one storey building such occurrence is extremely rare (see other reviews on this site). As per our pricing structure I am again sorry that it was not to your liking but I believe match a typical 5 star international resort and when comparing us to others similar in Vietnam, Ana Mandara remains very competitive. $40-50 for a great dinner on the beach with good English speaking hosts and quality ingredients is what we offer. Yes you have much cheaper in town, but….I shall leave as usual reviewers to have a look at others feedback and make up their own mind.
Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to post your honest feedback and I was delighted to read that the rest of your 45 days Asian Adventure went well
Best Regards
Nicolas Peth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    219
    53
    33
    9
See reviews for
218
636
45
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

By coincidence we have been spending a few days in this most excellent resort nearby a busy center but once you entered the resort you left the city and it's noisy scooters behind and came in another world. A world of piece, calmness, tranquillity, relaxation. We were hosted by very friendly hostesses at the reception and a personal customer relation manager that took care for you. the bungalows were just perfect in complete harmony with nature and full of what you can expect from a 5 star hotel. A real view on the beach from your private terrace a few steps away from the beach when you left your personal garden next to a superb swimming pool, gorgeous warm water both the swimming pool as the crystal-clear ocean, haute cuisine kitchen, romantic dining on the beach, amazing breakfast buffet full of what nature offers, a incredible variety of fresh fruit juices etc etc Highly recommendable to the most demanding customer or tourist who looks for a peaceful holiday in a paradise surrounding. Your six senses are really served and six stars deserved.

Room Tip: deluxe bungalow with sea view near to the swimming pool and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller2004_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMNT, General Manager at Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear traveller2004_10
Thank you for posting your great review. I was delighted to read that you had such a fantastic time with us. Yes we are like a little Oasis in the middle of Nha Trang being the only resort located directly on the beach and not on the other side of the boulevard. Thank you so much for praising all our different food options, people on this site sometimes comment about the price but the offering I believe is simply the best in town and the location is second to none…..Six Stars it is then…
Let’s hope we can see you again very soon
Best Regards
Nicolas Peth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I think this is the nicest hotel I've ever stayed at. The villa we had was on the beach and beautiful, with an open air shower/bath, massive bathroom, 4 poster bed, gorgeous balcony where we had a delicious lunch and a bottle of champagne. We received welcome chocolates and were invited to the General Managers cocktail party with free drinks to taste. Our free buffet breakfast each morning was amazing... Best buffet breakfast I've ever had with a massive selection of healthy food and drinks. We also had a lovely dinner on the beach, it was set up perfectly and we had our own lovely waiter. The staff were lovely also and more than happy to help us with anything. The spa was a 5 second walk from the villas, they have great massages and services, with green tea and fresh fruit afterwards! Was sad to leave !!!

Room Tip: Pay that little extra for a villa on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loz8255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMNT, General Manager at Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Loz8255
What an “Amazing” review, thank you so much for posting it. You really enjoyed your time with us and I was glad to read it. Yes our unique location right on the beach makes us very special and it is all for the enjoyment of our customer. Glad you also enjoyed the Spa, it is after all one of our main trademark. Let’s hope we can see you back soon for some more.
Best Regards
Nicolas Peth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

It is very hard to write a poor review about any 5-star hotel because most people loved their stay so you sound like an embittered oddball but I will try to stay fact-oriented and objective as in other reviews. First, the beach setting is very nice and the hotel's amenities (pool, restaurants, tennis court) are on par with any other five-star hotel. If you add to this a friendly staff typical of many resorts in South East Asia, you could wonder why we are so disappointed. First of all, despite a lovely view on the beach, rooms (superior seaview villa) are pretty small again compared to other asian resorts and the staff did not respect our pillow preferences but this was absolutely not an issue for us. What was problematic on this first night is that we did not have hot water in the bathroom and very low pressure as if too many people tried to take a shower simultaneously. Forced to take a shower after "rush hour" (after dinner), we filled in the guest comment card to ask them to check this out. The next day we did not bother asking about the water pressure issue as we expected it (as in any 5-star resort) to be fixed diligently when we were out. However, we had the same issue when we tried to take a shower again around 6-7pm... No hot water and no pressure. After dinner we decided to complain at the front desk and while people were very nice, they said their manager would get back to us only on the next morning. So we patiently waited till the next morning when the front desk just called to say that we would be offered a free lunch to compensate us. Nice inititiative off course but we would have appreciated first that they solve our issue on day one and also a more personal interaction (not on the phone but face to face, some justification about what happened and maybe an apology). All in all, we were only slightly upset because of the inconvenience of not being able to shower but the process of handling our complaint was much more frustrating (and I do not even want to insist on the fact that it is a 600 USD per night resort in VIETNAM not a 400 USD one so you would expect the best customer care ever!).
On our last night, we went to bed pretty eaarly... to find out that rooms are very poorly insulated! Our neighbours were quiet and respectful but when they walked back to their room and switched on the TV, it woke us up as if our TV was on. The next morning they received a phone call pretty early and again it felt as if our phone was ringing. Even worse, we managed to go back to sleep but an hour later their alarm clock went on... Unfortunately the neighbours were at breakfast already so the alarm went on and on and it was so loud in our room that we had to get up. We decided to call directly the GM as there was a direct line from our phone in the room so that he could also hear it first-hand but no one picked up the phone... Annoying and terribly disappointing. While this hotel like many others wants to promote local and authentic architectural style, it does not deliver on a very basic attribute like insulation and this attribute is crucial for any hotel from a basic B&B to a palace... Even more annoying when you cannot get the GM on the phone and when you know that Six Senses offer revolves around a concept called SLOW LIFE and that mobile phones were strictly prohibited in the public areas of the resort...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ly-Antho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMNT, General Manager at Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Ly-Antho
Thank you for posting your review. Well of course I was really disappointed to read that whilst you enjoyed some aspects of your stay with us it was not entirely to your satisfaction. Please let me first apology for some of the inconvenience encountered. It comes as a sharp reminder that complacency cannot be tolerated at our level. The engineer that was made aware of your hot water problem did not fix the situation properly that day so it had to be done again; also I have no words to explain why we did not follow our normal procedure to get back to you face to face but instead choose to use the phone. Your constructive feedback has been shared with all involved with your stay as clearly we have not been as good as usual with you stay and I am truly very sorry for it.
I guess the above was enough to make you be really on the “back foot” hence the most possible irritation with your neighbors TV and Alarm clock as reviewer will see that it is not a common problem in our resort
Finally I am very sorry that you were not able to get me on the phone that day. I spend on average more than 10 hours a day at the resort 6 days a week……but not all next to my phone. A simple request to reception would have guaranteed my availability
Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to post your feedback and again I must held my hand up and acknowledge that not everything went according to plan. Please accept again my sincere apology.
Let’s hope we can “regain our color” should you decide to visit us again in the near future (or some friend and family) , please get in touch with me directly so I can personally look after your booking
Best Regards
Nicolas Peth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Set in nice grounds with a couple of good pools, the hotel is a really nice environment. The rooms are a good size with a seating area outside, lots of nice little extras in the rooms too. Bathroom was great, lacked a decent light to shave as too much mood lighting. Staff were very good. Food nice but over priced as was nice rather than excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BILLYSE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMNT, General Manager at Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear BILLYSE21
Thank you for posting your review. Glad to read that you had a very good time with us and that you were particularly pleased by the location, our 2 newly refurbished swimming pools and the great service offered by our hosts. I have taken on board your comment about the pricing of our menu. It is rather subjective and varies from one review to another but never the less we do pay a lot of attention to it so thank you for mentioning it. Let’s hope we can see you again soon
Best regards
Nicolas Peth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This has to be one of the five nicest places that I have ever stayed in over 30 years of international travel. We stayed there as weakened typhoon brought light rain into the region, and had cloudy skies the next two days. But the beachfront was gorgeous, the water sumptuous - I can only imagine what it must have been like during the warmer months!
The rooms were very well appointed; we particularly liked the open-air bath/shower and the four-poster beds.
The staff was very attentive and helpful.
The pools and other facilities were great.
The restaurant was excellent. Breakfasts were buffet and tremendous quality. For dinner one night, we experienced samples from several various regional cuisines cooked individually by different chefs.
The location was quite close to an area of Nha Trang with local restaurants and bars, so there were things to do outside the complex as well.
Well worth the trip, especially to wind down after seeing the sites in Ho Chi Minh City.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMNT, General Manager at Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Dear Richard P
Thank you for posting your review. Well yes if you do like us during bad weather then please come back outside of the rainy season to experience perfect paradise. Thank you for mentioning some of our great selling point like our host, service and location. It was also very nice to see that your particularly enjoyed our offering in our restaurants. Let’s hope we can see you soon again…..in perfect weather
Best regards
Nicolas Peth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband booked this as a surprise honeymoon. We'd discussed a variety of honeymoon destinations beforehand but my husband made the final decisions and made the bookings. He didn't tell me where we were going until our wedding day. When we arrived I was blown away. The resort is stunning. There's an amazing attention to detail and nothing is too much to ask - the service they provide is very much bespoke.
We stayed in a garden room villa which was beautiful. The food was amazing. There was nothing we could fault, it was truly a.m.a.z.i.n.g, the resort made our very special honeymoon even more special

Room Tip: You pay more for a sea room vila, we were able to see the sea from our garden villa. Whilst the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarabell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAMNT, General Manager at Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Clarabelle 123
Happy days!!!! Thank you for posting your great review. Another very satisfied customer. It is always delightful for the team here to know that their effort have been recognized especially when a very special occasion. We are all delighted you had a stunning stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back for the first anniversary.
Best regards
Nicolas Peth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
2.2 km away
InterContinental Nha Trang
InterContinental Nha Trang
#3 of 194 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
2.4 km away
Sheraton Nha Trang Hotel and Spa
4.8 km away
Vinpearl Luxury Nha Trang
Vinpearl Luxury Nha Trang
#7 of 194 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 km away
L’Alyana Ninh Van Bay
L’Alyana Ninh Van Bay
#4 of 194 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
19.3 km away
Fusion Resort Nha Trang
Fusion Resort Nha Trang
#8 of 194 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.4 km away
Novotel Nha Trang
Novotel Nha Trang
#9 of 194 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang

Property: Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang
Address: Beachside Tran Phu Boulevard | Khanh Hoa, Nha Trang 57000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nha Trang
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nha Trang
#4 Family Hotel in Nha Trang
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nha Trang
#5 Spa Hotel in Nha Trang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nha Trang
#6 Business Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evason Ana Mandara is NhaTrang’s only beachfront resort. Its 74 accommodations in semi-detached garden villas, many with breath-taking views across the bay, offer classic Vietnamese touches. Dining choices include local, regional and international cuisine, with a selection of dishes that provide endless culinary experiences. The resort features an interesting blend of classic regional Vietnamese cooking with contemporary fusion. Most ingredients are sourced from local markets and rural Vietnam.The Six Senses Spa presents a Vietnamese experience of specialty treatments together with an extensive menu of traditional therapies that provide a truly relaxing and revitalizing experience to rejuvenate the senses. Skilled therapists create sensory journeys, with a medley of holistic wellness and pampering treatments. These include beauty services, manicure-pedicure and foot reflexology, using only natural products.Evason Ana Mandara is not only the perfect location for relaxation and tranquillity but the family-friendly resort also offers a diverse range of excursions and experiences to ensure that guests have an unforgettable stay. There is on-site tennis, the Kid’s Club, beach volleyball, and a water-activity centre, plus a PADI Dive Centre and a wide variation of dive excursions. In addition to being a perfect setting for weddings, there is a dedicated conferencing facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evason Ana Mandara Nha Trang Hotel Nha Trang
Evason Ana Mandara Hotel
Hotel Evason Ana Mandara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing