We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian Restaurant of Dhaka is "Prego" of Westin Hotel”
Review of The Westin Dhaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Dhaka
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Dhaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant of Dhaka is "Prego" of Westin Hotel”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

As i leave in dhaka so didnt stayed in Westin but i love the Prego Restaurant. Westin is situated in the middle of dhaka. In my view Prego is the best Italian restaurant of dhaka. Every evening they have live musical shows. The collection of liquor is one of the best. overlooking the city from level 23 is awesome. It is having the Contemporary and Sophisticated Atmosphere. If you love Italian food then you must go to PREGO of Westin Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    324
    95
    23
    19
See reviews for
69
45
80
642
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Not a perfect hotel, but if you must be in Dhaka, this is the place to be. Beautiful room. Service is hit and miss.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BikeArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I used the Westin for a snack and attended a business meeting there.
The coffee shop is certainly very good - but I discovered that the identical cakes, etc, were available across the road in Mr Baker for a fraction of the price.
The meeting was being addressed by a government minister - yet the noise from another event in the next room was still too loud. Good food & service at the lunch though.
I didn't stay the night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesDeans86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

In style of my previous posts, the bad first:

-First room we had shared wall with elevator shaft. Needless to say, it was extremely noisy. First of all, this is really poor architecture. Second of all, this should be informed about when booking. They can ask if noise is ok. Thirdly, they need to heavily discount those rooms, it is not fair to charge the same price for those.
-Second room we had we could hear the conversation from next room. The sound insulation is terrible.
-This room we were moved into we heard the music from the night club. At this point, at 1 o clock in the morning we were exhausted and didnt want to look anymore.
-The shower only had the rain function (water from right above) making it impossible to for example leave conditioner in your hair while washing other parts of the body. Why???

Good:
-They were at least very accepting that the rooms we stayed in were suboptimal. Hence we spent a few hours trying out new rooms.
-Since we were kepy awake until 1 in the morning by moving rooms, they immediatley agreed to late check out without charge at 3 pm in the afternoon.

So this hotel is pretty horrible. The staff is doing their best to deal with a horrible architecture and a managment trying to trick guests into bad rooms. The staff is nice.

And as a new thing in my reviews, I will add recommendations beyond this, thing I seldom find in any hotel:
-Go greener. Ask when booking if one wants less towels and pillows to save water. Does not need to be standard, but an option much like asking for non-smoking rooms.
-If you are doing any efforts like giving food to orphanages, giving employees decent salaries and benefits and good working hours, using bio degradable detergent, inform the guests. Inform them in a way that highlights the benefits to people and environment.
-Include green, fair trade items in the menus. Include organic stuff. Make people think of this as an obvious choice by promoting values of care for others and the environment.
-Make all soaps, shampoos etc bio degradable.

Room Tip: Ask for a silent room, not next to other people and NOT next to elevator shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Uli151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The hotel is very impressive and probably the best I have stayed in in Dhaka. The service can be frustrating at times. I stayed there for 6 weeks and requested milk every day for tea. every day my request was treated as if they had never heard of milk before and they would without fail bring powdered milk first of all before bringing normal milk. trivial I know but it got irritating after a few weeks. "please dont bring powdered milk". "yes sir". Still happened :) nice rooms, expensive room service, good location and the internet was ok.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

All the facilities one wants in a city hotel. Roms a reasonable size and well equipped.Large comfortable beds. Two good restaurants. The Italian was good quality. There was an outstanding choice in the buffet restaurant, sushi/sashimi, seafood, grills, a selection of curries and some other dishes from other countries.Good spa. Cable internet in rooms but wifi could be purchased. Helpful staff. How could the hotel do better ? Use better chemicals to clean towels as they were all grey, Imrprove wifi and offer it without charge, and introduce better cleaning processes as not the most modern used and it showed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka
Level Contributor
279 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Decided to have dinner at Seasonal TASTE restaurant at Westin Hotel, Dhaka. We made reservations for 24 people. Manager asked for a 50% advance but after some wheelin’ and dealin’, bought it down to 20%. As you enter the lobby head for the elevators to the left corner, past the Bakery and hit level 2 for the TASTE restaurant. They reserved a long table for us along the entrance point. The setting is very nice – well laid out, brightly lit, spacious with ample room to maneuver.

The setting is very nice and chic. Now let’s get down to the food. I will start off by saying, it looked a lot more appetizing than it tasted. I started with the soup. Clear Thai soup seemed a better choice than the veg. However, after a couple of spoons, I found myself nonchalantly pushing the bowl aside. I also didn’t find the choice of bread and cheese enticing as both looked it’s been sitting on the counter for a while. The choice of cheese seemed limited and the Swiss was hard and color was not right. Salad bar could have been at any fast food joint and I wouldn’t have known the difference. Very average items and not tasty at all. I was looking forward to a western salad extravaganza but I didn’t find one here. I have seen local restaurants dish up a better spread than this. However, I did venture to the Tempura section and I found the chef dishing out fresh batches tempuras onto the hotplate. I thoroughly enjoyed the shrimp and fish. The accompanying soy sauce was just right. It certainly complimented the light batter of the tempura. In fact I found myself going for seconds. There was also baked salmon served with roasted potatoes and carrots which was delicious. However, the taste went down hill from there. I went to the Indian food section, the dim sung section (just one item), the continental section and finally the local dishes section and there really wasn’t anything to write home about, let alone Trip Advisor. The lamb roulade, Lebanese chicken, chicken biryani were all but average. There is a section when you can choose your meats ( or seafood) and hand it to the chef and he will do a stir fry as you wait. Finally onto the dessert section. However, not much to write about here either. What hit me at the onset was the lack of variety and imagination. A 5 star restaurant could do so much with Desserts ! The spread was not what you would expect from a 5 start joint, though our kids made a killing off the ice cream !
Overall, I will admit that service was top notch, efficient and the waiters made you feel like you were a patron of an upscale dining establishment. However, the good stuff ends there. Dishes lacked flavor and presentation lacked imagination. As I said back there somewhere, not what you would expect from a 5 star establishment. Not cheap either. Cost per head around $45 with soft beverages.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank CanuckinDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dhaka City hotels
2.6 km away
Radisson Blu Dhaka Water Garden
1.1 km away
Lakeshore Banani
Lakeshore Banani
#1 of 81 in Dhaka City
207 reviews
4.8 km away
Le Meridien Dhaka
Le Meridien Dhaka
#3 of 81 in Dhaka City
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Six Seasons Hotel
Six Seasons Hotel
#4 of 81 in Dhaka City
280 reviews
0.4 km away
Amari Dhaka
Amari Dhaka
#6 of 81 in Dhaka City
273 reviews
0.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Dhaka, Gulshan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dhaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dhaka

Property: The Westin Dhaka
Address: Main Gulshan Avenue | Plot-01, Road 45, Gulshan-2, Dhaka City 1212, Bangladesh
Region: Bangladesh > Dhaka Division > Dhaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dhaka City
#2 Business Hotel in Dhaka City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dhaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dhaka 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, revive, and experience renewal at The Westin Dhaka - the five-star hotel in Gulshan. Nestled in the new business district, we are steps from renowned shopping malls, foreign missions, restaurant, art, private clubs, and multinationals. Refreshing and contemporary, our 241 spacious guest rooms and suites offer modern amenities. Restore the body and expand the mind with the pure relaxation of our signature Heavenly Bed(R). The oversized four-fixture bathroom with Heavenly Shower(R) ensures you feel refreshed. Every guest room offers a generous workspace and High Speed Internet Access. Five contemporary meeting venues offer over 2,000 square meters of functional space. This includes state-of-the-art meeting and banquet facilities featuring LED lighting for an extensive variety of lighting effects, customized projections, and a sound system in the Westin Grand Ballroom. The Westin Dhaka offers nourishing dining for every taste and style from fresh, authentic Italian to Pan Asian and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dhaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dhaka Hotel Dhaka City
Westin Dhaka City
Dhaka City Westin
The Westin Dhaka Dhaka Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing