We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local food, budget price, fun experience”
Review of Tamu Selera

Tamu Selera
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 31, 2017

I ate here the first night I arrived as it is close to the Capital Residence Suites hotel. I was nervous because it's essentially food stalls with covered outdoor seating but I had a wonderful meal of chicken sambal. It poured rain while I was there but there is covered seating. The lady at my food stall was very nice and had a menu in English. I liked it so much I ate here again later. I was the only westerner and it was a great local experience.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Over60Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 16 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2017

For those looking for Ayam Penyet fix...u gotta visit Stall #7 (my best) which is a row tucked behind Tamu selera; not in the main walkway.

Just ask around...Ayam penyat area~..whole stretch sells ayam penyet. But do go for stall number 7~!
Whole place looks run down and etc; but yea...best ayam penyet in Brunei for me

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank mynature_kingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2017

We stayed at Capital Residence Suites(recommend it!) and this place is in close walking distance. Great choice for dinner if you want local food, budget meal and don't mind sitting outside. We especially liked the Tahu Isi (fried bean curd stuffed with veggies, served with sauce) from stall 4 and the BBQ grilled chicken at stall G-26. We had also tried the night market closer to airport (which is more like a school food fair with stalls where u get the food to go or eat picnic style). This place is more like an outdoor food court where restaurants are set up right next to each other for covered yet outdoor dining. I would go again.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yanori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2017

Food was very nice.
Feeing hungry for seafood, but on budget. This a the place.
Variety of seafood platter to choose from

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank waie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2017

old style foodcourt, outdoor style and not for the fussy type of people. nice, budget food. inside town area.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank azanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamu Selera also viewed

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei-Muara District
 

Been to Tamu Selera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing