We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orchid Garden Hotel
Reviewed 2 January 2018

The hotel over all was fine. Clean, albeit a little dated, comfortable bed. But no WIFI at all! Systems were down apparently. Felt a little disconnected from the rest of the world. Luckily it was a short stop over. Breakfast was OK too. Close to the airport. Unfortunately our room was a little noisy with strange banging but we couldn't tell where it was coming from!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SquiddyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2017

The staff here is friendly and if you're an athlete, the location is right next to some wonderful sports facilities that are free to the public. But there is lots of problems: Orchid is far from everything and it's expensive to get around. The wifi is spotty at best. Brunei is blessed with very clean air but not this hotel. Although they advertise non-smoking rooms and floors and threaten a fine if not observed, there were people smoking in our hallway and in their rooms constantly. The rooms are a bit stuffy and damp and some seem to have mold. The gym is worst of all with equipment that is old and to the point of being dangerous and their is almost certainly mold in the gym. I've attached pics.

Room Tip: ask to smell the rooms first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jack_maaruf, Director of Operations at Orchid Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Scott S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about our hotel here in trip advisor. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services.

The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our related department. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it had caused you.

We are committed to you our valued guests, and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback, our apologies again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in our hotel to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.


best regards,
Mohd Iswandi Maaruf
Director of Operations
jack@orchidgardenbrunei.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

This is quite old hotel; for business trip is fine as the hotel is very near to airport. The room is clean but the towels is just too old, really need to be changed. The wifi is slow and difficult to detect the wifi connection in the room. The breakfast is just so-so .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank chin570909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jack_maaruf, Director of Operations at Orchid Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Chin570909,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about our hotel here in trip advisor. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services.

The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our related department. I understand your frustration, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it had caused you.

We are committed to you our valued guests, and are taking immediate corrective steps to regain your confidence in us.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback, our apologies again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in our hotel to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.


best regards,
Mohd Iswandi Maaruf
Director of Operations
jack@orchidgardenbrunei.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Rude bosses out to go every last penny. Refused to extend our check out without being charged a full night after a Friday in our flight. They even then charged us a taxi fare to have our bags moved over to a new hotel who had agreed to put us up.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank allenja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jack_maaruf, Director of Operations at Orchid Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear allenja,

On behalf of the Hotel, we are sorry for your feelings with regards to the matter of your request for the extension of stay. As you may know, this week is a very busy period for Brunei and Hotels especially, due to the Golden Jubilee celebrations for His Majesty, The Sultan of Brunei. Due to the high occupancy period, we have set policies and guidelines to follow and we have back to back checkins especially during the nights of your stay. I believe our staff did inform you and your partner/colleague of the room rates for an extension of stay, which you unfortunately did not agree on. There was no ill intention from our reception staff and we were more than willing to extend your stay on the rate offered. I hope you understand that we are a business and anywhere in the world, with high occupancy periods, there are certain conditions set and clearly informed to guests.

Thank you


best regards,
Mohd Iswandi Maaruf
Director of Operations
jack@orchidgardenbrunei.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is average at best with dangerous electrical works in the room and poor bathroom facilities.

The secret bar on le el 2 is too smokey and dark to be enjoyable.

When asked of the possibility of checking out late due to a flight cancellation the hotel refused to accept a short stay extension of four hours and tried to charge more than the previous nights stay.

Very unreceptive to helping customers, especially those affected by last minute alterations made by the national airline. Extremely dissapointing experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jack_maaruf, Director of Operations at Orchid Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Tom M,

On behalf of the Hotel, we are sorry for your feelings with regards to the matter of your request for the extension of stay. As you may know, this week is a very busy period for Brunei and Hotels especially, due to the Golden Jubilee celebrations for His Majesty, The Sultan of Brunei. Due to the high occupancy period, we have set policies and guidelines to follow and we have back to back checkins especially during the nights of your stay. I believe our staff did inform you and your partner/colleague of the room rates for an extension of stay, which you unfortunately did not agree on. There was no ill intention from our reception staff and we were more than willing to extend your stay on the rate offered. I hope you understand that we are a business and anywhere in the world, with high occupancy periods, there are certain conditions set and clearly informed to guests.

Thank you


best regards,
Mohd Iswandi Maaruf
Director of Operations
jack@orchidgardenbrunei.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

i stayed at this hotel and was very surprised how good it was,normally i stay at the times square hotel in the shopping complex but this time royal brunei airlines sent me to stay o/nite.with shuttle bus to shopping ,a good restaurant and large rooms with great hot water and very good staff-you could be very happy here.i was on my way to bangkok and will return,thanks again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 250austraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jack_maaruf, Director of Operations at Orchid Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear 250austraveller,

I sincerely thank you for the kind words and the good comments that made your stay memorable and enjoyable. Comments like this continue to inspire us to do better in servicing our guests and clients.

Rest assured that the compliments will be extended to the people who helped to creating memorable total experiences to your stay.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.


best regards,
Mohd Iswandi Maaruf
Director of Operations
jack@orchidgardenbrunei.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Stayed for two nights at the Orchid Garden Hotel for a business trip. It is located a distance away from the downtown but there is a shuttle bus to the nearest mall. The wifi is terrible but the breakfast is good. Very near to the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Damien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jack_maaruf, Director of Operations at Orchid Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Damien M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Orchid Garden Hotel Brunei. I sincerely apologize on the wifi connection you experience here.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback, our apologies again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in our hotel to replace the negative impression with a more positive one.

Best regards,
Mohd Iswandi Maaruf
Director of Operations
jack@orchidgardenbrunei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
5.1 km away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
209 reviews
4.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,204 reviews
4 km away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#13 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Times Hotel
Times Hotel
#14 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
80 reviews
4.9 km away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
379 reviews
4.3 km away
The Rizqun International Hotel
The Rizqun International Hotel
#7 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Garden Hotel

Address: Simpang 9 Kg Anggerek Desa Lot 31954 | Jalan Berakas, Bandar Seri Begawan BB3713, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range: $79 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 147 business class hotel, strategically located between the Brunei International Airport, the International Convention Centre and the Government Offices. Being closest hotel to the RBA Golf Club, it is also an ideal place to stay for a short golf vacation. With the full fledge Amanha Spa, guests can relax after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Orchid Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orchid Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing