We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River 108”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River 108 Boutique Hotel
Ranked #49 of 335 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This hotel has a small single shopfront entrance, so easily missed if you're not familiar with the area. The street in front of the hotel is cluttered with parked cars, tuk tuks & motorbikes, much like the rest of Phnom Penh. Fortunately the taxi driver knew where the place was, and I had a map & directions as backup.

The hotel staff were on hand as soon as the taxi pulled up outside the hotel, and picked up my suitcase as soon as it came out of the taxi. Checkin was quick & efficient, I handed over the booking coupon from the travel agent, they photocopied my passport, and I went straight up to my room. No lift, this hotel has only three floors. I had booked for a single, but in the end I got a double. This was one of the rooms at the side of the hotel, so no balcony. No problem, I didn't travel to the other side of the planet to sit on a balcony. The airconditioning seemed slow to cool the room at first, but the next evening it performed much better, so possibly the room had been vacant for a day or so. I set the temperature at 25C with the ceiling fan on slow during the day, & switched the fan off at night. This still got a bit chilly at night, even on the lowest setting. There was a large flat screen TV, I found Channel V for music (number 7 on the remote). The room had good lighting, I counted 16 lamps in the room including the bathroom. But there were four switches at the bedside with different mood configurations, so possibly not all meant to be switched on at once. The bedside lamps were dimmable. Free drinking water in the room topped up daily, plus tea & coffee making stuff, and a minibar. The bathroom had good hot water, bathroom goodies including toothbrushes, soap, & shower cap. A comfortable kingsize bed, clean, with a medium density mattress, on a solid unsprung base. Hotel is guest-friendly. The hotel looks like it was built a long time ago, bathroom fittings are badly fitted or broken, the composite flooring is cracked in several places. A leaking water pipe behind the bathroom mirror had rotted the bottom edge of the mirror frame, and leaves a small pool of water around the sink. However, the room as a whole was clean, and the staff were friendly.

Breakfast was at the Fish restaurant a couple of doors down the street towards the waterfront, 7-10am, a choice of cooked or continental. I thought the amount served was adequate for breakfast.

I had a late flight, but had to check out of my room as it had been booked for that night. I managed to get another room for a shower that evening, this turned out to be the only single room in the place. This room was smaller than my double, with a smaller double bed. No ceiling fan. A good sized walled balcony, with balcony furniture, wide enough for a bit of discrete sunbathing. I noticed small monkey pawprints up the wall alongside the balcony, cute, but LOCK the balcony doors when you leave the room if you don't want these small creatures to get into your room and trash the place!!!

Taxi from the airport cost $9 fixed price, and took about 20 minutes late at night. Return taxi ride to airport took about 30 minutes, late evening, I paid $9 again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manchoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

River 108 is one of the hotels that I would stay in without a doubt if I went to Cambodia.

The staff really goes the extra mile to help and assist you. Being a boutique hotel with not many rooms, the staff are very attentive and know your name. Even the cleaners are friendly.

The bed is big, very comfortable. Rain shower with a big tub. Big balcony for lounging (although it can be a bit noise during weekends if there's an event near the market). Nice hearty breakfast. Great location at the Riverside, without being at the center of all the restaurants and entertainment spots for it to be noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MingChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, staff friendly and helpful
Rooms clean, not actually on the river road itself but this is fine fairly quiet but I do not mind a bit of noise from the street after all Cambodia can be a bit noisy at night
Great work by all the staff and management

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stereodavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed in one of the top floor suites for three nights. Spacious and tastefully decorated room with a sitting area leading out onto a large furnished terrace with lots of greenery. Very comfortable king size bed, good air conditioning and well equipped bathroom with excellent shower. Extremely kind, friendly and efficient staff who went out of their way to help and advise; they will organise chuk chuk and car hire (with driver) for trips to The Killing Fields, etc. at very reasonable prices.The hotel is next to the river and opposite a night market which has some excellent authentic eating options. PP's main sights are all within walking distance and buses and ferries for Siem Reap and south into Vietnam leave from less than 200 metres away. Breakfast is included and served in the bar next door.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilesMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The hotel is conveniently located, right in front of the weekend night market and very close to the old market.

We came to Phnom Penh from Siem Reap by bus, and the bus arrived right in front of the weekend night market area, so this hotel was 2-minute walk from the bus terminal.
The bus company we used was Sokha Komar Tep Express Limoiusine Bus.

Some reviews mentioned how noisy the place can be on weekend night, but we only stayed there for weekdays, so it was very quiet at night.

The room was clean and spacious.
Only a tiny downside is that they don't have shampoo nor conditioner, so if you are staying in this hotel, you would want to bring your own.

During our stay, we wanted to do some sight seeing, so we asked for Tuk-Tuk. Hotel staff arranged Tuk-Tuk for 9AM-4PM, visiting Central Market, S-21 museum, Killing Field and National Museum for 20 USD.
The driver spoke little English, just enough to communicate minimum things.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ganesha-shiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

River 108 is located at the riverfront right next to where the weekend night market is and a block away from the old market so if you want to have local food it's always nearby. If you'd rather have international cuisine, then the long riverfront stretch of restaurants and cafes is yours for the picking.

Rooms are spacious and modern. This is quite a new place so all the fittings are sleek and clean. Stayed in a standard suite on the 3rd floor which faced a small alley and the "windows that allow natural light but no views" were frosted glass and part of a little window balcony with a a simple row of potted plants. The free aromatherapeutic soaps provided in the bathroom were a very nice addition. The only minor gripes I had were that there were no power points by the bed, which means charging your devices next to the TV or somewhere else, and that the glass screen separating the shower and tub area from the rest of the bathroom wasn't large enough and water splashes out onto the bathroom floor.

But overall, the room was a pleasant and comfortable escape from the humidity and bustle outside and the staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: 1. If you don't want the noise, avoid River 108 during the weekends as the weekend night market...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eightysixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Great location friendly staff, great service, I will be back next week

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 km away
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
0.4 km away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#18 of 278 in Phnom Penh
638 reviews
0.5 km away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#90 of 278 in Phnom Penh
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#61 of 278 in Phnom Penh
608 reviews
0.6 km away
Vacation Boutique Hotel
Vacation Boutique Hotel
#28 of 278 in Phnom Penh
173 reviews
0.4 km away
TAO Riverside Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River 108 Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River 108 Boutique Hotel

Address: Number 2 Street 108, Sankat Vat Phnom, Phnom Penh 12202, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 335 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $51 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River 108 Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2009, River 108 is a modern, 12-room, boutique hotel located just off the Tonle Sap river in Phnom Penh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your River 108 Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing