We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel In The Heart Of The Riverfront District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #85 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The Lux Hotel is located just steps from the the river-front on Street 136 in the heart of Phnom Penh's tourist district. It has been open about a year so all is fresh and new and it features both short-stay rooms and long-stay mini-suites. The Deluxe rooms are spacious, with large comfortable king-size beds and bathrooms with showers and are great value for around US$ 40 per nite. Standard rooms are a little less. There is an elevator and security is good both in the lobby and the rooms. There are some of the rooms are "interior" rooms with no outside views (as is common in PP) but this can be a plus as it cuts down on outside noise. There is free wi-fi internet access in the lobby as well as free use of desktop computers as well. In-room wi-fi must be purchased separately.

The location is convenient to all the restaurants, tourist services, and shopping to be found along the river-front. It is a short walk or taxi ride to the Royal Palace and the National Museum district. The Central Market is within walking distance as well, as is the US Embassy for those who may have business there.

For anyone looking for clean, secure, convenient location to stay in Phnom Penh, I would direct them to the Lux Hotel anytime.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonnieBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2011

I have read the other reviews and did not have the problems that some of the other members did. This was my third stay at this hotel and I agree that there was construction work happening on the ground floor which was a bit bothersome if you were in the reception area or on the computers in the foyer. We heard no noise at all in our room.

The only problem we experienced was with the remote controls in the room as they were all in Chinese and not English. Sounds silly but we had a terrible time trying to operate the air-conditioning and Television.

The rooms were large and kept clean. The shower was also large and clean. Breakfast consisted of a set menu with 2 fried eggs , a small piece of ham or bacon and 2 small sausages or you could have an Asian style breakfast of fried rice. Also included was tea or coffee with orange juice cordial (not real orange juice). The meal was cooked when we arrived so it was delivered hot to the table.Certainly not 5 star but enough for a short overweight Aussie like myself.

The staff were very friendly, like most Cambodians. The hotel is accross the road from bars that do appear to be hostess clubs (If that is a nice way to put it) However, we did not see prostitutes in the hotel and fellow guests did no look unclean or lower class. The hotel had security 24 hours a day.

It is very close to the river and although we only had a view of the wall of the building beside us we found this hotel to worthy of our return in November.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldCoastTezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Construction work started at 8am and went on throughout the day on most days. No discount offered by the management, who are not interested in the customer. The stay was paid for in advance. I understand there is new management at the hotel, the previous management were excellent when I stayed there before. This hotel has potential, but not under this style of management.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank ACM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

There was construction going on all over the hotel. The fumes were intoxicating and the noise unbearable! No discount was offered for the inconvenience, even after raising this with staff. The breakfast is awful and not worth getting. Go elsewhere for breakfast. The internet was fast and the rooms large and spacious.

Has potential, but I wouldn't recommend it. We left and found accommodation for half the price with friendlier staff at the Cozyna Hotel, just around the corner.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank SeekMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Got a big room with a queen bed w/o breakfast for $35.
Redoing the lobby at the time so looked like a construction yard.
Some rooms have no windows to the outside, but being in the center of the city that may be a good thing (less noise).
One block to river and all the restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JpnMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were quiet, bed very comfortable. Free high speed internet in the lobby. Breakfast was very marginal, and rather inefficiently served, but staff tried to respond to our requests for some additions to the food options. Only one block to the beautiful river walk, and a variety of affordable restaurants--and to the best ice cream ever! About a 10 minute walk to the central market, five minutes to the palace complex. Good place to stay, would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Stayed here at the end of a 3 week budget trip to Cambodia. Hotel is set back about a building from the noisy waterfront.
Our large twin room was one row back from the street w ith a window looking out onto the front row block. The advantage was that the room was very quiet.
Room had been newly furnished not long ago..beds firmish but extremely comfortable.
Tea and coffee facilities provided ..a bonus! Small fridge, usual TV with many Asian channels, safe in the wardrobe. Room light controls by the bed also..very handy for those too lazy to get up!
Bathroom had large shower recess, lovely tiled mural above the toilet. Good range of toiletries. Hairdryer was built in and rather ineffective. A swivel magnified mirror was provided.
Unfortunately the furniture was veneered (as was the floor) and water marks easily..will be a problem for management to keep looking good.
Computers avail in lobby free of charge. Lift in the hotel.
Staff were very professional and allowed us to check out at 1400 with no added cost.
Breakfast was so-so served to the table... the usual fried eggs, heaps of bread on the plate, tea coffee or bottled juice. The kitchen staff very kindly provided me with noodle (instant) soup for breakfast, as I asked why they dont offer any Cambodian options.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussierover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 km away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#107 of 272 in Phnom Penh
228 reviews
0.1 km away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#27 of 272 in Phnom Penh
398 reviews
0.0 km away
Golden House International
Golden House International
#66 of 272 in Phnom Penh
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#64 of 272 in Phnom Penh
416 reviews
0.2 km away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#52 of 272 in Phnom Penh
480 reviews
0.1 km away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#77 of 272 in Phnom Penh
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments

Address: No 2, Street 136 | Sangkat Phsar Kandal Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $49 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Riverside Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing