We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, spotless room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #84 of 272 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed two weekends in one of their new Deluxe rooms at $50 per night. Excellent furnishing, linens and everything spotless. Hot and cold breakfast was minimal but acceptable. Wifi is free in the lobby and available in the rooms, but with a charge. Laundry service very good and most items just $1 each. Super location just 30 metres from Sisowath Quay with all its restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe at $50 rather than Superior at $45 in order to get a new room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpinsky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Location a step from riverside. Heaps of bars & restaurants nearby. Deluxe rooms just been refurbished and they're really nice. Fantastic value for money. Superior rooms also good. Depends on your budget. Breakfast included. Not bad for breakfast for Cambodia but staff weren't very good which let it down a little. 4th stay in Phnom Penh and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmajury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is strange hotel and apartment complex on street 136 by the riverfront. As I was staying for one month I took an apartment. However the receptionist lied about the price. Neither the electricity nor the laundry was included. Laundry was not so much of an issue as the apartments have their own washing machine (the top loaders are novel and quite good fun to use as it happens!). However electricity at $0.30 per unit adds over $100 to the cost the monthly rate. This makes Lux vastly overpriced compared to other options.

I was also very grateful for the safe in the hotel room. One morning the cleaner, or should I say the cleaning team arrived consisting of three females and two males. Quite what they did I have no idea as the bathroom tiles have clearly never been scrubbed. The tile grout was covered in mildew.

The bathroom of the original apartment (I changed apartments as the ones facing the street were too noisy) flooded with every shower leaving a pool of water to become stagnant and attract mosquitoes.

The hotel is also in Phnom Penh’s nosiest area, surrounded by night clubs and ‘bars’ which are nothing more than brothels. It is also surrounded by beggars, drug dealers and aggressive tuk tuk drivers.

The reception is area is nicely decorated but you don’t pay to stay somewhere based on the quality of the reception’s floor tiles.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matts g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The location is great close to many restaurants, tourist services, and shopping.

I stayed in one of the newly available deluxe rooms in the 1st floor that have only been completed in the past few months (or so), normally a bit more expensive were were upgraded at no additional charge. The room were fairly averaged sized (smaller than the older rooms) but everything is very new fro the bed, to the cabinets, to the large LCD TV.

The hotel has an elevator (Many don't - worth checking!) on the first floor it was not a big deal but climbing up 3,4 or 5 storeys worth of stairs to get to my room after a long day out in the hot sun, is not for me!

They have free wifi in the lobby, as well as a small internet cafe (free) just around to corner from the front desk. One downside is for wifi use in you room you have to pay. At $5 for 10 hours it is not much however being a more expensive hotel you would think that would be included.

One complaint I had was with the maids. Noe don't get me wrong, they did a fantastic job on the room and were very friendly nice ladies, however they seem to leave their walkie-talkies on the cart (with the volume up very high) outside another room while they cleaned it... The things goes off frequently and I was woken up not once but TWICE on two different mornings.

For a hotel the most important pillar service is rest/sleep, needlessly waking a guest be it at 7am, 10am, 2pm or 5pm is something to be avoided, especially as simply taking the walkie-talkie in the empty room your cleaning and turning the darn volume down (now it does not need to be so loud as it is not 10 feet away from the user) would solve the problem.

If not for this issue would have been Excellent across the board. Would I stay again, you bet! Would I recommend to my friends, family family and associates, absolutely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I stayed in one of their serviced apartments with friends. We had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and i livingroom. The furniture is some outdated and needs maintenance. The place is very close to the boulevard and major tourist attractions. For the price we paid, I cannot find a better place and next time we go back to Phonm Peng we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotelrooms are included breakfast but the apartments not.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Good and decent location at the central of tourist hub in Phnom Penh. Free wifi at lobby but once you stayed at 6th floor then that is, no coverage. Due to its location, I found it is extremely easy to go anywhere by walking. Minimart, massage, cafes, strolling at the riverside area just a few minutes away. Breakfast till 10.30 .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zarratravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We've been at the Lux Apartments for nearly 2 weeks into our 5 week stint. The 2 bedroom apartments are spacious with a pretty well equipped kitchen, lounge, dining area, flat screen TV in both main bedroom and lounge area. Both bathrooms are fairly modern too.
The staff at the front desk are very helpful and polite and organise things fairly well. There is also a recently-opened gym on the 2nd floor with treadmills, skiing machines and exercise bikes.
We're on the 8th floor, directly overlooking the Tonle Sap and Mekong Rivers' convergence - pretty spectacular views - especially now the Tonle Sap is running backwards :)
The hotel is in a grab location, right in the main area of town and next to heaps of good restaurants, mini-marts, bars etc.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartments are cheap and much lighter and airier than the 1 bedroom ones. See if you can...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryCleary_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 km away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 272 in Phnom Penh
398 reviews
0.0 km away
Golden House International
Golden House International
#67 of 272 in Phnom Penh
166 reviews
0.0 km away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#105 of 272 in Phnom Penh
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#51 of 272 in Phnom Penh
479 reviews
0.2 km away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#64 of 272 in Phnom Penh
416 reviews
0.1 km away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#76 of 272 in Phnom Penh
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments

Address: No 2, Street 136 | Sangkat Phsar Kandal Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $49 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Riverside Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing