We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, but no A Club meal discounts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Ranked #7 of 273 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    270
    47
    23
    10
See reviews for
174
447
92
394
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

right upon our arrival at the hotel i knew to have made the right choice. due to my brand new gold membership they upgraded our room to a luxury room, which was very spacious and came with free wifi

the hotel is located a bit down the road from the city centre, but is still an easy walking distance to the royal palace and offers great views of the river. this sofitel has managed very well to create a complete oasis. although the address is at a busy city street, the hotel is set apart from the street by a park, and the rooms/ balconies all have views to the river on the back of the building.

we specifically liked:
- the service, which is just meticulous everywhere in the hotel
- the excellent breakfast buffet – one of the very best i have come across. the selection was just marvelous and everything was delicious
- the swimming pool where we loved to take a dip after a long hot day of sightseeing
- the lovely scent all around the hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PushingTheSenses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDeman, Resident Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra!

I am happy to read that you enjoyed our complimentary upgrade to a luxury room as wel the free WiFi we provide.
We are glad that the meticulous service and the buffet breakfast in our restaurant La Coupole is of the best you came across. It make us happy to see that you enjoyed our lemongrass scent all around the hotel and the hotel swimming pools are top after a long hot day in Phnom Penh.

I want to thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Tripadvisor and I am sure it will help the visitors of this page to make a better decision for their stay.

I want to assure you of the service standards that you experienced at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra are consistent throughout the brand Sofitel worldwide.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

One of the best hotels we have stayed in. From check-in to check-out we thoroughly enjoyed the service we received. Beautiful facilities from the spa, pool and gym. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Arranged a tuk-tuk through the hotel who took us around to see the sights. Only slight downside was there was nowhere to really walk to but the transport was so reasonable this was not a problem. Overall a memorable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgordon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDeman, Resident Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra on your recent trip to Cambodia.

I am glad that you enjoyed your vacation and liked everything that the hotel has to offer.

I want to thank you for taking the time to post your review here on Tripadvisor. We take all the feedback we get very seriously and share all the comments with our management team. This helps in our efforts forward improving the service standards further.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed at the Sofitel Phnom Penh on two counts in February 2012. This hotel fully deserves the five stars awarded to it. Well trained and friendly staff, they always greet you and any moment of the day. Excellent room service, a good bed with spotless bedlinnen, airco working properly without noise. I tried the Japanse and Italian restaurant, the food was great, the wine list just stunning.
A staff at the Japanese restaurant (Ms Danoeum) deserves tumbs up, she facilitated my stay in Cambodia to the extent that i will return to it and stay at Sofitel again. Overall, a great experience.
Paul, Brussels.
February 2012.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDeman, Resident Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and your recent visits at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra.

We appreciate the opportunity to serve you, and are delighted to hear your desire to return.
Thank you for complimenting our service at our Japanese restaurant Hachi and Mrs Danoeum, our Assistant Restaurant Manager, was very pleased with your feedback.

We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed at the hotel for the first time this week. The last Sofitel I stayed at was in Vienna. I could not believe the difference in standards as far as architecture and design are concerned. My first impression upon entering the Lobby was "where are the furniture?" It feels empty and cold in atmosphere.
The staff came to the rescue by being really friendly and courtesy was extended everywhere.
Breakfast was good and could have been better if the egg station was not a mile away from the toaster. By the time my friend picked up his bread for his eggs, they had changed in temperature to the point that he did no longer enjoy them! I know he could have gone about it the other way around - but fact is - he did not!
The Lobby Bar is a pleasure and the young french lady serving us was well trained and in command of good product knowledge! I will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1gazza2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FDeman, Resident Manager at Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback!

We appreciate the opportunity to serve you, and are delighted to hear your desire to return.
We do apologize for the hiccups in our service at breakfast, and have taken the necessary measures to address the setup of the buffet.

Thank you for complimenting our service at our Le Bar and Sarah our management trainee coming from Belgium was very pleased with your feedback.

We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

With best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
3.7 km away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#15 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
1.2 km away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 273 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.1 km away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 273 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,337 reviews
1.7 km away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#5 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
1.7 km away
Arunreas Hotel
Arunreas Hotel
#3 of 273 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra

Property: Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra
Address: 26 Old August Site, Phnom Penh 12101, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#4 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra is set riverside amongst landscaped gardens in the old quarter of the city, neighbouring the largest Mall in Cambodia, Aeon Mall. This stunning well located 12-storey colonial style hotel is close to key attractions, embassies and the central business district. Along with 201 luxurious rooms and suites with Mekong or Bassac river views, this 5-star hotel offers an array of chic restaurants and bars, an upscale spa, two swimming pools, a sports club and the finest conferencing facilities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing