We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything, Perfect for our 1-night stay”
Review of Europe Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Europe Guest House
Ranked #3 of 325 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Close to everything, Perfect for our 1-night stay”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

From our booking process and even up to our stay here, Mr. Seng had been very accommodating and we surely did get what we wanted! We were 3 in total and we availed the A/C room which was spacious enough that we didn't feel cramped at all. There's a small closet for our clothes, a table for our personal things and we even had a cable TV! Although the TV was a such a trivial thing because we were out almost the entire time anyway. Our A/C was functional although it took a while to cool the Cambodian heat which was understandable because April was such a hot month! The heater in the shower was working too and Mr. Seng was considerate enough to forewarn us that it could heat up beyond comfort if not set properly. Since our room was on the 3rd floor, the climb was a bit of an effort but we didn't mind.

When we arrived there, we quickly dropped our bags in our room and we were then ushered by Mr. Seng to Phnom Penh's city map pinned on the lobby's wall. He briefly explained to us all the places of interest, where we could eat the local food, hang out etc. Though it was too much to take in with our minds adjusting the feeling that we were finally in Cambodia, we definitely appreciated him for that.

Europe Guesthouse was perfect for our 1 night stay in Phnom Penh because it was close to everything we wanted to see and do. For the places of interest, most were just a short tuktuk ride away. For food, we only had to walk until the end of Street 136 and there were a lot of food choices along Sisowath Quay and these afforded us relaxing views of the Tonle Sap river.

It's certainly a good location, very affordable and with excellent service on top of that!

Room Tip: If you're particular of the climb up the stairs, you may want to arrange rooms in the 1st or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    266
    57
    27
    12
See reviews for
77
326
149
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights right at the beginning of our trip to Cambodia. The location was amazing and Mr Seng was a wonderful, friendly and helpful man. Him and his staff really made our first few nights in Cambodia memorable.

Our room was large with really good AC, a TV, a bathroom with hot shower and clean towels. It was a budget backpacker place rather than a luxury hotel but for what we needed it was perfect.

The guesthouse felt really safe and secure and although it was right in the middle of everything it was really quiet meaning good night sleeps were had by all of our party.

We had a lovely tuk tuk driver called Ned that the guesthouse had arranged for our airport pick up and we used him throughout our whole time in Phnom Penh. This was really good as he was always waiting for us whenever we needed him.

We were sad to say our goodbyes to Mr Seng and we hope to visit again one day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABandJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Europe GuestHouse. We chose the cheapest room, $20 pn, which is a basic ensuite room, with A/C and flat screen tv. The room was spotless. Mr. Seng and the people working in the hostel are really welcoming and helpful. They gave us all the neccessary information to visit Phnom Penh and recommended us good places to eat. The location is very central. There are a few girly bars near by, but you can find them in almost all the streets in Phnom Penh. The WIFI is quite good in the room. They provide free water and clean the room on a daily basis, and they will help you to book your bus ticket if you need. It is very safe. We highly recommend this hostel if you want to stay in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: Book it in advance, it's a very popular place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hernallini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampot, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Have stayed here every trip to Phnom Penh for the last year.
Mr Seng runs a family business that has safe secure premises where you can have your bike locked away safely on one of the best streets in the best location just back from the river, The Palace, all the bars and restaurants.The doors are locked late in the evening so if you go out late everything is locked away secure and all you eed do is knock on the door and you are home.
The rooms are super clean, quiet, have modern TV's and wifi...what more could you want .
Mr Seng is very very helpful with any information you need or forward travel plans or purchases you want to make..he has all the answers and the knowledge of the best places to go for those bargains , travel sights etc etc...Highly recommended...truely a home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunfighterkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed at Europe Guesthouse for four days in April, when I was in Phnom Penh for some volunteer work. From the first day when I stepped into its quaint lobby, I have been served with smiles by the owner Mr Seng and the super friendly staff of the place. Booking via email was a breeze with Mr Seng. The guesthouse's 'resident' tuk-tuk driver Nak was a warm and welcome sight upon my arrival at the airport. The location is very central with lots of great food around each corner. Check out Mr Seng's 'unofficial tuk-tuk pricing guide map' plastered on the lobby wall ;) very useful in helping to avoid being overcharged by some tuk-tuk drivers!

For the four days that I was there, I always looked forward to coming 'home' to the guesthouse at the end of every day. I was impressed how Mr Seng treated all his staff kindly like family. Mr Seng and the manager Mr Lin provided very useful information and tips on the local going-ons (where to eat, shop, local prices, etc). I got a room at the 3rd floor without a window, but it had a good fan and airconditioner. The bed was comfortable, the floors and bath were clean, and there was even cable TV and free wifi! Mr Seng clearly has his guests' best interests at heart and spared no effort in making me feel at home :) There is nowhere else I would rather stay at in my subsequent trips to PP!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

As a family we stayed here in April, 3 rooms, all good, basic accomodation. Seng and his staff were very helpful at all times. Good shower and towels. It is wonderfully close to the river and heaps of eating places close, night market and central market both close. We also walked to the palace and museum along the riverfront.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0cken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My wife and I are on a budget trip and wanted to stay near the river front (5th to 7th April 2012). This guesthouse was by far the cheapest we could find in this location, good for both the night market and the palace. There are girly bars on the same street, but they are not in your face and they seem to be on most streets in Phnom Penh anyway. The staff at this family run Guest house were great, perhaps the most helpful we met during our trip in Cambodia, always smiling and happy to give advice, information and make arrangements.

We took a cheaper room on the second floor with no window. The room was clean, but looking worn, the sheets were clean but not bright white. There was a slight smell in the bathroom but with the fan running and door closed it didn't bother us. AC unit in the room was silent which was great for sleeping and there was a new flat screen TV with cable channels.

Our room was basic and ok for a couple of nights (I can't comment on the other rooms), it was definitiely the staff that made our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 km away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#16 of 267 in Phnom Penh
551 reviews
0.2 km away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 267 in Phnom Penh
383 reviews
1.5 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,463 reviews
0.7 km away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,624 reviews
0.8 km away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europe Guest House

Property: Europe Guest House
Address: 136 No 51 Eo Street | Street 13 ┴ street 136 at 1 bloc near QUAY SISOWATH, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the cleanest and most conveniently located guesthouses you can find.Flat TV,solar Hot shower,free WiFi,Visa services,airport pick up, bus and Boat tickets reservation. French, English and Chinese spoken.Family room for 4-6 people possible .Room without windows are very quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Europe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing