We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel, quiet gem amongst heat and dust.”
Review of Billabong Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Billabong Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Clean hotel, relaxing feel. Lovely pool , reasonable drinks prices at bar and in room. Friendly helpful staff. Don't be put off by road outside , safe to walk around. Good restaurant Romdeng nearby where they train street teenagers as cooks and waiters. Had a good meal there in a lovely old colonial house.
Would recommend the Billabong Hotel .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrendaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
There are newer reviews for Billabong Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Billabong, they were especially accommodating to our family with our 4 kids. The pool was lovely. I really liked how I could sit in the restaurant and have my kids swimming right there.

The staff was helpful in arranging tourist things that I wanted to do. I do wish, however, they were a bit more warm. Had I not stayed at another hotel locally I would have given this a 5 star, but I stayed at another location for the same cost and found the stuff there more warm and friendly. I guess its a trade off for the lay out of the place.

Room Tip: We liked being near the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanDance2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

I checked out if the hotel earlier on today. I had stayed here for 3 nights.

I arrived from Siem Reap and went straight to the hotel and checked in. I was located on the 2nd floor. When I went to my room which was located at the back of the hotel, I dicscovered that the WiFi wasn't working. I was too far away from the router. I spoke to a member of staff and they tried resetting the router, but this didn't help. They offered to give me a cable to used wired broadband, but as I was using a tablet, this didn't help. Eventually they moved me to a room closer to the router which was perfect.

So WiFi sorted, the room was large-ish with a good sized bathroom. The bed was large and comfortable, but I found sleeping with only a thin sheet a little odd. Daily drinking water is provided and there is plenty of room in the small fridge for you to keep your own drinks cold.

The main attraction of the hotel seems to be the pool. I didn't use it myself, but I did sit by it and did feel the water which was warm.

The restaurant serves a good selection of food and the staff are very helpful indeed. The reception staff are also very helpful and booked my bus ticket to HCMC without fuss.

The hotel is situated on a bit of an unfortunate road. You find this a lot in Cambodia. Good and bad right next to each other. It is a great location in other ways though. You are just around the corner from a big shopping centre which had a wide range of shops including a Luckys supermarket. It is also within easy walking distance of the central market. I also walked to Tuol Sleng and down to the Royal Place and Silver Pagoda. They're not far away, but the roads aren't really designed for pedestrians, what with cars being parked all over the pavements. And if you do decide to walk anywhere, be prepared to say no A LOT as you will be approached by literally hundreds of tuktuk drivers and motorbike drivers.

All in all a good hotel. Quick to respond to problems and very helpful overall.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vfrequent_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Convenient location but economical, we stayed 3 nights with free wi fi and breakfast.
The rooms are clean and the pool is excellent.
Meals and drinks reasonable with heaps of great restuarants close by. They organised our tours and bus transport onto Siam Reap. Overall a very honest and enjoyable experience

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are best but the rear ones are cheaper
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

On the arrival, when you see the hotel from the road seem very bad, but when you enter, you will discover that all it works well; nice friendly staff, helpfully and polite. Room are very well cleaned free wifi working fast; swimming pool not large size, anyway great refreshment when you back after a day tour city visit.
The choice for brakfast is a bit poor, even the quality food are excellent.
I will suggest this hotel if you're coming in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pollone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

we stayed 3 nights at the billabong hotel and it was perfect. good location, vey clean, great staff, cool tiki bar and swimming pool. it started our trip to Cambodia the best way possible. don't hesitate to book a room there !

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carodlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Friendly staff and a lovely pool. This is a really nice hotel with comfortable rooms and a good location. It is great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.7 km away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,648 reviews
0.7 km away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 272 in Phnom Penh
831 reviews
1.0 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#17 of 272 in Phnom Penh
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#73 of 272 in Phnom Penh
366 reviews
0.5 km away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 272 in Phnom Penh
208 reviews
0.7 km away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Hostel

Address: 5, Street 158, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly The Billabong Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 246 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range: $23 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Billabong Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located. Free WIFI. 24 hours Reception. Large saltwater swimming pool and garden. Hot showers. Fully air-conditioned rooms. Inner spring mattresses. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms. Quality Linens. Only minutes from Central Market, Sorya Department Stores. 1km from the Riverfront. Featuring a restaurant and bar with cosy hangout areas around the pool. All our spacious rooms have comfy beds, private showers, toilet facilities, air conditioning, and lockers for your belongings. You'll get a set of bed linen, towel, Wi-Fi as well as maps with all essential information about the going-ons in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Billabong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing