We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis, it really is”
Review of Billabong Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Billabong Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Chanthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Oasis, it really is”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We (couple) spent a week here and will definitely be back; in this price range it would be hard to beat. Previously we've used a couple of places on the riverfront and wanted somewhere more relaxed with a pool, and this is ideal.
Less than 15min walk to riverside/Sisowath, 5min to Sorya Shopping Centre/cinemas and a further 3 from there to Central Markets. Plenty of small restaurants in the area, or the hotel one if you want to stay in.
Really rate the staff - all so cheerful - must have a good boss! - it does make a difference. Good breakfast selection included in daily rate, about 60 cable channels maybe 15 in English language - not that we went to watch TV but was nice to relax at times. Pool is saltwater filtered, 10-12m long and deep enough for lap swimming.
Quiet at night, clean rooms tidied daily, and a larger room safe than many hotels have. Again - in the price range, this is good value.

Room Tip: the balcony rooms overlooking the pools are great in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank songsee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    406
    109
    27
    13
See reviews for
187
287
212
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

A great place to visit. Good location near central market. Lovely large rooms. Gorgeous pool. Excellent value and very nice staff!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelrturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lopik
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spend here for a couple of days. The rooms are lovely and clean. Free internet and also a very good breakfast. (try the pancakes whit banana and honey) The staff is very friendly and try to make it a perfect stay for you. People work hard to get you satisfied.The swimmingpool had fresh water (sald) and enough shadow around. Dinner is also very nice.
The price is good we paid about 45$ (it was a good value)
So the best choice in Phnom Penh. Its a 5 minute walk to central market and 10 minute walk to the boulevard.
In 5 minute walk you can enjoy "the heart of darkness "(club)

Just do it...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Clean hotel, relaxing feel. Lovely pool , reasonable drinks prices at bar and in room. Friendly helpful staff. Don't be put off by road outside , safe to walk around. Good restaurant Romdeng nearby where they train street teenagers as cooks and waiters. Had a good meal there in a lovely old colonial house.
Would recommend the Billabong Hotel .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Billabong, they were especially accommodating to our family with our 4 kids. The pool was lovely. I really liked how I could sit in the restaurant and have my kids swimming right there.

The staff was helpful in arranging tourist things that I wanted to do. I do wish, however, they were a bit more warm. Had I not stayed at another hotel locally I would have given this a 5 star, but I stayed at another location for the same cost and found the stuff there more warm and friendly. I guess its a trade off for the lay out of the place.

Room Tip: We liked being near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanDance2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

I checked out if the hotel earlier on today. I had stayed here for 3 nights.

I arrived from Siem Reap and went straight to the hotel and checked in. I was located on the 2nd floor. When I went to my room which was located at the back of the hotel, I dicscovered that the WiFi wasn't working. I was too far away from the router. I spoke to a member of staff and they tried resetting the router, but this didn't help. They offered to give me a cable to used wired broadband, but as I was using a tablet, this didn't help. Eventually they moved me to a room closer to the router which was perfect.

So WiFi sorted, the room was large-ish with a good sized bathroom. The bed was large and comfortable, but I found sleeping with only a thin sheet a little odd. Daily drinking water is provided and there is plenty of room in the small fridge for you to keep your own drinks cold.

The main attraction of the hotel seems to be the pool. I didn't use it myself, but I did sit by it and did feel the water which was warm.

The restaurant serves a good selection of food and the staff are very helpful indeed. The reception staff are also very helpful and booked my bus ticket to HCMC without fuss.

The hotel is situated on a bit of an unfortunate road. You find this a lot in Cambodia. Good and bad right next to each other. It is a great location in other ways though. You are just around the corner from a big shopping centre which had a wide range of shops including a Luckys supermarket. It is also within easy walking distance of the central market. I also walked to Tuol Sleng and down to the Royal Place and Silver Pagoda. They're not far away, but the roads aren't really designed for pedestrians, what with cars being parked all over the pavements. And if you do decide to walk anywhere, be prepared to say no A LOT as you will be approached by literally hundreds of tuktuk drivers and motorbike drivers.

All in all a good hotel. Quick to respond to problems and very helpful overall.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vfrequent_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Convenient location but economical, we stayed 3 nights with free wi fi and breakfast.
The rooms are clean and the pool is excellent.
Meals and drinks reasonable with heaps of great restuarants close by. They organised our tours and bus transport onto Siam Reap. Overall a very honest and enjoyable experience

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are best but the rear ones are cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.0 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.7 km away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
1.3 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#49 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.7 km away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#35 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
2.8 km away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Hostel

Property: Billabong Hostel
Address: 5, Street 158, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly The Billabong Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Billabong Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located. Free WIFI. 24 hours Reception. Large saltwater swimming pool and garden. Hot showers. Fully air-conditioned rooms. Inner spring mattresses. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms. Quality Linens. Only minutes from Central Market, Sorya Department Stores. 1km from the Riverfront. Featuring a restaurant and bar with cosy hangout areas around the pool. All our spacious rooms have comfy beds, private showers, toilet facilities, air conditioning, and lockers for your belongings. You'll get a set of bed linen, towel, Wi-Fi as well as maps with all essential information about the going-ons in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Billabong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing